We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a Lovely Country Pub”
Review of The Tavern

The Tavern
Ranked #2 of 3 Restaurants in Denstone
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic, Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: 16Th Centuary Village Pub and Restaurant in the very pretty village of Denstone 10mins from Alton Towers , 30 mins from the Peak District . Serving quality , local produce, Real Ales, Fine Wines , Real Wood Fired Pizzas at Weekends .
sutton coldfield
Level Contributor
73 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“a Lovely Country Pub”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We visited the Tavern on a Saturday lunch time. It was busy but very welcoming. We only intended having a drink but when we saw the menu decided to order lunch. The menu is fairly extensive with typical pub food and all the meals we saw being delivered looked excellent. Our ham sandwiches with salad and coleslaw on the side were also excellent and as I do not like mustard I asked for homemade chutney instead which was delicious. We shall certainly return soon for a meal and sample some of the other items on the menu. The pub had a really nice feel to it.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jacqueline89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    239
    67
    28
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Finally found the perfect pub.....”
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

We visited The Tavern on Saturday 3rd May 2014 after a recommendation from Joseph @ Heywood Hall; the hotel we were staying in.
We were able to get a table at short notice and we're treated to EXCELLENT food in fantastic surroundings. The prices were more than fair and the staff could not have been more accommodating and friendly if they had tried. We will definitely be returning whenever we're are in the area..... Thank you all so much.
Paul & Stacey from Barnsley.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank P4ULFOX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Very close to Alton Towers”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We decided to venture out of the park rather than eating in our hotel and instead booked a table at the Tavern. Lovely pub, plenty of good beers on tap, good rustic feel, friendly staff and good food. We visited as a party of 9 with 4 adults and 5 children ranging from 11-15. The steaks were overcooked (hence my 4 rather than 5 rating) - my rib eye was like shoe leather - but this was the exception as everything else was spot on. We had 3 rounds of drinks, 5 starters, 9 mains, 7 puds and the bill was £193. It felt like good value and we would definitely return again... But wouldn't chose the steak!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“11/10”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Great pub. Wonderful people and great atmosphere. Definitely worth a visit or 10. Place for all ages aswell as families. They also put up ripper tucka! You get your bang for your buck I'll tell you that much!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank anguswhittaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, England
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“EGGCELLENT!!! CRACKING!!!!”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We had a fabulous evening meal in The Tavern after a egghausting day at Alton Towers, not what we eggspected!!!

After spending a couple of hours in this lovely pub, we have been challenged (by the Landlord) after much bantering to write an egg based review. His own chickens ensure a fabulous supply!!!

The service was eggstremely good. There were 4 in our party - 2 adults, a teenager and a ten year old, there was something for everyone on the eggstensive menu. The dessert menu was super - I suggest some eggcersie to work offthe calories!!

There is a new eggciting menu being launched, which should meet everyone's eggspectations!

I would suggest that you make a reservation in this eggstraordinary pub.

The atmosphere was friendly and the staff are to be commended - it was a busy evening yet there was no delay in service.

Give it a try - you will not be disappointed!



Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank tagm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Tavern also viewed

Alton, Staffordshire
 
Alton, Staffordshire
Alton, Staffordshire
 

Been to The Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing