We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful B&B in an historic farmhouse”
Review of Manor House Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Denstone
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Manor House Farm
Ranked #2 of 5 Denstone B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 February 2010

I loved spending time in this wonderful old farm house, so atmospheric with antique furniture, roaring fires and a super friendly cat! The surrounding countryside is really pretty and the landscaped gardens must be fantastic in summer. The hosts were really welcoming and very accomodating, the room well equipped and comfortable, and the breakfast amazing. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jessandleon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (178)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

172 - 178 of 178 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2009

Wow, what can I say. This place is my ideal. Coming from a suburban town on the outskirts of London and being very keen on the 'good life' this place was a brilliant taster of how life can be.
Set in....well, the middle of nowhere, two miles down a narrow country lane from Denstone, you will find Manor House Farm. You drive into the courtyard where you are greeted by the farms very friendly dogs and that's when you see the idilyic farmhouse which is steeped in history. We were shown to our room which followed the trend of the house, very oldy worldy with lots of wood panelling and oak doors. Our bedroom had the most gorgeous four poster bed in it, and views from the little window out into the courtyard.
We went for dinner at the Tavern in Denstone, very nice food although booking is recommended as there's not a lot to choose from in the area.
Breakfast was delicious with home farm produced sausages, bacon and eggs and the host Chris could not have been more accomodating. After breakfast we went for a stroll up the fields into the farm where we met our breakfast, the pigs, also on the land is the rare breed cattle and a few dozen chickens. When up the top of the fields you can really admire the countryside which is vast in every direction.
Manor House Farm is so tranquil and extremley peaceful. The gardens are also very pretty and worth admiring.
If we're ever in the area again we will definitly be staying here again.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KBN9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2009

I can only agree with other reviewers. This is an outstanding place, with great charm. Our room had plenty of space and was beautifully furnished and equipped. The only minor problem was the water in the bathroom which didn't really flow terribly freely.
The breakfast is extraordinary - Chris managed to sell me the "full works" on the first day, but I went for a reduced version on subsequent days. The eggs and meat are all from the farm and really excellent. The breakfast is served on one big table so you socialize with all the other guests.
The farmhouse is very isolated. That makes it very peaceful, but you really need your own car to get here.
Chris and Margaret are both very welcoming and friendly and spent time with us each time we arrived or left. The animals (cats and dogs) are all very sociable.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catmouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2009

The house is like stepping back in time, lined with antiques that the owners collect, it was like a short trip to a country house itself. The beds are possibly the most comfortable we have ever slept in and the breakfast was well prepared and as my daughter is gluten intolerant, sometimes the choices can be limited for her. Not so here, the owners couldnt have been more helpful and set about catering for her every whim. We all enjoyed this short stay enormously and would recommend it highly. Lovely dogs too!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Niknboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2009

What a place. Two main areas to comment on:

The house: The house is as described previously as a 18th century farmhouse/manor house that has been built almost as each decade passed. The interior is full of wood plated walls, antique furniture, bare stone work walls with amazingly comfortable 4 poster beds and modern ensuite facilities. This is the kind of house you see on the TV, but never get the chance to visit, nevermind stay in.

The host: We arrived to hilarious welcome from two of the dogs on the farm. One was sat on the driveway just waiting for guests to arrive with a stick it his mouth. We got out the car and he dropped the stick and started wagging his tail....obviously very practiced. Chris the host really does make you feel at home, in his home. He is a natural host and is very friendly. He was there for every need, welcomed us to walk around his working farm and explore the extended and well looked after terraced gardens.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulmartinanderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2009

loveley old jacobein farmhouse in loveley gardens log fires and antiques ,just like stepping back in time, a real friendley welome from the hosts our room was nice and comfy with great views over the countryside and a tasty breakfast with bacon from their own farm,loveley lounge with open log fire was great ,we had a good meal in the tavern pub in denstone.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnbrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2009

We stayed one night B&B and really enjoyed the whole experience. Very individual place-crammed with antiques: lovely 3 acre garden. Peaceful as 20 mins walk from Denstone-good meal at "The Tavern"-loved the cat and the spaniels and the warm welcome at Manor House Farm. Cosy bedroom with fourposter and wonderful guest lounge witl roaring log fire. hard to beat the breakfast for taste-their own bacon, sausages and eggs-in th eoak panelled dining room. Excellent value for money and such warm and friendly hospitality-you feel more like a member of the family than a guest.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mouldy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Manor House Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor House Farm

Address: Manor House Farm Quixhill Lane | Prestwood, Denstone ST14 5DD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Denstone
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Denstone
Price Range: £40 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Manor House Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chris and Margaret are proud to offer quality accommodation in our grade 2 listed farm house. 4 En-suite bedrooms, 3 with four poster beds. Oak paneled dining room where we serve excellent breakfasts with bacon and sausage from our own pigs and eggs from the free range hens. If you are looking for somewhere quite unique then look no further. A haven for the discerning holiday maker. Ideal for Alton Towers or Peak District National Park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Manor House Farm Denstone, Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing