We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant - can definitely recommend!”
Review of Heywood Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Heywood Hall
Ranked #1 of 5 Denstone B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

Myself, my husband and our 2 year old son had booked Alton Towers to visit cbeebies land as our sons birthday treat. We wanted somewhere with 2 bedrooms and Heywood Hall showed up! We read the reviews and it sounded brill!

We booked the Jennifer suite for 2 nights and had spoken to Joseph on the phone who was very friendly. We asked if we could arrive a little earlier to settle our son in and were told that was no trouble. Joseph greeted us and showed us around and we were very impressed and it didn't take us long to settle!

Lots of food was left all good quality and local produce which was very tasty! There was so much food left out for us and great cooking facilities in the suite! The themed bedrooms were amazing and a TV in every room with DVD players were a hit! And of course the wifi! The farm shop do a lovely breakfast in their cafe which we sampled on our second morning.
The hot tub was perfect to relax in after a busy day and our son loved it too! We saw Alison a few times and we were always greeted with a smile and conversation!

Only downside is we wished we could've booked longer! We'll be recommending and will definitely come again :)

Thank you Alison & Joseph!

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank mummyh93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph_P1898139, Owner at Heywood Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Thank you for such a positive review, we are glad you and your family enjoyed your stay. It was great to see you all enjoying the hot tub!
The Farm shop is ideal if you don't fancy cooking your own breakfast and so near!!
We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards

Alison and Joseph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (436)
There are newer reviews for Heywood Hall
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

288 - 294 of 436 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed at Heywood hall for a long weekend at Alton Towers for a friends birthday and I can honestly say it was one of the best self catering apartments I have ever stayed at.
The owners were fantastic and were happy for us to arrive at 10pm (we live over 200 miles away). We were greated atvthe door before being shown to our suite (Victoria), the suite was imaculate and very spacious. The pictures on the website do not do the suites justice.
We returned home today and are already planning our next trip - mainly to stay at Heywood hall again!
See you soon!

Room Tip: You can see the hot tub from the Victoria suite - perfect to see when its free to dash down.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph_P1898139, Owner at Heywood Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Thank you very much for leaving a positive review. We are glad you enjoyed the facilities and they matched your expectations!
It will be a pleasure to welcome you back to heywood hall again in the future.

Kind regards

Alison and Joseph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We stayed for 3 nights in April, whilst visiting Alton Towers and stayed in the Elizabeth Suite.
We are a family of 2 adults, 3 children.
The room/apartment was fantastic, very spacious, clean and modern, and we all loved it.
We had a playstation, dvds, paintings on the wall and a disco ball for the children. All beds were comfy. The kitchen was stocked with breakfast ingredients, for you to cook yourself. All local produce, (sausages were yummy) and branded items. If you needed anything, you only had to ask and was always greeted with a smile. The owners were very friendly and welcoming.
After a long day walking around Alton Towers, which is 5 minute drive, the hot tub and steam room was a brilliant bonus.
We will be visiting again this year and I highly recommend a stay!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicola a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph_P1898139, Owner at Heywood Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Thank you very much for your review, it is great to know you enjoyed your stay and your trip to Alton Towers.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Heywood Hall again soon.

Kind regards

Alison and Joseph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Just back from another weekend at Alton Towers and stayed again at our favourite hotel/guesthouse Heywood Hall. The hotel has changed ownership in the last year and this was our first stay since and I'm pleased to report that the welcome and service was no less impressive than with John and Louise (the previous owners).

Basically, the hotel works by giving you a key to your own clean and smartly furnished suite of rooms (bedroom, bathroom, fully equipped kitchen and lounge) stocking your fridge with a full range of breakfast goodies (from cereals/juices to full english) and leaving you to get on with it, and if you're happy with self catering it's a perfect arrangement. You just need to remember to fill the dishwasher before you leave for the day and it's job done. It's a great arrangement that works perfectly for couples (like me and my wife) and families alike with suitable rooms to accommodate both.

Both the lounge and bedroom had TVs with DVD players (plus a small selection of DVDs to choose from) and all the usual free view channels. The bathroom in our suite (the Sarah suite) was small but the shower was strong and hot so no complaints there. There is a small wash basin in the bathroom but this is only really good for washing your hands. Thankfully there is a larger wash basin in the bedroom which was fine for washing your face and shaving.

One good new change for our suite was that it had been fitted with a private entrance staircase so that the suite could be accessed directly from the car park without going through the main house (no doubt a benefit for the owners as well as the guests). Just make sure you pull up the door handle when leaving as otherwise the door won't lock (which I found a little worrying until I worked that out).

The other thing to remember is to bring your swimmies to take advantage of the hot tub and sauna (the perfect way to relax after a hard day walking around the theme park). Towels are supplied but you may also want to bring some flip flops as the path around the house is a little stony to walk in bare feet.

All in all, a great little bolt hole, 5 minutes drive from the park, with great facilities, very reasonably priced and perfect if you want to be left alone to your own devices. It's a real home from home and we'll definitely be back again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph_P1898139, Owner at Heywood Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Thank you for your report Andy, sorry to be so late in responding. We have been very busy!
It is good of you to describe the suite and its facilities for future guests.
It's great to know that we live up to John and Louise's standards! It is important to us that customers feel at home with us.
It's good to hear you enjoyed the hot tub and sauna, it is proved popular after a day at Alton Towers.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Best wishes, Alison and Joseph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here before and loved it and decided to return. New owners took over in march 2013 and have refurbished it to a very high standard. Fantastic wet room and new kitchen in Elizabeth. Copious amounts of high quality branded and local breakfast ingredients refreshed daily. The owners were hoteliers before and their attention to detail shows. Big white fluffy towels, dishwasher, free wifi, etc. the hot tub was very warm and we relaxed for an hour. Loved it. Lovely owners. Very friendly. Easy journey to alton towers would highly recommend!!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborahpowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph_P1898139, Owner at Heywood Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Thank you very much for your very positive report . It was great to meet you and your lovely family.
The rooms and bathrooms certainly are much better since the refurbishments and are much easier to keep clean. The hot tub and sauna have been very well received and so relaxing after a long day at Alton Towers.
It is important to us to support local businesses and the produce we have from them for breakfast is very high quality.
We are glad you enjoyed the pub, it is a great asset to the village.
We hope the journey back was not too difficult and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We stayed at Heywood Hall for a single day and night and were thrilled with the overall experience. We stayed in the Sally Suite which was large, spacious, extremely clean and comfortable. My 6 year old daughter in particular loved the themed bedroom. All required facilities and amenities were amply provided and Joesph and Allison are a lovely couple and go out of their way to help in any way that they can. The kitchen was amply stocked with lovely fresh products and the self made breakfast was extremely enjoyable. We never had an opportunity to use the sauna/jacuzzi but it's a very nice touch for folks to relax after a tiring day. The rooms are designed in such a way to give you enough privacy and avoid being disturbed by other guests. Overall, a wonderful experience and I would highly recommend this place. We will definitely visit again in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cyro169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph_P1898139, Owner at Heywood Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Thank you very much for your positive comments, it was great to welcome you to our home. We are glad your daughter enjoyed her stay and the themed room! We hope to be able to welcome you back in the future.

Alison and Joseph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We have stayed here a few times over the last few years and thought it was about time I wrote a review.

The owners are very friendly. Rooms lovely. The hot tub is brilliant. The anytime breakfast in your room is fab! One of the best hotels in the UK and we travel a lot.

Thank you :) x

Room Tip: Book in advance!
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank businessman35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph_P1898139, Owner at Heywood Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time out to write a review,it is very much appreciated. You must come back and see the renovations we have done. The place is much improved , especially the kitchens and bathrooms! The hot tub and sauna are still in place and a relaxing end to a busy day. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Alison and Joseph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Denstone
1.7 mi away
Alton Towers Hotel
6.8 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
3.1 mi away
Peakstones Inn, Piggery & Friends Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent
5.3 mi away
Travelodge Ashbourne Hotel
2.3 mi away
The Warren B&B
The Warren B&B
#1 of 10 in Alton
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heywood Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heywood Hall

Address: College Road | Alton, Denstone ST14 5HR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Denstone
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Denstone
Price Range: £83 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Heywood Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed & Breakfast Luxury Suites. Only 6 minutes to Alton Towers! Romantic Couple Suites. Themed Family Suites. Bed and Breakfast Accommodation only 2 miles from Alton Towers Theme Park. Some suites have Jungle, Beach, Fairytale or Tuscan themes. Most family suites have 2 separate bedrooms one double and one twin, ideal for older children, they have their own TV & DVD player. Sauna and Hot Tub to relax in. 17Th Century village Tavern within walking distance, serving excellent food, wine & Beers. Can also be used as Self-Catering ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and LateRooms so you can book your Heywood Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heywood Hall Hotel Denstone
Heywood Hall Denstone, Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing