We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotell Vinterpalatset
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Kiruna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 June 2012

The Hotel Vinterpalatset was wonderful.

The room was comfortable, and the bathroom large and well arranged by European standards. I particularly enjoyed the large shower, which did not leak water on the bathroom floor (one of pet peeves).

The room and the common areas are very clean and well kept. The management and the staff really care about keeping this place pristine.

The furniture is dated, but it is clean, in great shape, and comfortable. There is no need to replace it or update it. It was part of the charm of the hotel.

Finally, the breakfast was plentiful, fresh, and had a great deal of variety. The breakfast room is very comfortable.

This is a wonderful hotel--comfortable rooms and lovely staff.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LB6Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (173)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 173 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2012

Stayed here around Midsummers Day in 2011. Kiruna was our first stop (ever) inside the Arctic Circle and it was amazing to experience the midnight sun pouring into the room. The hotel is very conveniently located just a short walk away from the main station. It is also a short but relatively expensive taxi ride away from the airport (prebook your taxi!).

The hotel (the whole town, actually) was very quiet when we were there. Spacious enough rooms, good bathrooms. We were the only people having dinner in the restaurant, which was a shame, as the food was really excellent. They have a good selection of local specialities, excellently prepared. We left early on our departure day and missed breakfast, but they were kind enough to prepare take-away packs for us.

Kiruna won't entertain you for long, but Vinterpalatset is an excellent base from which to move on into Northern Sweden or Norway. The buses and trains leaving for Riksgransen and Narvik are an easy stroll away.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bolander_001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

I stayed at Hotel Vinterpalatset for 7 nights when in Kiruna (with one night at Ice Hotel in the middle of my stay). It is a charming, small, boutique-style hotel in a very central location in Kiruna (about 5 minutes walk from the town centre/2 minutes from the train station). The place was clean, the decor was traditional Swedish (old fashioned, but in a good way), and staff friendly. The buffet breakfast was great. The free wifi worked throughout my stay. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank doctorcraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Nice hotel with friendly staff, 5 min walk from city center. Old fashioned furniture but everything was in perfect condition. We stayed one night before going to the Icehotel for a cold night. This was great since the Kiruna Tours are located close by, as well as some great restaurants. Would definitely stay at Vinterpalatset again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sb11130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

We stayed in Hotell Vinterpalaset on our way to Abisko National Park to see the Northern Lights (which we did!) and were very happy to have found this little gem. It's conveniently located close to the train station and oozes Swedishness in its style and colours.

The room we had was very big, had all the amenities and was also nice and quiet. I loved the white and pastel colours and simple Swedish furniture; it gave the place a somewhat rural feel - good old-fashioned clean Swedish country living.

The breakfast was sumptuous and the breakfast room had that same quiet elegance .

The personnel was efficient and correct, though quite reserved, so don't expect boisterous conversations with the landlady!

Kiruna town itself is hardly worth a visit, but the surroundings are supposedly beautiful. We strolled to the station the next morning, only to find that our train had been cancelled. The replacement bus arrived 1.5 hrs later. If we had known that we would have stayed in our lovely room a bit longer!

Room Tip: We had a room at the end of the corridor, which was probably bigger than the other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pidorka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

We stayed here for three nights in March of 2012. The hotel is a quick 5 minute walk from the train station but it is all uphill so with any amount of luggage it might be a bit difficult. The hotel itself is quite nice. It is definitely old and maybe slightly dated but I personally think that adds to the charm of it. The room we had was a nice size but the bath room was quite small but it was very clean and bright so being a bit tight is an okay trade off for me. Breakfast was very typical of what you would expect at a hotel in Sweden and was very good. The hotel is located a bit out of the centre of the city but it is a quick walk (up hill again) to the city centre. We visited the Ice Hotel and the LKAB Mine and it was a very short walk to both of the pick-up points for those (Tourist office for the mine and the main bus station for the Ice Hotel) so for us it was located perfectly. There is also a jacuzzi tub and sauna that is free of charge and is a great way to relax after a long day. All in all we had a great stay and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank b00mer15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

For the price we paid I expected more. First, receptionist we had to hunt as Aurora borealis. Each time we needed something there wasn't anyone there, we had to wait,to go around.... Room was small and not perfectly clean.
Breakfast was really good.
Location is very good, next to the train station, few min walking from the center of Kiruna.
I wouldn't spend again the same money for this hotel. We stayed one night in this one and we changed.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sindelic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kiruna
0.7 mi away
Camp Ripan
Camp Ripan
#1 of 8 in Kiruna
432 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Kebne
Hotel Kebne
#3 of 8 in Kiruna
150 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scandic Ferrum
Scandic Ferrum
#4 of 8 in Kiruna
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Samegarden
Hotel Samegarden
#5 of 8 in Kiruna
41 reviews
9.8 mi away
Icehotel
Icehotel
#1 of 1 in Jukkasjarvi
1,561 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotell E-10
Hotell E-10
#6 of 8 in Kiruna
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotell Vinterpalatset? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotell Vinterpalatset

Address: 18 Jaernvaegsgatan, Kiruna 981 34, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Norrbotten County > Kiruna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Kiruna
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotell Vinterpalatset 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotell Vinterpalatset reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing