We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Held what they promised”
Review of Hotel Kebne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Kebne
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Kiruna
Reviewed 10 June 2011

The good:

"We have chosen to focus on the features that will be of use to our guests."

After my stay I can only agree. The exterior of the hotel gave me pictures of a cheap hostel, and the lobby didn't help. But who cares? The room was tidy, fresh and clean, no bad smell, an empty refrigerator (I like this, so I can put in whatever I want and not have it overfilled with peanuts priced like gold), free WiFi, it had all I need short of a steam iron.

And most important, the bed was great, I slept very well! Bonus for me, I had a great view and a balcony (which could use some chairs and a table). Breakfast had all I needed, missing maybe some more fresh fruits.

Also, if you arrive by train it is a 2-3min walk from the station.

The staff was very friendly and helpful, they seemed to like their jobs, and that reflects.

The price per night, compared to other hotels nearby (when I booked), is cheap.

The bad:

One thing really. The restaurant was not really up to par. When I was there they served only one dish (which differed from each night) + they had a salad-buffet . This is fine, I eat almost everything. However, if you only serve one dish there really is no excuse for it to not taste great! It wasn't bad, but far from great. This is minor of course, there are restaurants in the area, but I was really tired after my days of working and didn't feel like walking anywhere.

I will visit Kiruna again, and there probably are other hotels that are great, but I will come back here!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lebowski101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (150)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

68 - 74 of 150 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2011

The room was spacious, and clean, and the beds are vey comfortable. You could dwell on what is value for money, but this is not a cheap part of the world. The staff are helpful and friendly. The Breakfast was excellent, with a wide range of food, just help yourself.

It would be difficult to find anything to be critical about, so I’m not even going to try. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank woker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2011

Arrival

Unmanned reception desk meant we had to call and wait for someone to arrive and take payment. Nonetheless, this was quick and friendly, and early arrival was no bother. Check out too was easy, and the price (about €80) was unbeatable!

Room

Clean, basic but welcoming and warm. The bathroom was roomy if a little hostel-like. The usual, recurring gripe in Sweden was nonetheless present: two single beds pushed together to make a double. Maybe Ikea don't make doubles?!

Breakfast

Standard Swedish fare served in a strange underground basement. Tasty, though, and plenty of quantity available. The waffle maker was kind of gross with the grubby old butter brush. Slightly off-putting.

Facilities

Nice little sauna was great for a quick after-dinner blast and shower, meant I slept like an angel!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DethStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2011

Nice and clean hotell. Very good breakfast! For a low price hotel this hotell holds a very good standard. I would live there again. Free internet and it has a free computer the guests can use. Very close to the city, it only takes a few minutes to walk to the main street. Free parking.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnHavdalen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2010

We stayed here in Winter. A no frills hotel. It is well located - just a few minutes from town centre. The rooms are comfortable and the breakfast is really great. They have a small sauna in the basement.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sundeep-travelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2010

This is a really nice place with very friendly and accomodating staff. The staff were really helpful in a number of ways throughout our two day stay, such as preparing breakfast for us early so we could have breakfast as we had a really early bus to catch.

The hotel is in a fairly good location, 10 minutes walk from the train or bus station.
The price is definitely worth it as it includes a free sanua, which is nice and clean. Our room was really clean and comfy.

Breakfast is great: a feast of bread, cheese, herrings, salmon and cold cuts along with muesli, fruit, yogurt and even biscuits to boot! Its the best thing about the whole hotel!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adamski122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2009

Hotel Kebne was an excellent choice for us for many reasons. Although it doesn't have a bar or a restaurant as such (though they can make arrangements for meals on a demand basis), primarily it is its location in Kiruna that is a winner. Furthermore, its cleanliness and Scandinavian simplicity are also to be commended.

HOTEL
The hotel is clean from top to bottom and minimalistic in style. Our room has perfectly clean and fresh as was the bathroom which had a great powershower. Nice fluffy towels as well.

BREAKFAST
Weekdays, in addition to the cold buffet (meats, fish, cheese, tomato, fruit, soft polar breads, biscuits, crispbreads, cereals, yogurts) there are eggs, bacon, sausages and meatballs. These hot foods, however, are not available on Sat or Sun. You also have unlimited tea, coffee and juices.

FACILITIES
The sauna is free access and open till 11pm. Towels are provided. Unfortunately, the solarium was out of order during our stay.

STAFF
Very friendly and helpful.

LOCATION
Kiruna is small so you are certainly not going to tire yourself out walking around. The Hotel Kebne is literally 3mins walk to centrum - the town square where you will find the tourist office and ATMs. The bus station is also only 10 mins walk away.

Kiruna is quiet at night time and if staying somewhere that does not have its own bar or restaurant (as is the case for the Kebne), you will most probably find yourself going to other hotels that do. Independent bars and restaurants are not easy to find!!

Within walking distance of Hotel Kebne, for drinks and food your best bet is Mommas Steakhouse located at the Scandic Hotel on centrum (3mins on foot from Kebne). Open till 11pm most nights, later on Friday and Saturday.

For a special meal (with reindeer - which we saved for our last night) the restaurant at the Arctic Eden Hotel (5mins on foot from Kebne) was quite good.

During the day, the Safari Cafe at 18 Föraregatan is one of the better cafes in Kiruna - they have table service. They do good sandwiches, salads and coffees. If getting a table is difficult, they also do take-aways.

Eateries around Centrum (and Kiruna for that matter) tend to be burger bars or kebab/pizza joints - or just not very enticing in look.

Alternatively, if you want to stay in your room for a quiet night, there is an off-licence called Systembolaget at 7b Geologgatan that sells a large collection of wines, beer, etc. And there is a supermarket just off centrum where you can buy usual supermarket fare.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lipton2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kiruna
0.1 mi away
Scandic Ferrum
Scandic Ferrum
#3 of 8 in Kiruna
497 reviews
0.6 mi away
Camp Ripan
Camp Ripan
#1 of 8 in Kiruna
430 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotell E-10
Hotell E-10
#6 of 8 in Kiruna
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Samegarden
Hotel Samegarden
#5 of 8 in Kiruna
41 reviews
9.8 mi away
Icehotel
Icehotel
#1 of 1 in Jukkasjarvi
1,553 reviews
0.4 mi away
SPiS Hotel & Hostel
SPiS Hotel & Hostel
#5 of 15 in Kiruna
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kebne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kebne

Address: Konduktogrsatan 7, Kiruna 981 34, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Norrbotten County > Kiruna
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Kiruna
Price Range: £83 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Kebne 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Kebne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kebne Hotel Kiruna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing