We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent accomodation in the heart of Kiruna”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kiruna
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
68 Degrees Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 3 Kiruna B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 March 2014

It was a pleasure staying with Lynne and Rolf at 68 Degrees! They made us feel at home and were always ready to share information and help us whenever they could. We had originally booked 3 nights with them but because of a last minute tour opening in Abisko, we could only stay 2 nights. Lynne and Rolf were so kind to offer to fetch us from the airport to the train station once they heard that we didn't have much time to do a transfer - they really went out of their way to help us!

Lynne's breakfasts in the morning are delicious! It comes with eggs the way you want them to be, as well as sausages, ham, bread, cereal, and fruit salad. The beds at 68 Degrees are very, very comfortable (so comfortable we had trouble waking up in the mornings), and there is plenty of space (our room came with an attached luggage area as well as a living area that had an attached balcony). The rooms are spotless and well-heated and this has been the best b&b experience that we've had so far. Shops in Kiruna close early and food is a bit hard to find on Sundays but Lynne and Rolf kindly pointed us in the right direction and we didn't have trouble finding our way around Kiruna thanks to a map that they provided us with.

We would highly recommend 68 Degrees and can't wait to re-visit Kiruna again!

- Joanne & Wilson

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joannecht89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (98)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 98 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2014

We stayed at 68 Degrees for 3 nights last week. The room was spotlessly clean and the bedding / beds were large and very comfortable. The rooms were warm despite the freezing temperatures outside. The location was perfect, you step off the porch and within 10 minutes you're in the centre of Kiruna.
Staying here is very easy.
Lynne and Rolf were both very friendly and helpful, providing us with maps of walks near the Ice Hotel, website links to the activity of the Northern Lights (which could be seen from their house - btw seeing the Northern lights is completely down to chance - if it's a clear evening and the Lights are active you should see them, if it's cloudy, you unfortunately won't).
The breakfasts were filling and nutritious and really set you up for the day.
I didn't realise there was no tv in the rooms until we got there, but it was actually more relaxing not to have one. In the evenings we were so tired from the day's activities, we just crashed and browsed the internet via the free wifi or read.

Traveller tips for 68 degrees:
If you are going to get the bus from Kiruna airport to Kiruna bus station make sure you print out the directions Lynne emails for 68 degrees so the bus can drop you there.
The bus station seems to shut quite early (maybe 5pm) so there's a chance no one will be around to help you with directions. We arrived in the afternoon and instead of getting off at the bus station we continued into Kiruna centre. There the bus drops you at the Tourist Centre where we called a taxi to 68 degrees. This was handy, it was snowing and we had heavy luggage.
If you have an early flight from Kiruna back to Stockholm, you can book a shared taxi which will collect you from 68 degrees at 5.10am (for the 6.20am flight) this cost 150sek each. Again we booked this from the taxi phone at the Tourist Centre.
Lynne also very kindly left us a packed bfast in the fridge.


Traveller tips for Kiruna:
We booked an afternoon dog sled combo ride with Husky Tours Lapland - highly recommend.
There's a nice wooded area around Kiruna church to walk around.
We got the 1pm 501 bus from Kiruna bus station to the Ice Hotel, walked up to the Sami reindeer centre and fed the reindeers, then walked back along the frozen Torne river (thanks to Lynne's map) to the Ice Hotel, it's definitely worth a look. Last bus back was 6.15pm.
If we had time we would have liked to have got the bus from the bus station out to Abisko.
Lunch at Cafe Safari and Dinner at Landstroms and Palladium pizza place.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank siobhan73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Since Kiruna was not a major spot for us to shoot Aurora, we chose this property in a less crowded peaceful area near city center. Lynne and Rolf were considerate enough to have sent an instruction email to the place. However, I thought we'd have a GPS (car rental was delayed to our 2nd day) and was stupid enough not to print it out. So the place was sort of tricky for us to find. And one more thing, I don't understand why it's so hard to withdraw money from our debit/credit cards in Kiruna. The machine in ICA which is 5 minutes walk didn't work at all. So we felt a bit awkward to have delayed our balance payment until our 2nd evening which usually happens on the arriving day.
Except for the little troubles, we had a wonderful stay in the property. We got both rooms on the 2nd floor. So basically we had an apartment like home stay. The bedrooms are very spacious which can accommodate 5-6 people and lots of luggage, thanks to the 2 big luggage rooms. Meanwhile, the bath room was also surprisingly tidy. And the towels and sheets we brand new although I sort of disliked all Northern European beds that are too soft (but that's personal). In the morning, Lynne and Rolf always had relaxing music on in the room where we can have all choices of breakfast. They make us feel like home for real. Unfortunately we couldn't have spent more time in the property. Otherwise, a self made lunch/dinner at the living room on the 2nd floor could be a very cool idea.
Besides, they provided very useful information and when they found my lost USB under the bed, they were considerate enough to email me to arrange a delivery back. Such kind people deserve good reviews. Hopefully, my testimony could be helpful to Lynne & Rolf.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hancheng C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

Spatious, very clean bed and breakfast. Owners are very helpfull in finding your way in Kiruna and surroundings. Facilities have good quality (shower, bed etc.). Breakfast is excellent with plenty of choice.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
Thank Niels B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

If you are in Kiruna to spend your days exploring the wonder of the Arctic and your nights viewing the Northern Lights, DO NOT stay at 68 Degrees. You have been warned.

The lusciously soft bedding will be wasted on you. The Pepparkakor biscuits in your room will be left uneaten. The heat and power of their rejuvenating shower will trickle away unappreciated. The spacious living area and bedroom will go unused and you will be far too tired in the morning to fully appreciate the lovely ambiance of their music and living room or to really enjoy the wonderful breakfast spread they provide. In fact, staying at 68 Degrees may ruin your opportunity to experience all the area has to offer by tempting you to do nothing but snuggle into warm socks, coffee and conversation with Lynne and Rolf.

But if you can pull yourself out of the door, you will find yourself only a short walk from the centre of town; you'll find your car engine heater has already been connected for you; you'll find their slightly mad but very kind neighbour has cleared the snow from the front doorway to the street; you'll find a warm welcome and great hospitality awaiting you when you return.

So, stay here at the peril of doing anything other then taking a warm bath in great hospitality.

Couple of tips:
* Unless you have a Swedish account, you can only pay by bank transfer for the accommodation. Thus, add to the cost of accommodation whatever a transfer charge will be from your bank plus what is usually a terrible exchange rate.
* When you first arrive, you might not be able to check in until 4pm. They can't always be there before then and, when it's -25C, you need to think carefully about where you will escape the cold before you can get to the B&B. We recommend either the tourist info place in town or some where like Cafe Safari to hang out at.
* If there is more than one guest car, that might make using the engine warmer tricky as we only saw one of these. Best to let Lynne and Rolf know your movememnts so that they can anticipate when you'll need it.

Room Tip: One room has a kitchen/dining room attached to it so request this if you need it. In addition, the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shmooj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LynneW39, Owner at 68 Degrees Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

We're glad you enjoyed staying with us. We hope, though, that we do encourage people who stay with us to explore! We live here because we love the town and the landscape and everything it has to offer, and to encourage people who stay with us to feel the same we've even produced guided walks, and suggestions for outings by car (I think you used one of these). You raised a few other points, which we think need a bit of explanation.

'Warning!' There is no kitchen! When you stayed with us you stayed in the room which has a living room with seating and table and chairs connected to the bedroom. Our other room has a smaller living room with table and chairs, and you obviously thought this was a kitchen. It is an understandable mistake since it was occupied at the time you were here so you wouldn't have been able to see what was in it. It was a kitchen once, so it has the cupboards in it, but it has no cooking facilities, and we wouldn't want anyone reading this review to get the impression that it was a 'real' kitchen. Both this room and the room you stayed in have access to water, a kettle, and access to a fridge, so in fact they have the same facilities. (While you were here it was the case that the other room had the view of the sun rising, however in this part of the world that only lasts for a few weeks, and later it will rise on the other side of the house!)

There is no problem at all about several cars being attached to our electric source to use their engine heaters. There are plugs there for several cars. (The other people staying when you were here had managed to hire a car which didn't have an engine heater, so you might have thought there wasn't room for them when in fact they had nothing to connect.)

It's true that on the first day we ask people to check in at 16.00 hrs. This is because we only have the two rooms, so unlike a hotel we can't allow people to arrive early and use a room that was vacated the day before. We have to clean the rooms, and do the washing and shopping, and we need some time to do these things. This is the nature of a small bed and breakfast where the rooms are in someone's own home, and there are no extra staff. We do understand this can be inconvenient, so people are welcome to come and leave their luggage with us earlier. There are many places to visit in Kiruna and nearby before 4pm - the town has in interesting history which is about to disappear into a pit. There's also Kiruna church, the town hall, shops, a library, and cafés to sit in if you want to keep out of the cold. However, the exception to this is Sunday when most places are closed in the daytime. For this reason we recommend that people try not to arrive on a Sunday unless they have a tour, a car, or a love of swimming pools (it's open!).

We don't accept payment by credit card, but ask guests to pay by transferring a deposit into our bank account, then paying us the main sum in cash when they arrive. Obviously the cash payment can be made by using a card in a cash machine.We know that banks don't give the best exchange rates, and for this reason we always recommend guests use one of the internet currency transfer companies who charge a small fee and have much better rates, though some people still prefer to use a bank (as you did) even though their rates are not so good. Credit card payments don't necessarily provide better rates once you have taken into account card charges, but we understand that it is easier to make a payment this way. However, if we went down the road of accepting credit cards we would ourselves have much higher costs and this would then have to be reflected in our room prices.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

What a beautiful B & B! We ended up getting a taxi to the B & B as it was snowing quite heavily when we arrived in Kiruna but Lynn said that she had emailed some instructions of how to get there from the bus station. This would be helpful because it is a little tricky to get to if you don’t know where you’re going. Once we arrived we were warmly greeted by Lynn who told us everything we needed to know about our stay in Kiruna. She gladly gave us information about where to eat and what to do. The room was very big and the bed was comfortable. Breakfast in the morning was delicious. Swedish sausages, eggs, toast, cereal, cinnamon buns, fruit salad (I’m sure I forgot something). If I return to Kiruna I will definitely stay here!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmmtravel86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We spent three nights at the 68 B&B and there was nothing to complain about. The beds were very comfortable and the rooms very clean and cozy. The hosts made a breakfast after your wishes and were very helpful about information, attractions and things to do.

Additionally everything is in walking distance and even with a car you can stay there.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathrin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kiruna
0.6 mi away
Camp Ripan
Camp Ripan
#1 of 8 in Kiruna
417 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Samegarden
Hotel Samegarden
#5 of 8 in Kiruna
40 reviews
9.1 mi away
Icehotel
Icehotel
#1 of 1 in Jukkasjarvi
1,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Kebne
Hotel Kebne
#3 of 8 in Kiruna
146 reviews
0.7 mi away
Scandic Ferrum
Scandic Ferrum
#4 of 8 in Kiruna
485 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bishops Arms
Hotel Bishops Arms
#1 of 3 in Kiruna
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 68 Degrees Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 68 Degrees Bed and Breakfast

Address: 8 Tvaergatan, Kiruna 981 37, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Norrbotten County > Kiruna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Kiruna
Price Range: £71 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small bed and breakfast in Kiruna town, and the top floor of our house is let out to guests. You can stay here in two of our double rooms, each of which has its own connecting breakfast/living room and plenty of space to spread out and relax. Or you can hire the whole of the upstairs which will sleep 5 people. Around Kiruna there are wonderful opportunities to explore this sub-Arctic landscape, visit the nearby ice hotel, or see the northern lights or the midnight sun. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing