We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1st Class Hospitality!!!”
Review of Heywood Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Heywood Hall
Ranked #1 of 5 Denstone B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 May 2010

First time staying at Heywood Hall and will definitely not be the last ! ! ! John & Louise have gone that extra mile to make sure their guests are treated to first class accommodation.
The spacious rooms are beautifully decorated and spotless with a lot of special touches.
The housekeepers (invisible pixies) do a fantastic job: go out, come back & it's all done!
They treat you more like friends than guests & they supplied so much food we couldn't eat it all (they gave us it home with us!) I would highly recommend Heywood Hall and the sauna & hot tub is wonderful. Great hosts, great location, great accommodation, great service and just a great time!!!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaycee2705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (453)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

422 - 428 of 453 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2010

I looked at the reviews from Trip Advisor and booked online for our weekend visit to Alton Towers for the children's birthdays (10 and 6). John and Louise are the perfect hosts and the accommodation is fabulous, even my 10 year old commented that it was probably better than staying at the Alton Towers Hotel. The children had a playstation in their room and even enjoyed the hot tub, which we needed after a freezing cold day at Alton Towers. John and Louise recommended the best places to go for a meal, where to buy extra food etc (which we didn't need as the kitchen is fully stocked and refilled if you use anything). In fact we stayed in and cooked the food provided on the second night so we could relax and not have a rushed evening (the dishwasher helped so no washing up for the morning!). We would definately go back there again and would recommend them to anyone

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pookarab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2010

Our recent stay at Heywood Hall was absolutely wonderful. It started off with a genuinely warm greeting from the owners. We were then shown to our room - the Rebecca suite - which was lovely. It was beautifully decorated and had all the finishing touches - our towels were even wrapped in a lavender bow each day. The bed was extremely comfortable and the bedding thick and soft. The grounds were also very quiet and we didn't even hear the other guests. The kitchen was well-stocked with juice, cereal, eggs, sausage, etc...everything you need to make a great breakfast. And we saved a lot of money by stopping at a market and buying food for lunch and dinner. Finally, we enjoyed the ample-sized hot tub and sauna. Whilst our purpose for staying was to go to Alton Towers (which was a very close drive away), I would go back just for a quiet weekend away - even if I didn't have any nearby attractions to visit. It was a great experience.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jodie2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2010

We stayed at the Heywood Hall on the 12th April 2010. The couple that own the hotel were so welcoming and so helpful. Our reason for staying as it was pretty much next door to alton towers was a perfect location. The rooms are spotless and come equipped with a fridge toaster and kettle plus they supplied all our breakfast for the morning. I would rate this hotel 5star. I just wish we stayed longer as was only there one night will defiantly return.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bexs25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2009

We chose Heywood Hall because we wanted to visit Alton Towers for a long weekend and as it is only 5 minutes away by car, was ideal. It appealed to us because each apartment is completely self contained with a bedroom, kitchen and bathroom. The rooms are all extremely clean and tidy. All bedding and towels are provided and the kitchen has a very large supply of all sorts of food for breakfast, which we also cooked for evening snacks. This is all replenished each day and the rooms are tidied and cleaned as well, so we could just leave early in the morning for Alton Towers and come back to a spotless apartment. They also have a hottub and sauna for our use, which was great!
This is now our second stay at Heywood Hall in one year. Louise and John, the owners are delightful. They are extremely friendly and helpful and made our stay really feel home from home. Our most recent visit was for the Scarefest season, which is highly recommended, although Halloween was extremely busy. If you are prepared to pay for fasttracks to avoid the queues, its worth it.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 6ofusSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2009

This was our second visit to Heywood Hall, the first being September 2008. I rarely give places 5 stars but this place is really worth it. Its basically a large country manor split into little self catering apartments. Its located about 10 mins drive from Alton Towers and within a very short walking distance to a lovely local pub and corner shop. The rooms are cleaned daily and the fridge / cupboards restocked with breakfast things. Its so nice to wake up and sort out your own breakfast at your own pace without having to go by someone else’s schedule. Or at the end of a long day at Alton Towers come back and laze about in your own lounge and make a bacon sandwich. The beds are very comfy and the room quiet. The hot tub and sauna were most welcome after the 5 hrs drive from Scotland! The hosts are so nice and cant do enough to help. This place is the best for a trip to Alton Towers and we will definitely be back for our annual trip to the park!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tgawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2009

It's official Heywood Hall is a fantastic place to stay. All the comforts you would expect in a 4* hotel and then some! John and Louise are fantastic hosts and were both there to greet us warmly on our arrival after a long day at Alton Towers. They always let us know they were there without being there! Rooms were spacious and ample for our family of 5 without having to pay the price of 2 rooms. Fluffy white towels beautifully presented, kitchen diner with food stocked (and I mean stocked) and replenished daily,and even accomodated us being vegetarians! TV,DVD's and playstations for the kids was there in the room to use if needed. Last but not least the use of the Hot Tub and Sauna located in a lovely area of the gardens. Fellow readers, I could go on and on but space will not allow me to! All I can say is you really have to go for yourself to believe it, and I'm sure you will enjoy your stay as much as we did!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Island69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Denstone
3.1 mi away
Peakstones Inn, Piggery & Friends Restaurant
1.7 mi away
Alton Towers Hotel
2.3 mi away
The Warren B&B
The Warren B&B
#1 of 10 in Alton
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Colton House
Colton House
#1 of 9 in Rugeley
429 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Laurels B & B
The Laurels B & B
#1 of 5 in Oakamoor
285 reviews
11.0 mi away
Hoar Cross Hall Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heywood Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heywood Hall

Address: College Road | Alton, Denstone ST14 5HR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Denstone
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Denstone
Price Range: £80 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Heywood Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed & Breakfast Luxury Suites. Only 6 minutes to Alton Towers! Romantic Couple Suites. Themed Family Suites. Bed and Breakfast Accommodation only 2 miles from Alton Towers Theme Park. Some suites have Jungle, Beach, Fairytale or Tuscan themes. Most family suites have 2 separate bedrooms one double and one twin, ideal for older children, they have their own TV & DVD player. Sauna and Hot Tub to relax in. 17Th Century village Tavern within walking distance, serving excellent food, wine & Beers. Can also be used as Self-Catering ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your Heywood Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heywood Hall Hotel Denstone
Heywood Hall Denstone, Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing