We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very unique place to stay”
Review of Heywood Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Heywood Hall
Ranked #1 of 5 Denstone B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights whilst visiting Alton towers. It is very close to Alton Towers and other attractions. The rooms are amazing and the kids loved our room as it had disco balls on the ceiling and wonderful paintings on every wall. They provided a selection of dvds and a play station for the children too, so they were more than happy. All fresh breakfast items were provided for you to cook to your liking before heading off for your day (the thick yogurts provided from a local farm were divine). To the back of the motel was a hot tub which was lovely for us to relax in after a full day in the park but not before visiting the very quaint country pub just a few minutes walk away. Our second night we didn't want to venture very far so ordered a take away to our room (plenty of takeway menus were left by the owners in your welcome folder). As a family of 6, we always struggle finding places to stay where the rooms are big enough to accommodate us all comfortably. Heywood Hall certainly met our needs and we will definitely be booking to stay again soon.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NDS26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph_P1898139, Owner at Heywood Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2014

Thank you so much for your review. It's great to be able to welcome large families comfortably in one room. We now have a sofa bed in the Sarah suite for larger families. The house is great for
families and couples.
We are glad you enjoyed the locally sourced breakfast items it's important to us to support the neighbouring community.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards

Alison and Joseph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (435)
There are newer reviews for Heywood Hall
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

307 - 313 of 435 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2013

Did quite a bit of searching for a B&B local to Alton Towers that would be suitable for us and 2 teenage boys......couldn't of found a better place. More like a self contained apartment, boys had their own bedroom and bathroom, we had a lovey bedroom with own sink and next door a shower room. Then a lounge with kitchen area. It was perfect for a take away or making something yourself, rather than eating out every night. They LOVED the hot tub and sauna.

Room Tip: Sarah was perfect for a family.,
Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank 12Kaz27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph_P1898139, Owner at Heywood Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

It was great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It is good to be able to offer a suite with a separate bedroom for the children, especially when they are older, they have their own TV and parents can have their own privacy , but keep an eye on the young people . The hot tub and sauna have been a big hit especially now the weather is miserable.
We will be upgrading the mini kitchens in November to make more space for cooking.

We hope to be bale to welcome you back again next year.

Kind regards

Alison and Joseph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

This was a last minute booking, chosen for its vicinity to Alton Towers. We were extremely happy with our stay.
Check in was friendly, fast and fuss-free. We were allocated the Victoria Suite, which was perfect for our needs.
The bedroom was quiet and comfortable with good bedding and towels. The shower had the most amazing pressure.
The living/kitchen room was fully and thoughtfully equipped with everything you could need and the fridge stocked with fresh, quality, local breakfast items. We were able to relax in comfort on the evening of our arrival and enjoy a relaxed breakfast.

We will make a point of staying here again.

Room Tip: Victoria perfect for a couple.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph_P1898139, Owner at Heywood Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Thank you very much for your comments. It is good to hear that you had a relaxing stay. We try to use as many local suppliers as we can as we all help each other in the area.
We had the water and heating systems completely renewed when we took over Heywood Hall in March this year and the system is much better now.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Wow, what an amazing place! This has to be the best and most unique bed and breakfast we have stayed at to date. We received a very warm welcome from Joseph and Alison upon arrival, and when we reached the Rebecca Suite it had such a lovely feel; it was so spacious and was beautifully presented. To be able to just cook our breakfast at our leisure was a lovely feature, the fridge was stocked up daily and we had lots of choice. The bed was really comfy and there were 2 TVs in the suite.

The facilities on offer in the garden area were such a bonus - the sauna was lovely and the hot tub was absolute bliss after a busy day exploring. Furthermore, the location was perfect; we spent 2 days at Alton Towers, which was situated less than a 10 minute drive away. Finally, Heywood Hall offers fantastic value for money.

A big thanks to Joseph and Alison for sharing their beautiful home. We will definitely be back again, Heywood Hall is wonderful!!

Room Tip: The Rebecca Suite is perfect for a romantic getaway.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Saz7_1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph_P1898139, Owner at Heywood Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write the review. We are so glad you had a great time with us.
The hot tub and sauna have really helped when guests have come back cold from a day at the Towers. It does the trick to warm up!! We would love to welcome you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

This is not going to be a long drawn out review, this place is spotless and the suites are very good. Would recommend anytime. Is this 200 characters yet? but I don't have anymore to say, it's brill. Oh blimey, nice jacuzzi too.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dawnie68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph_P1898139, Owner at Heywood Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Thank you so much for you comments, The staff will be really chuffed to hear your comments about
cleanliness!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013 via mobile

Had a few days off so decided to some touristy bits in the midlands and spotted this on line. Well it has lived up to its reviews! After a long drive from Devon the hot tub and sauna were just what was needed! The Jennifer suite has a safari feel in one bed room and nautical in the other bed room. The lounge is comfortable and the fridge and cupboards well stocked for breakfast . This is a fantastic place just minutes away from Alton towers . The Tavern pub 2 minutes walk away is also worth checking out for great ale and fantastic food!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brayingadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph_P1898139, Owner at Heywood Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Thank you for your comments, we are glad you enjoyed your stay in the Jennifer suite, next year it will be more spacious and comfortable as we are refurbishing some of the suites. The Tavern is such an asset to have so near.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed at Heywood Hall for my 21st birthday back in June. We were going to alton towers and needed a close hotel. This was perfect. The rooms/mini flats were beautiful. We stayed in the Victoria Suite, with a lovely 4 poster bed and good size dining space. The suite came with a kitchen and a full selection of fresh Ingredients to make your own cooked breakfast. Also we were provided cereals, crossiants and fruit juice.
We felt very welcome and had a lovely welcome from the owners. The stay also included use of the outdoor hot tub and sauna. Which was a little added relaxing bonus. The hotel is about a 5 -10 minute drive from alton towers. Was perfect for couples and families. Highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paige H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph_P1898139, Owner at Heywood Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Thank you for your review, we are fortunate to be so near Alton Towers, and yet offer a calm environment to relax after a busy day. We are glad you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Denstone
1.7 mi away
Alton Towers Hotel
6.8 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
3.1 mi away
Peakstones Inn, Piggery & Friends Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent
5.3 mi away
Travelodge Ashbourne Hotel
2.3 mi away
The Warren B&B
The Warren B&B
#1 of 10 in Alton
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heywood Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heywood Hall

Address: College Road | Alton, Denstone ST14 5HR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Denstone
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Denstone
Price Range: £83 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Heywood Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed & Breakfast Luxury Suites. Only 6 minutes to Alton Towers! Romantic Couple Suites. Themed Family Suites. Bed and Breakfast Accommodation only 2 miles from Alton Towers Theme Park. Some suites have Jungle, Beach, Fairytale or Tuscan themes. Most family suites have 2 separate bedrooms one double and one twin, ideal for older children, they have their own TV & DVD player. Sauna and Hot Tub to relax in. 17Th Century village Tavern within walking distance, serving excellent food, wine & Beers. Can also be used as Self-Catering ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Heywood Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heywood Hall Hotel Denstone
Heywood Hall Denstone, Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing