We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't go there for modern standards.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ditt Hotell Jarnvagshotellet
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Kiruna
Nr Cambridge
Level Contributor
65 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Don't go there for modern standards.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2009

Our group was allocated 3 rooms, one was a large "suite" of sorts. The decoration & quality of furniture was around the 1950's (& that was being generous). Bed duvets looked thinner than wood shavings...... The other 2 rooms were small, dark & exceptionally uninviting - think "Porridge" for those of you old enough to know the BBC TV series.

Breakfast area downstairs, right by the mini-shed that is reception. It looked more like a transit area than a decent hotel.

Yes, right by the railway station. Yes, no elevators. Oh, they don't take AMEX.

We were so disappointed at the overall appearance, we didn't even stay, so cannot comment further on other areas. However, we moved to the Scandic & the difference is beyond compare!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
Helpful?
2 Thank MikeJenvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    4
    7
    7
    1
See reviews for
1
7
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
dallas, tx
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2009

We stayed here after staying a night in the IceHotel to de-thaw!

It is literally right next to the railroad tracks but we didn't hear any noise. We paid $75 for a tiny little room originally. It would have been worth it. The hotel was almost empty, though, so we asked if there were any rooms that had a queen or king bed (they gave us 2 singles when we booked with orbitz.com). The inn keeper came back after 10 minutes of us awkwardly waiting, and gave us the key to another room.

We walk up stairs to that room and it is GIGANTIC. Bigger than my apartment. Probably over 1000 sq. feet. We paid just $12 more for this.

All rooms come with tv and dvd player. You can rent movies from the library for $2 USD per movie. We watched The Terminal with Tom Hanks picked up a takeaway pizza from a local pizzeria and had a fun date night in.

Across the street is another hotel (don't know the name but they have the 3 teepee type rooms out frount). They had OUTSTANDING food. Eat there for dinner, for sure.

Ice Cream wtih Cloudberries is a local delicacy and a fun dessert.

I'd be happy to answer any questions!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank stevenerc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2008

About a 5-10min walk from the main street in Kiruna (but right on the station platform if coming by train!), this hotel provided a very comfortable respite from the winter conditions! Manager Patrick speaks good english and was very helpful, it had a good continental breakfast included and free internet. We had the suite and if I were you I'd shell out the bucks for it as some of the other rooms looked a bit small. We'd stay here again.

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank LetsGoBroncos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2006

We stayed at this hotel at the start of our adventure to the Ice Hotel. We got in from Kiruna airport late and there was still someone on reception to greet us. The hotel is in Kiruna's oldest building and it has been done nicely. Our first night was spent in a room looking over the railtracks and we slept okay until one train driver honked his horn outside the hotel. Apart from that though, the train noise was not a problem. The staff were very friendly and readily phoned for taxi's for us etc when we needed.

The rooms were clean and the bathroom facilities basic but again clean and had nice power showers. Breakfast was good too.

I would have no hestitation about recommending this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dillionmillion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Papendrecht, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2005

The hotel is located at the railway station.
It is simple and of low standard, but clean. The building is rather old.
No elevator is available to reach the two upper floors, which makes this
hotel rather unfir for older age guests.

Kiruna thanks its exsistance due to the high quality ironore
which is being explored worldwide. This also can be said for the railraod,
which runs eastwards from Kiruna to Luleå on the Baltic coast
and westwards to the Norwegian port of Narvik.
Most of the ore is railed to Narvik which doesnot freeze in the winter.
The main tourist attraction is a visit to the mine itself, where visitors
are being brought by bus to 545 meters underground, which is an old
production level.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Kajoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kiruna hotels
0.7 mi away
Camp Ripan
Camp Ripan
#1 of 8 in Kiruna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scandic Ferrum
Scandic Ferrum
#4 of 8 in Kiruna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Kebne
Hotel Kebne
#3 of 8 in Kiruna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotell Vinterpalatset
0.4 mi away
Hotel Samegarden
Hotel Samegarden
#5 of 8 in Kiruna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotell E-10
Hotell E-10
#6 of 8 in Kiruna
3.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ditt Hotell Jarnvagshotellet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ditt Hotell Jarnvagshotellet

Property: Ditt Hotell Jarnvagshotellet
Address: 7 Bangaardsvaegen, Kiruna 981 34, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Norrbotten County > Kiruna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Kiruna
Hotel Class:3 star — Ditt Hotell Jarnvagshotellet 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ditt Hotell Jarnvagshotellet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing