We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“By far one of the best stays-so romantic”
Review of Manor House Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Denstone
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Manor House Farm
Ranked #2 of 5 Denstone B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“By far one of the best stays-so romantic”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

My partner and I stayed with Chris and his wife back in 2012, we were so impressed I organised sn anniversary stay their for my parents in March of this year. The farm house retains all of its pro gal features and Chris has filled it with fabulous treasures which he has come across through his links in the antiques trade.

The rooms are clean and again full of rustic charm - this is a perfect romantic retreat.

Breakfast is served in the morning in the dining room which includes cereals, condements and a full English breakfast using fresh produce from the farm.

The location is off the beaten track and a great base for cycling with a variety of routes to choose from - Chris and his wife were able to point us in the right direction!

I cannot praise Manor House Farm enough and will definetly be visiting again before the end of this year!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MG1988D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manorhousefarm, Owner at Manor House Farm, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Hi and thank you.
We are often asked where is the best place to advertise and the actual answer is by recommendation from previous guests.So thank you very much for organising for your parents to stay with us,.It is a wel known fact that bad news spreads very quickly so it is also extremely pleasing that complementary comments also spread quickly.
We very much and we look forward to seeing you both again shortly.
Best wishes Chris and Margaret.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
36
97
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

My husband and I recently stayed for two nights at Manor House Farm. The house and gardens are fascinating, full of interesting nooks and crannies, and Margaret and Chris were the perfect hosts - there if you needed them but not in the slightest intrusive. All the little extras were provided - including toiletries, sweets and biscuits and even a jug of fresh milk in the little bedroom fridge for tea and coffee. We found the whole atmosphere warm and friendly - very relaxing - and we enjoyed our chats with the other guests around the breakfast table.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manorhousefarm, Owner at Manor House Farm, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Thank you very much for reviewing our b/b.We try very hard to get things right but it is always very pleasing indeed to get such complementary reviews.
It is also great when people enjoy sitting together at the breakfast table.What we try to do is keep the house looking as much like a proper home as possible and so that is why we serve breakfast on the one big table. rather than several seperate ones,and so because of this there is no better sound than guests who have never met before laughing and chatting so happily together..
Thank you
Chris and Margaret.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

It's obvious that a lot of love has gone in to making this one of the most welcoming and comfortable places to stay - starting with the initial welcome from glorious spaniels Ted and Fletcher, to Margaret checking we'd had a good journey, and Chris joining the welcome, anxious to make sure we would make ourselves at home. Our room had refinements more usually found in the best hotels, including bathrobes and fine toiletries, not to mention our fine four poster bed. Furnishings have been chosen with care over the years to make this snug and homely - and extraordinary gardens and summer houses make this more than a place to come for an overnight stay, but more a place to come and savour - along with the best breakfasts we've tasted!

Room Tip: We opted for a room just with (very modern) shower, but might ask for the one with the four poster s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manorhousefarm, Owner at Manor House Farm, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Dear Andrew..
Thank you much for your very kind review. Fletcher and Ted wish to thank you adding them both to your review,they certainly take their welcoming job very seriously. and it often their job to let us know if people have arrived,
Thank you also for the kind words regarding the gardens.It is obvious that we are not great gardeners,but we do love them What we have tried to do is offer plenty of places to just escape from it all and relax and it is wonderful when people take the time to explore and do just that.
Thank you Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We arrived during the Murray final, yet couldn't decide whether to watch the match or explore the house and grounds! Everything else has been well covered, but Chis and Margaret have also worked hard at getting all those LITTLE things right: real milk is provided, rather than the ubiquitous tubs of UHT; and wine glasses, because you're assumed to be responsible adults, etc.
Sorry, I can't see any room for improvement.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manorhousefarm, Owner at Manor House Farm, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Dear Richard
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your very kind review.
We are extremely pleased you and your friends had such a great time staying with us and thank you very much for choosing us.for the two night break. I also hope you enjoyed the rest of your days away.
Hopefully we may see you again in the not too far distant future.
Best wishes and thanks again. Chris and Margaret.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Myself and my husband stayed for 2 nights at Manor House Farm after leaving our daughter and 5 friends to enjoy Alton Towers !!..... I couldn't praise Manor House Farm enough......I loved the quirkiness of this rambling farmhouse from the beautiful oak pannelled rooms to the beautiful and very appropriate antique furniture. The four poster bedroom with ensuite had everything in it we required - bed maybe a little narrow and mattress slightly 'tilted'!, but yet we slept fine. The breakfast was fabulous and very tasty. Manor house Farm is certainly the place for a relaxing 'get away from it all'. Margaret and Chris are two very nice and welcoming people who made you feel at home immediately, so much so that we didn't really want to leave !!!.....

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maws77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manorhousefarm, Owner at Manor House Farm, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
I know i keep saying it but thank you so much for taking the time to write such a complementary review.and we were delighted that you choose to stay with us, having left the rest of the team at Alton Towers for a couple of days.We love the fact that you were pleased with the houses quirky nature and enjoyed the antique furniture. The issue of the sloping mattress is due to the somewhat uneven nature of some of our floors,There appears to have been a certain amount of settling since the house was constructed,but it does make getting out in the morning slightly easier on the north side!!.
Thanks again and we look forward to your next trip to our area.
Yours Chris and Margaret.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

This is the 4th time we've been to this charming B&B and it never disappoints. In fact, it gets better every time we go. The bedrooms are all 4 poster and I've slept in each of them! Although the bed is a little on the narrow side (I'm used to a kingsize), the setting is so beautiful that you soon forget about it. There is an inviting array of tea, coffee, hot chocolate, the most delicious biscuits and even sweeties! A small fridge is always well stocked with 2 bottles of water and cartons or Ribena for the teetotalers! If you want to take a bottle of wine back to your room, there is a corkscrew and 2 glasses waiting for you. The bathroom is always well stocked with delightful smellies, lots of fluffy towels and a dressing gown. Even emergency cotton buds, cotton wool and gorgeous hand wash! And then there's breakfast.... Not your average breakfast: the eggs are from the farm's hens, the bacon and sausages are from the owner's pigs (I have seen them!) and if you want to buy some rare breed beef, the farm shop in the village stocks it - i thoroughly recommend it! The owners Chris and Margaret do everything to make you feel really welcome. In the winter, there is a cosy living room with a roaring fire. And now, there is a tearoom at the farm with home made cakes. (I know because I shook hands with Chris' daughter who was mid-baking!). The garden is delightful, with a crocket lawn and views to die for, when you get to the top of the garden. In all, the best B&B in Staffordshire. And if you're going to Alton Towers, it's only 10 minutes down the road.

Room Tip: If (like me) you're fussy with pillows, bring your own for backup. Do go in the winter, just for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ExpatFrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manorhousefarm, Owner at Manor House Farm, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Thank you very much for another very pleasing review..When we are asked where we advertise we always say that recommendations are by far the best form of advertising and people like your good selves that keep returning are prove that we must be doing something right,but it is no good getting complacent. and we have taken your comments about the pillows seriously and have replaced the ones in your room.It is very important that our guests keep us up to speed.So if anyone has any ideas that we can use to improve your experience with us please let us know.
Thanks again Chris and Margaret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harlow
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We stayed in the beautiful self catering Keepers Cottage.Wonderful tranquil location yet not too far away from National Trust houses and lots of wonderful walks,a really unique location.Hope to stay again as it was perfect.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank postladyHarlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manorhousefarm, Owner at Manor House Farm, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Thank you again for taking the time to review our Self Catering cottage and we are delighted you enjoyed your time there.When we converted the old building which had for most of my life been a log store and had previosly housed pigs we set out to put back the charactor that must have been there when it was first built.With that in mind we replaced the old oak beams,and put in oak panneling and the four poster bed.and so it is a great pleasure to have had so many contented guests.Long may it continue.
Thank you very much indeed.
Chris and Margaret..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Denstone
1.1 mi away
Alton Towers Hotel
2.9 mi away
Peakstones Inn, Piggery & Friends Restaurant
1.0 mi away
Heywood Hall
Heywood Hall
#1 of 5 in Denstone
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Warren B&B
The Warren B&B
#1 of 10 in Alton
299 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Laurels B & B
The Laurels B & B
#1 of 5 in Oakamoor
235 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Malthouse B&B
The Malthouse B&B
#3 of 10 in Alton
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manor House Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor House Farm

Property: Manor House Farm
Address: Manor House Farm Quixhill Lane | Prestwood, Denstone ST14 5DD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Denstone
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Denstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Manor House Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chris and Margaret are proud to offer quality accommodation in our grade 2 listed farm house. 4 En-suite bedrooms, 3 with four poster beds. Oak paneled dining room where we serve excellent breakfasts with bacon and sausage from our own pigs and eggs from the free range hens. If you are looking for somewhere quite unique then look no further. A haven for the discerning holiday maker. Ideal for Alton Towers or Peak District National Park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Manor House Farm Denstone, Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing