We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B we've ever stayed in!”
Review of Manor House Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Denstone
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Manor House Farm
Ranked #2 of 5 Denstone B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best B&B we've ever stayed in!”
Reviewed 19 October 2010

We always stay at B&B's when we travel and I can honestly say that this was the best! Nothing was lacking, from the gardens and decor to the fully stocked room and bathroom. The breakfast was great and Chris and Margaret couldn't be more gracious and welcoming. We especially loved the roaring fire in the sitting room in the evening. Oh, I can't forget to mention the fact that everything was immaculately clean. I don't know how they do it all!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank renebikini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
36
97
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester,UK
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2010

We arrived late on Friday night and were warmly welcomed and made to feel at home. The bedroom had everything needed, even toilettries in the bathroom which alot of B&Bs don't supply. We had a 4 poster bed which was a nice bonus and slept like logs through until morning. The breakfast was lovely and they accommodated our vegetarian choice with little notice. Our stay was very short as we were going to Alton Towers early in the morning, and found it a very drive away. However we took a short walk around the gardens and found lovely plum, apple, and pear trees. The fruits were lovely! Thanks for a lovely stay. I would definately want to stay a little longer next time!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank W55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Kilbride, Glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2010

We loved this guest house. Can't put into words how beautiful it is. It was like going back in time. The farm house and gardens are breathtaking and the service we received was extremelly friendly. The breakfast was amazing and served at a large table for everyone to sit together in front of a log fire. We were visiting Alton Towers which is only about 2 miles from the house which you can get to by a quiet, single track road which takes you straight to the entrance of the park avoiding all other traffic. We would highly recommend this farm house and we will definitely be staying here agian.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmcc1704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2010

I loved spending time in this wonderful old farm house, so atmospheric with antique furniture, roaring fires and a super friendly cat! The surrounding countryside is really pretty and the landscaped gardens must be fantastic in summer. The hosts were really welcoming and very accomodating, the room well equipped and comfortable, and the breakfast amazing. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jessandleon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2009

Wow, what can I say. This place is my ideal. Coming from a suburban town on the outskirts of London and being very keen on the 'good life' this place was a brilliant taster of how life can be.
Set in....well, the middle of nowhere, two miles down a narrow country lane from Denstone, you will find Manor House Farm. You drive into the courtyard where you are greeted by the farms very friendly dogs and that's when you see the idilyic farmhouse which is steeped in history. We were shown to our room which followed the trend of the house, very oldy worldy with lots of wood panelling and oak doors. Our bedroom had the most gorgeous four poster bed in it, and views from the little window out into the courtyard.
We went for dinner at the Tavern in Denstone, very nice food although booking is recommended as there's not a lot to choose from in the area.
Breakfast was delicious with home farm produced sausages, bacon and eggs and the host Chris could not have been more accomodating. After breakfast we went for a stroll up the fields into the farm where we met our breakfast, the pigs, also on the land is the rare breed cattle and a few dozen chickens. When up the top of the fields you can really admire the countryside which is vast in every direction.
Manor House Farm is so tranquil and extremley peaceful. The gardens are also very pretty and worth admiring.
If we're ever in the area again we will definitly be staying here again.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KBN9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2009

I can only agree with other reviewers. This is an outstanding place, with great charm. Our room had plenty of space and was beautifully furnished and equipped. The only minor problem was the water in the bathroom which didn't really flow terribly freely.
The breakfast is extraordinary - Chris managed to sell me the "full works" on the first day, but I went for a reduced version on subsequent days. The eggs and meat are all from the farm and really excellent. The breakfast is served on one big table so you socialize with all the other guests.
The farmhouse is very isolated. That makes it very peaceful, but you really need your own car to get here.
Chris and Margaret are both very welcoming and friendly and spent time with us each time we arrived or left. The animals (cats and dogs) are all very sociable.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catmouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2009

The house is like stepping back in time, lined with antiques that the owners collect, it was like a short trip to a country house itself. The beds are possibly the most comfortable we have ever slept in and the breakfast was well prepared and as my daughter is gluten intolerant, sometimes the choices can be limited for her. Not so here, the owners couldnt have been more helpful and set about catering for her every whim. We all enjoyed this short stay enormously and would recommend it highly. Lovely dogs too!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niknboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Denstone
2.9 mi away
Peakstones Inn, Piggery & Friends Restaurant
1.1 mi away
Alton Towers Hotel
4.9 mi away
Callow Hall Hotel
Callow Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mappleton
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Malthouse B&B
The Malthouse B&B
#3 of 10 in Alton
192 reviews
1.0 mi away
Heywood Hall
Heywood Hall
#1 of 5 in Denstone
405 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Warren B&B
The Warren B&B
#1 of 10 in Alton
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manor House Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor House Farm

Property: Manor House Farm
Address: Manor House Farm Quixhill Lane | Prestwood, Denstone ST14 5DD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Denstone
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Denstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Manor House Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chris and Margaret are proud to offer quality accommodation in our grade 2 listed farm house. 4 En-suite bedrooms, 3 with four poster beds. Oak paneled dining room where we serve excellent breakfasts with bacon and sausage from our own pigs and eggs from the free range hens. If you are looking for somewhere quite unique then look no further. A haven for the discerning holiday maker. Ideal for Alton Towers or Peak District National Park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Manor House Farm Denstone, Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing