We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very special place.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Manor House Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Denstone
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Manor House Farm
Ranked #2 of 5 Denstone B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A very special place.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

We first chose this place to stay purely by chance many years ago and now make it a regular pilgrimage at least once a year. What can we add to the many favourable comments except to say that if your looking for the perfect relaxing break in tranquil surroundings this is the place. Chris and Margaret are great hosts and clearly enjoy sharing the delights of this special place with their guests. The breakfast is a sumptous affair and we always leave feeling replete and set up for the day!
Although the farmhouse is tucked away, you don't have to go far to find plenty to keep you occupied. The Duncombe Arms just down the road is highly recommended for good gastropub fare. Be sure to check out the spectacular views from Weaver Hill accessed from nearby Wooton village. Another find is the Rocester Tandoori a few miles away - cheap and cheerful.
The bustling town of Ashbourne is just a short drive away and worth a visit.
All in all a great place to stay in a brilliant setting!

Room Tip: All rooms are individual in character and are all equally comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jazzman222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manorhousefarm, Owner at Manor House Farm, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Again i need to apologize for the delay in responding to your greatly appreciated review.Couples like yourselves who just keep coming back time after time make our job so rewarding,and i sincerely hope that now you have a property of your own not that far away that we will not lose the enjoyment of your good company.
Thanks again and Best wishes Chris and Margaret.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
36
94
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

Last minute booking, deciding to take advantage of being child free, but oh so glad we came! Not the place to visit if modern and minimal is your thing, but the welcome, attention to detail and care this Bed and Breakfast has to offer are just fantastic. Authentic period furniture, roaring wood fire and hidden tv in the beamed sitting room, little extras like corkscrew and wineglasses, fridge with fresh milk, hot water bottle in the large but cosy bedroom made us feel so looked after. Breakfast was plentiful with lots to choose from, Chris and Margaret were so very welcoming. We definitely intend to return.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manorhousefarm, Owner at Manor House Farm, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Again may we pass on our sincere thanks for taking time to write your extremely complimentary review. These reviews are always very welcome and it is wonderful when our guests take the time to write one.
I know we am in danger of repeating ourselves but a complimentary review makes all the difference.
Thank very much.Chris and Margaret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

Having battled through a wintery storm, we arrived to a roaring log fire and welcoming owner.

The place itself is truly unique - full of charming antiques, wooden beams, four poster beds and a farmhouse which instill a sense of adventure. There are too many positives to list in this short review but what differentiates this from other B&Bs is the house itself and the friendly and passionate owners who clearly care endlessly about the service they provide.

The breakfast was tremendous - complimenting the fantastic sleep and local pub meal the night before. With wet and muddy walks on the doorstep, this weekend was easily one the best I have had.

I cannot recommend this place enough and will certainly be returning later in the year - thanks for introducing us to Georffrey Chris, We look forward to seeing him soon.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BarnabyBear84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manorhousefarm, Owner at Manor House Farm, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Thank you so much for firstly choosing to stay with us and secondly writing your extremely complimentary review.Thank you also for passing on the good words to other members of the family who have also graced us with their presence.
We truly cannot thank you enough and please accept our apologies for the delay in replying.
We very much look forward to your return.
Best wishes Chris and Margaret.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

We booked this at the last minute after deciding to visit Alton Towers during half term, fortunately the owners had a cancellation at the last minute and were able to accommodate us in a double and a family room. Very welcoming hosts when we arrived late in the evening, showing us around and making sure we were comfortable in the lovely lounge with a roaring fire.
Rooms spotless and facilities great, breakfast was all freshly cooked and lots of choice.
Thank you.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank supamom67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manorhousefarm, Owner at Manor House Farm, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to right a review.As you know we had just had a cancellation when another family had to change their booking and come a day later ,so we were delighted when we got your enquiry.
Hopefully we may have the pleasure of meeting you all again at some stage.
Best wishes Chris and Margaret.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

We had a double plus a family room for 4. We and our children were made to feel very welcome by the owners who go the extra mile to make your stay as good as it can be. The house is full of rustic charm, stone and panelled walls, perfectly furnished, four-poster beds, open fire etc.. The breakfast was excellent. A lot of thought has gone into the room facilities which are very well kitted out. We particularly liked the fact that there was fresh milk in the mini-fridges which was also stocked with juices and bottled water. A simple thing but it makes such a difference. There was no danger of running out of anything. Alton Towers is only a few miles down quiet lanes so it is great for a short family break and the local pubs were really good too. Highly recommended

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manorhousefarm, Owner at Manor House Farm, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Again thank you very much for the very kind words, and we are so pleased that you all enjoyed your stay with us.We are lucky to be so handy for Alton Towers and to be able to offer a chance to relax away from the hustle and bustle of a day at the Towers.
It is very pleasing to find that the little extras mean so much to our guests,and we look forward to hopefully meeting you again at some stage in the future.
Thanks again Chris and Margaret.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chilliwack, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

This is by far the most outstanding B&B we have ever stayed in. Chris and Margaret are fantastic hosts, and the farmhouse is gorgeous. Oozing with atmosphere, this is a loved house, which Chris and Margaret obviously love to share with their guests. Sitting in the lounge next to the roaring fire, surrounded by amazing antiques, you feel as if you are being transported back to an earlier time. Chris has an obvious passion for his antiques and loves to talk about them. I loved chatting with him. He even brought me a book when I mentioned that I was interested in the Civil War in Uttoxeter, and that's only one example of how he goes above and beyond to ensure his guests have a perfect stay. Our room was wonderful (it even had its own little fridge with fresh milk) and so was the dining room. The atmosphere in there was really conducive to chatting with the other guests, and the breakfast was excellent. Guests are also free to roam the wonderful gardens, which even in October were fascinating, with all the little nooks and crannies and eclectic mix of planted containers. We just wish we'd been staying longer. It was definitely one of the highlights of our trip to the UK. Thank you Chris and Margaret for an amazing experience! Keith and Carolyn

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manorhousefarm, Owner at Manor House Farm, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Thank you so much for such a wonderful review.I cannot emphasize how much reviews like this mean to Margaret and I.
It is certainly true that we love this house and have put an awful lot of effort into it over the years but when our guests are genuinely pleased and interested it certainly makes it all very worthwhile.
Thank you so much.
Regards Chris and Margaret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

What an incredible place! In the middle of beautiful rolling English countryside, cosy, comfortable and surrounded by old antiques.
Thank you to Chris and Margaret who were so welcoming. We were terrible sad we couldn't stay another night, but hope to visit in the future.
One of the most amazing finds yet!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank henri_geneen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manorhousefarm, Owner at Manor House Farm, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this great review.Margaret and I really appreciate all the wonderful comments we have been receiving and would like to pass on our sincere thanks.
Hopefully we will have the pleasure of seeing you again at some stage in the not to far distant future.
Thanks again.
Regards Chris and Margaret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Denstone
4.9 mi away
Premier Inn Uttoxeter Hotel
14.5 mi away
Premier Inn Stoke/Trentham Gardens Hotel
1.8 mi away
Alton Towers Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Heywood Hall
Heywood Hall
#1 of 5 in Denstone
5.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Laurels B & B
The Laurels B & B
#1 of 6 in Oakamoor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Warren B&B
The Warren B&B
#1 of 12 in Alton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manor House Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor House Farm

Property: Manor House Farm
Address: Manor House Farm Quixhill Lane | Prestwood, Denstone ST14 5DD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Denstone
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Denstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Manor House Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chris and Margaret are proud to offer quality accommodation in our grade 2 listed farm house. 4 En-suite bedrooms, 3 with four poster beds. Oak paneled dining room where we serve excellent breakfasts with bacon and sausage from our own pigs and eggs from the free range hens. If you are looking for somewhere quite unique then look no further. A haven for the discerning holiday maker. Ideal for Alton Towers or Peak District National Park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Manor House Farm Denstone, Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing