We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unexpectedly lovely hotel...”
Review of Hotel Bishops Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Bishops Arms
Ranked #2 of 3 Kiruna B&B and Inns
Menlo Park, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly lovely hotel...”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

There's a bar on the ground floor. I was surprised that the staffs behind the bar counter are the receptionists of the hotel. Well... I guess looking at how small the population of Kiruna was, I shouldn't have had a high expectation on who's gonna serve me what.

When I got to the room though, it was such a lovely room with lovely atmosphere to it. The bathroom is modern and clean. From the lift though there were two more glass entrance that I had to go through before getting into the hall where my room was. On the positive side it was safe and definitely better for insulation. On the negative side, we had to keep swapping our key to open the door so as we were checking out, we found it hard to drag our suitcase and kept stopping to reach for the key to open the glass door.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mc_Alda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    98
    42
    5
    6
See reviews for
30
92
10
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
290 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

I would recommend it for an overnight stay, as it is central and warm, and the food in the bar is very good. However, if you like the personal touch, this doesn't really tick that box. There did not appear to be any managers present,, and the youngish staff are polite but distant, with a couple of amiable exceptions. My main problem was a safety issue. The shower is in the bath, but there is nothing to grip and no non-slip mat. I was suffering from problems with my hip, and hence anxious to get in and out of the high-sided bath without slipping. I asked someone for a mat and was told they didn't have one. I was glad to have a decent shower when I arrived back in Stockholm. The hotel is well placed for the centre, where you can book trips out into Lapland. This is good, but if/when I return I will stay outside the city.

Room Tip: All rooms are surprisingly quiet for the centre.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Helen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights in a family room. The room was basic, but well maintained and with a good size and the bathroom was spacy and modern.

Breakfast (buffet) was served in the pub, which was different from the usual hotel breakfast, but we really liked the atmosphere and it was great with small kids.

The location is good, close to the bus station (about 5 minutes walk). From the bus station there is a free shuttle bus to the train station.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mama-Sascha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson County, OR
Level Contributor
73 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Booked this "Hotel" in the US. Arrived and couldn´t find reception; went up and down the stairs without success. Finally, went into the bar where the server checked me in. Check out was listed as 12 noon however they deactivated my key at 0930 and the bar was closed by 11. So, in a frigid arctic snowstorm, I have no active key and can´t get into the building (the mall was closed as well). I have a plane to catch and the wall note says just to call a number. Having no cell phone, that was impossible so went back outside and had to go to someone´s house to have them call. No answer there. He happened to know the guy who did security so back waiting. Ultimately, the guard shows up and his card doesn´t work either. So, he has to go to his office. Was considering throwing snowballs at the hotel´s windows to attract attention. A family was leaving fortunately so we grabbed the door to get in however our key didn´t open our room (sounding familiar?) so off to find a maid... With 7 minutes to spare, we got going.
Heat issues: room felt cold and the heated dial didn´t work. Staff came in and told us that it felt warm to her, that we could have extra blankets and that individual rooms can not be controlled. It depended on hotel average temperature!
Warning: No reception, no back up plan, you will need a cell and hope someone answers...
Summary: absolutely inappropriate management for a hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EpicureanEater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Staying 3 nights here. Spacious room for Europe standard. Closed to town center which made everything very easy access. The only downside is the breakfast which lacks variety. Overall, still the best place to stay when you are in Kiruna.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jeanchuah2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Stayed here for two nights at the start and end of a week long dog sledding trip. It is a very comfortable hotel with good facilities, room was basic but very nice and clean, good bathroom facilities and great shower.
The bar has a great selection of beers, both local and foreign and they serve really good local food. The breakfasts are based on continental style food and there is plenty on offer.
If you are visiting Kiruna you could do worse than give this hotel a chance, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ronnier111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

At first sight with the reception being the pub and the ground being shops it can be little off putting, but rooms are a reasonable size, fairly modern and clean. It's not a cheap hotel and cost more than the usual hotels in the Elite chain, but perhaps it's because it so far north. There is no hot food with breakfast and juggling plates on the bar counter is tricky at times and impossible for kids to serve themselves, but it's manageable. Overall not good, but would represent better value if they knocked 10 or 20% off their rates. Parking is handy and free with a note from the staff at check in. It is missing any form of playroom or facilities though, which is usually standard at other elite chain hotels.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scarvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kiruna
0.5 mi away
Camp Ripan
Camp Ripan
#1 of 8 in Kiruna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kebne
Hotel Kebne
#3 of 8 in Kiruna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
0.1 mi away
Scandic Ferrum
Scandic Ferrum
#4 of 8 in Kiruna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotell Vinterpalatset
9.6 mi away
Icehotel
Icehotel
#1 of 1 in Jukkasjarvi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,432 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotell E-10
Hotell E-10
#6 of 8 in Kiruna
3.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bishops Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bishops Arms

Property: Hotel Bishops Arms
Address: 6 Foereningsgatan, Kiruna 981 31, Sweden
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > Norrbotten County > Kiruna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Kiruna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bishops Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Bishops Arms in Kiruna. Here you can enjoy a comfortable accommodation, suitable for both business and leisure travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Bishops Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing