We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday early eve ”
Review of The Tavern

The Tavern
Ranked #2 of 3 Restaurants in Denstone
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: 16Th Centuary Village Pub and Restaurant in the very pretty village of Denstone 10mins from Alton Towers , 30 mins from the Peak District . Serving quality , local produce, Real Ales, Fine Wines , Real Wood Fired Pizzas at Weekends .
Derby, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Sunday early eve ”
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Nice oldie worldy pub. Good service with a smile. Food excellent. Locals were a little load but they have returned from a stag weekend. The landlord did offer us to move to a quieter area of the pub. Recommend to anyone.

Helpful?
1 Thank Neil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    247
    67
    28
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“LoveY food and super friendly staff”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We booked a table for last night at short notice as we were staying in windy arbour cottages up the road. The staff we very friendly and the food and service was great, will defiantly be back next time we visit.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Natalie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great traditional pub”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

My family and I visited the tavern without a reservation. The staff were super friendly and although they were really busy still found a table for us. The food arrived in good time and was a good example of traditional pub food that was cooked very well. I had the steak and ale pie, my wife had gammon, and my daughter had sausages and mash. Not flashy food, but hearty, filling, and it was exactly what we needed after a long day. A pint of ale, a large glass of white wine, an appletise, a pint of coke, 2 adult mains, and a childs dinner cost just over £40. You just cant argue with that.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank begaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“fantastic food and service.”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Lovely pub, great atmosphere and they serve chateauneuf du pape! Would highly recommend the chicken and stilton pie, will return when next in the area.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Delicious food at a reasonable price”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We arrived later in the evening looking for a meal for a tired and hungry family of 6 and were not disappointed. Although some of the menu items were no longer available the staff were very helpful in finding alternatives and gave us complimentary bread while we waited for our order. The beef roast with Yorkshire pudding was very good and the other meals of pie, fish and chips and a beef burger were devoured very happily. Highly recommended for a family meal.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank KiwiAdventurer2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Tavern also viewed

Alton, Staffordshire
 

Been to The Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing