We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lost for words”
Review of Manor House Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Denstone
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Manor House Farm
Ranked #2 of 5 Denstone B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 April 2013

I have to say that this has probably been my most enjoyable B&B experience. Now, I will also say that it may not be everyone's cup of tea but if you are into old world charm and character you will not find a finer B&B.

Chris also is an antique dealer and as he said to me, "I must be a bad one", because the rooms are filled with the most amazing furniture and well, just great stuff. Then of course, there are the four poster beds.

Make sure you take the time to walk around the gardens too. Stunning.

The B&B is on a very quiet country lane which was just perfect for us. At night there is no noise at all.

Finally the breakfast was superb. We ate in another room filled with antiques at a huge table which I assumed must be another one of Chris's finds. The pork sausages I had were made from produce reared at the property too.

The only negative was that Jessica the cat was a bit grumpy when I tried to give her a pat.

Seriously though, you will love it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spiderfernandez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manorhousefarm, Owner at Manor House Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2013

Sorry for the delay in replying to this very kind review.Especially when you have travelled from Australia
It was.great to chat to you about what we have been trying to achieve here and it is true that Manor House Farm has been a passion for us both
When i went into the antique businessi had hoped to make money from it but it soon became apparent that i was always more interested to buying things for the house and it is a great pleasure when our guests are obviously pleased with what they find.
Again thank you so much for your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (178)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 178 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2013

For starters, Chris and Margaret are wonderful welcoming people. You are made to feel at home the minute you step in the house - which, by all account is like a fascinating "touch whatever you like" museum. Chris has filled the house with antiques - some hundreds of years old and we were actively encouraged to snoop around and take a good look at everything. On our first night we wandered about the gardens which despite the cold weather and seasonal lack of flora are incredibly romantic, there are little benches dotted all over the place where you can sit and take in the views and the fresh air. Just like the house, the gardens are also dotted with quirky ornaments that you could spend ages looking at, and picturesque little ponds that give you a real feel for how great it all must look in the summer. Just up from the gardens we visited the farm area ( we were told we could wander about absolutely anywhere we liked on their land ) and met the very lovely Penelope Pig and Gwendoline the cow and her many bovine friends and calfs. Margaret was kind enough to give us a bit of information about the animals too which was very interesting! I spent a fair amount of time in the fantastic shower unit in the room - looked brand new and was a real treat after a long day especially the brilliant heated towel rack stocked up with luxurious towels and a whole stock of things you might need on the shelves such as shampoo, conditioner, body wash, lotion, cotton buds, shower caps, tissues etc - the whole of the bathroom was very nice indeed. The room itself absolutely spotless and had a very historic feel to it - from the 4 poster bed to the period curtains and luxurious bed throw and covers, everything felt very homely. Our room featured plenty of storage space, a little fridge (stocked on arrival with water, fresh milk, fruit juice) a television, tea and coffee facilities (proper kettle, full size mugs and cups, plenty of choice for drinks and biscuits) and heating in the room. Sleeping in the bed was like snoozing on a fluffy cloud - I've never been so comfortable in my life and woke up feeling thoroughly refreshed. The cooked breakfast is made from their own produce wherever available and you could certainly tell it wash fresh quality ingredients. The options are fairly large, and if you don't fancy cooked, there is cereal, fruits, yoghurt and toast and other bits so you'll not go hungry. Even if you can't see what you fancy, I wouldn't put it past your hosts to make you something else, they are very attentive. Breakfast is of course served on a large banquet looking table with gorgeous matching dining set and for afterwards the windowsill is full of books about local history, attractions and walks. If you fancy it, there is also bike hire on site, if not you could always sit yourself in front of the roaring fire in the living room or head out to one of the nearby pubs or attractions like Alton Towers. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Manor House Farm B&B and would highly recommend it to anyone - very much looking forward to going back as soon as possible!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manorhousefarm, Owner at Manor House Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2013

Wow. !!! Can we get you to take over our advertising!!.A truely amazing review.! Very pleased indeed that you enjoyed the room so much.We have just revamped that room and yours will have been the first review from someone staying in it since it has been finished.
Also glad to see you enjoyed the garden.We have tried to make the garden somewhere to explore with plenty of places to stop and relax,Not that there seems to be much time for that. As everyone knows this spring has been a very long time coming but hopefully we are turning the corner now.
Thank you again for your extremely kind words which i shall pass on to Penelope and Gwendoline.
Chris and Margaret.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013

Looking forward yet to another of our many stays in this fantastic B&B. Chris and Margaret are very friendly and helpful hosts.

We have been staying at this B&B since our honeymoon in 1995, also all our extended family members have also stayed here as well, and enjoyed their stays and found Chris and Margaret very welcoming and helpful.

The breakfast are fantastic.

Julie and Nick Lockwood

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ladlefull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manorhousefarm, Owner at Manor House Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2013

Dear Julie and Nick.
Thank you very very much for giving us such a glowing review.It seems hard to believe that it is 18 years this year since you first stayed with us.But thank you so much for choosing to return year after year..While it is lovely to meet fresh guests staying for the first time,there is something very special when you meet up with old friends again..We look forward to your return this autumn.
Chris and Margaret

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Firstly the important bits. Would I stay again – Yes. Would I recommend it – Yes. Did I enjoy it – most definitely.

A very enjoyable two night stay in the Keepers Cottage attached to Manor House Farm. The cottage has charm by abundance but also a high tech kitchen complete with dishwasher, cooker, fridge, microwave, toaster etc. It was lovely quality and did not look out of place in the old cottage. A pack of shortbread and a full pack of tea were left for us but I am certain that a little milk would be available if needed to start the holiday off.

Beds were comfy and a good night’s sleep was had by wife and me. Plenty of room but as goes with the cottage characteristics, not ideal for the taller or less mobile guest. However manageable and a minor problem when placed in context with the rest of the cottage.

Some doorways low but again part of the charm.

Were lucky enough to have breakfast at the farm on the Saturday morning. Wonderful. Quite the best breakfast experience we have had. Super cooked breakfast with a wide range of extras. Pity there was no room on the Sunday morning as only eight places and b&b was full! Breakfast is around an eight seater table in a charming room. With good company it was a perfect way to start the day.

Quiet surroundings with good views of the hills but perhaps better to arrive in the light rather than late at night as roads are narrow. However directions given were easy to follow.

Good mobile signal and free wi-fi in the cottage.

Hosts Chris and Margaret were lovely people and very helpful. We had our own dog with us as is normal on our travels, and he was welcome to stay in the cottage but not in the farmhouse. Resident dogs wander freely around and are friendly but please tell them if you can’t cope with animals and I am sure they would keep an eye on them for you.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lofer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manorhousefarm, Owner at Manor House Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2013

I know i keep saying this but it is extremely pleasing to get such positive reviews,and yes you should have had milk in the fridge for your arrival.With the Self Catering we don`t have the same contact with our guests and so it is very valuable to hear what guests have thought of what is on offer and so thank you very much for taking the time to write such a complimentary review.Thank you also for the kind words about our breakfast.We try hard to produce as much as possible on the farm and it is very gratifying when guests are pleased with what we produce.
Thanks again Chris and Margaret

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

We were on a little weekend history trip in this area of Staffs. and found Manor House Farm on the net. Being able to sit on a tall settle by a roaring log fire while it sleeted outside gave us a very good first impression of this place. It is full of history , dating back to Tudor times and full of interesting furniture and odd corners. We had a four-poster bed in a cosy room. Next day the genuinely friendly hosts served up a fry-up which included their own chicken's eggs and pork and bacon from their own pigs. A real retreat in the winter I'm sure the house and garden would be equally delightful in the summer. Reasonably priced too.

Room Tip: At least three of the rooms have four-poster beds!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harrymacp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manorhousefarm, Owner at Manor House Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2013

Very pleased that you managed to find a positive in our B/B after doing battle with the terrible weather we were experiencing at the time.To be fair the weather has been just as bad pretty well all the time since.It is certainly very cold and wintery at the moment.Hopefully by the time this responce gets published things will have improved.Hopefully your History trip went well and we look forward to meeting you both at some future date.
Best wishes Chris and Margaret

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

We had a wonderful time at this B&B. Friendly and helpful owners who went to a great deal of trouble to book us a meal and give us help and advice. Stopped here on the way to and from the Lake District and although it was a few years ago now we remember it as a great B&B and a romantic place to stop. We recommend it to everyone! Wonderful local pub with excellent food. Beautiful, well appointed rooms and a roaring fire in the guest lounge. Also very reasonably priced. What more could you want?! Good breakfast too!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Parsley08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manorhousefarm, Owner at Manor House Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2013

Very pleasing to see that we have made a very favourable impression and thank you very much for passing on our name to other people.Thankfully we are often chosen as a stop of point for couples travelling up and down the country,and we look forward to seeing you again,when you are next in this area.
Thank you Chris and Margaret

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2013

I have stayed at Manor House Farm B&B or the self catering cottage nearly every week from the 28th Dec 2012 to the 15 Feb 2013.
Chris and Margaret run a tight ship.
Breakfast is available as early as you need - which is esential for the buisness traveller like me.
Rustic charm is complimented by fluffy towels, toiletries, filter coffee, biscuits, a roaring fire and good conversation when you need it.
I am a hygiene specialist and everything was tip-top.
Snow was cleared from the drive of the cottage so I could get out to work early in bad weather.
I felt safe and secure working away from home and will miss my new friends - hope to be back for a holiday.
If you want to support local farming, love antique furntiure, and hospitality stay here!

Room Tip: I loved the cottage and four poster bed and four poster bath in the B&B - the Red Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lynne d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manorhousefarm, Owner at Manor House Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2013

I hope that your new job is going well,but thank so much for taking the time to review our properties.especially as you stayed in both the b/b and self catering. It is extremely valued when a Food Hygiene Inspector gives us such a great review..We are constantly trying to offer a unique experience in both b/b and self catering and we hope that all our guests are very pleased with their stay with us.So it was very gratifying to receive your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Manor House Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor House Farm

Address: Manor House Farm Quixhill Lane | Prestwood, Denstone ST14 5DD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Denstone
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Denstone
Price Range: £40 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Manor House Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chris and Margaret are proud to offer quality accommodation in our grade 2 listed farm house. 4 En-suite bedrooms, 3 with four poster beds. Oak paneled dining room where we serve excellent breakfasts with bacon and sausage from our own pigs and eggs from the free range hens. If you are looking for somewhere quite unique then look no further. A haven for the discerning holiday maker. Ideal for Alton Towers or Peak District National Park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Manor House Farm Denstone, Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing