We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above average hotel in Kiruna”
Review of Hotel Kebne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Kebne
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Kiruna
Reviewed 15 November 2012

Simple hotel, simple building, breakfast on paper plates.
evenso: Comfortalble, warm, good breakfast, warm bathrom, small but ok.
Small romm, but quiet and comfortable bed.
Reception kind and effective.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steinar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (146)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

55 - 61 of 146 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2012

I chose to stay to Hotell Kebne on the recommendation of business associates. Having stayed at a few other hotels in Kiruna, I'm giving Kebne a very high rating. The rooms are of a good size, and very clean. Pillows were a bit soft for me, but that's just a personal thing. The bathroom was modern and surprisingly roomy. In the basement there is a very nice little guest restaurant/bar which serves generous portion hot meals through until about 11pm. The same restaurant serves a great breakfast from 6:30am with enough hot or cold choices to satisfy anyone. Locationwise it's an easy 5 minute stroll up the hill from the train station. The room rate is not exceptionally cheap, but no dearer than the other hotels in Kiruna and you do get more for your money with Kebne. Staff were always on hand and no request was a problem for them. I can fully understand why Hotell Kebne is usually fully booked. Don't wait until the last minute to make your's.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gplusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

We had a comfortable stay at the Hotel Kebne for a few nights. It was located within walking distance near the amenities. We ate out for all our meals except for breakfasts which was simple but there was warm food. I would say you get what you pay for. The rooms were clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WBin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012 via mobile

This Hotel is situated near the city centre. It provide basic facilities for a very good price, with a fresch and well served breakfast. We ended up here when the hostels (swe: vandrarhem) were fully booked, and it turned out to be money well spent for a one night stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Langhammer77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Don't take my five-star rating to mean that the Hotel Kebne is a five-star hotel--far from it. However, it is a wonderful budget option that is located right in the center of Kiruna in the same area as all of the higher-cost "luxury" hotels in town (although I hesitate to classify anything in Kiruna as truly "luxury.")

We ended up at the Hotel Kebne when several of the other hotels we tried were already booked, which turned out to be a lucky break. The Kebne is a basic hotel that offers everything you could want. We were particularly impressed by the extremely high level of cleanliness in the hotel, which rivaled any five-star hotel I have ever encountered. The room itself was comfortable and function, not huge but certainly big enough to comfortably accommodate two people and our bags. The only complaint is that the "king" bed was two twin beds shoved together, which was not ideal--but that is not uncommon in Sweden and Europe in general.

The breakfast buffet was excellent, and the staff went out of their way to accommodate our special dietary needs. The front desk staff was exceedingly friendly and knowledgeable, and made an extra effort to offer tips on the highlights of Kiruna and surroundings.

As long as you are not expecting the ambiance and amenities of a large five-star hotel, it would be hard to do better than the Kebne in Kiruna.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wbpld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

First impressions is its a big house but once inside it as you'd expect for a family run hotel, check in hassle free, i had a double room which would be small but manageable for two, the beds are comfy and the bathroom clean wetroom style with good shower.
Breakfast had a good selection with a waffle maker, only issue is they don't do bacon and eggs at the weekend! They have very good menu and specials for evening meals but as per breakfast they don't do evening meals at weekend but the town centre is on 5 mins walk with good food at a higher price.
I stopped here for 18 nights and it was a breeze, i would definitley come back and stay with my family.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank funky_m70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Our touroperator Had booked the hotel for us, we read reviews about it and thought let's give it a try. Strange place, feels deserted when u get there. The receptionist arrived and handed us the keys for the house kaisa which is 2 houses down the road. No smalltalk... And we were a bit scared to ask any questions. We had interconnecting rooms as we were travelling with our 2 children. The rooms were practical, clean and very warm!! Which is nice coming in from the cold. You find a folder in your room with all information e.g when the restaurant is open (not open all evenings) etc. The breakast is served in the house kebne which is a little uncomfortable cause u need to dress up in your warm gear ( unless u like it cold) and walk to the other building. But it is worth it!! Nice breakfast!! And dinner was good too!! Although they might not have all what's on the menu.:-)/ if u arrive on a day the restaurant is closed ... Good to have some snacks with u or u go hungry...Nice touch was the sauna in the basement of our building.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charly_R2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kiruna
0.1 mi away
Scandic Ferrum
Scandic Ferrum
#3 of 8 in Kiruna
485 reviews
0.6 mi away
Camp Ripan
Camp Ripan
#1 of 8 in Kiruna
418 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Samegarden
Hotel Samegarden
#5 of 8 in Kiruna
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Icehotel
Icehotel
#1 of 1 in Jukkasjarvi
1,499 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotell E-10
Hotell E-10
#6 of 8 in Kiruna
28 reviews
0.4 mi away
SPiS Hotel & Hostel
SPiS Hotel & Hostel
#5 of 15 in Kiruna
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kebne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kebne

Address: Konduktogrsatan 7, Kiruna 981 34, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Norrbotten County > Kiruna
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Kiruna
Price Range: £94 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Kebne 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Kebne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kebne Hotel Kiruna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing