We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel, good location.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Kebne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Kebne
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Kiruna
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
90 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Good hotel, good location.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2013

This hotel was booked through Kiruna Guideturs for us - it's a great location, just 5 minutes' walk from the town centre (and the KGT office). Breakfasts were fine with lots of choice - but no hot food at the weekends, though this is not really a problem unless you love your fried eggs and streaky bacon! You can pop down for tea or coffee all day which is handy when you came in from the cold.

All staff were very friendly and helpful and the rooms were warm and cleaned daily. We ate there in the evening a couple of times as it was handy for timings if we had been or were going out on trips or walks. I think that there was only one option for the evening meal each day (some variation on steak, potatoes and veg)but it was very good value and nicely cooked at about £12 or £13 - this included a glass of wine or a beer. (This compares very favourably to some of the restaurants in town - we had one meal out, reindeer steak for OH, elk stew for me and a bottle of house wine - £90! But I have to say it was gorgeous...)

A 15 minute walk towards the ski slope gets you to the outskirts of town away from the sodium glare and a temperature gauge in the reception area gives you a good indication of what it is like inside and outside. Although there is also a tiny outside balcony on the first floor that you can watch the skies from.

Kiruna is an expensive area - probably due to the money coming in through the mining - but you have to accept that. I would certainly use the Hotel Kebne again - it was clean, quite, good location with great staff.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank go-gags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    63
    33
    4
    2
See reviews for
7
58
8
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
adelaide
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2012 via mobile

Nice hotel. Simple. Great breakfast.
Be careful over Christmas though. There was no warning about not being able to get food. Was lucky the scandic ferrum was open for dinner otherwise would not have had anything to eat on Christmas Eve.

Tv ddnt work but we ddnt care. Very clean. Friendly staff.

My disappointments only came from the whole Christmas thing. Ie not having the sauna room open all day on Christmas because reception closes at 4 :(

Would stay here again though, just not over Christmas

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nicolel25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
65 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2012

Simple hotel, simple building, breakfast on paper plates.
evenso: Comfortalble, warm, good breakfast, warm bathrom, small but ok.
Small romm, but quiet and comfortable bed.
Reception kind and effective.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steinar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boden, Sweden
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012

I chose to stay to Hotell Kebne on the recommendation of business associates. Having stayed at a few other hotels in Kiruna, I'm giving Kebne a very high rating. The rooms are of a good size, and very clean. Pillows were a bit soft for me, but that's just a personal thing. The bathroom was modern and surprisingly roomy. In the basement there is a very nice little guest restaurant/bar which serves generous portion hot meals through until about 11pm. The same restaurant serves a great breakfast from 6:30am with enough hot or cold choices to satisfy anyone. Locationwise it's an easy 5 minute stroll up the hill from the train station. The room rate is not exceptionally cheap, but no dearer than the other hotels in Kiruna and you do get more for your money with Kebne. Staff were always on hand and no request was a problem for them. I can fully understand why Hotell Kebne is usually fully booked. Don't wait until the last minute to make your's.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gplusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
237 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

We had a comfortable stay at the Hotel Kebne for a few nights. It was located within walking distance near the amenities. We ate out for all our meals except for breakfasts which was simple but there was warm food. I would say you get what you pay for. The rooms were clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WBin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012 via mobile

This Hotel is situated near the city centre. It provide basic facilities for a very good price, with a fresch and well served breakfast. We ended up here when the hostels (swe: vandrarhem) were fully booked, and it turned out to be money well spent for a one night stay.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Langhammer77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

Don't take my five-star rating to mean that the Hotel Kebne is a five-star hotel--far from it. However, it is a wonderful budget option that is located right in the center of Kiruna in the same area as all of the higher-cost "luxury" hotels in town (although I hesitate to classify anything in Kiruna as truly "luxury.")

We ended up at the Hotel Kebne when several of the other hotels we tried were already booked, which turned out to be a lucky break. The Kebne is a basic hotel that offers everything you could want. We were particularly impressed by the extremely high level of cleanliness in the hotel, which rivaled any five-star hotel I have ever encountered. The room itself was comfortable and function, not huge but certainly big enough to comfortably accommodate two people and our bags. The only complaint is that the "king" bed was two twin beds shoved together, which was not ideal--but that is not uncommon in Sweden and Europe in general.

The breakfast buffet was excellent, and the staff went out of their way to accommodate our special dietary needs. The front desk staff was exceedingly friendly and knowledgeable, and made an extra effort to offer tips on the highlights of Kiruna and surroundings.

As long as you are not expecting the ambiance and amenities of a large five-star hotel, it would be hard to do better than the Kebne in Kiruna.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wbpld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kiruna hotels
0.6 mi away
Camp Ripan
Camp Ripan
#1 of 8 in Kiruna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
0.1 mi away
Scandic Ferrum
Scandic Ferrum
#4 of 8 in Kiruna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotell Vinterpalatset
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Samegarden
Hotel Samegarden
#5 of 8 in Kiruna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotell E-10
Hotell E-10
#6 of 8 in Kiruna
3.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bishops Arms
Hotel Bishops Arms
#2 of 3 in Kiruna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kebne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kebne

Property: Hotel Kebne
Address: Konduktogrsatan 7, Kiruna 981 34 , Sweden
Region: Sweden > Norrbotten County > Kiruna
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Kiruna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Kebne 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Agoda and HRS so you can book your Hotel Kebne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kebne Hotel Kiruna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing