We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Camp Ripan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Camp Ripan
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Kiruna
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

Stayed two nights,very cosy,infact rather too warm in the rooms.Rooms spacious and comfortable with great showers.Not for budget travellers as two nights and one ,one course evening meal came to the best part of 400 pounds,the meal was lovely ,i had reindeer filet and son had a pulled Moose stew.Breakfast varied and copious served from 7 till10 am.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Yeti2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    167
    52
    15
    5
See reviews for
99
147
17
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

Stayed 6 days and did many activities. Excellent food!!
Very friendly staff, great activities. Dog sledding fantastic. Hilarious Alaskan huskies!! My family's thanks to Patrick, Joel, Jacob, Edie, ??Hans ( x country skiing) and all restaurant, reception staff for a great holiday. Also to lovely people at destinationkiruna.se for great day out! Apologies if I spelt any names wrong.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anaesman12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
144 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

Chalets, with a slightly shambolic restaurant, only 10 minute walk from town centre (very small and limited) saved by proximity to countryside, with skiing trails and shop has reasonable hire rates for skis and many trips

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spuddybike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oswestry, england
Level Contributor
560 reviews
211 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 317 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

On our second night in Sweden, we stayed in Camp Ripan in a chalet behind the building. There is space to park (we stayed after checking out too) an ultra-modern large reception area (free coffee, sofas, TV - again even after checking out - all good service) and an excellent restaurant reviewed separately, though our breakfast was the biggest choice I've ever seen, all of it fresh and tasty. I really "set myself up for the day" with that !

The rooms were modern, clean, comfortable, with TV, a big double bed (not two twins) and plenty of space with a big bathroom. A good view out into the night sky (but no aurora, just snow). Ten minutes walk into town. Free internet. Friendly staff too.

We wanted to use the spa, but it didn't open until 4pm and was £30 each, or £60 if you wanted a sauna. Surely this could be included ! Overall expensive but worth it.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shaunsouthern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

We stayed here from 9th to the 12th of February and enjoyed every day of it. The room/cabin we had was very spacious and always clean. The bathroom was decently equipped and the heated floors within the bathroom were a welcome surprise! Though we didn't use the little kitchenette the cabin had, it provided everything one would need to cook a small meal or to make a cup of coffee in the morning. Also after a long day of exploring the surrounding area, the T.V. and free WiFi provided the perfect amount of entrainment to unwind in the evening with. We never got a chance to eat dinner at the camp, but breakfast offered the standard fair of breads, cold cuts, cereals, and a few warm dishes. All in all, the breakfast offered something to please everyone. Finally the staff was always helpful and happy to answer our endless questions about the region and always willing to point out the little extra details which made out trip that much more enjoyable. We would absolutely stay here again should we journey this far north once more.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank williams_joshua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
87 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

Overall excellent. Family with two teens stayed in one of the two bedroom cabins. Seem recently renovated and very nice indeed. Very good, wide choice in typically Swedish way breakfast. (We did not eat there in the evening.) We loved being on the northern edge of town - lots of trails for exploring with some great views close to hand, lovely 10-15 minutes walk through beautiful old neighborhood from the tourist office (where the airport bus delivers you) to the hotel.
Minor con - staff uneven with some very friendly and helpful and some very tuned out of appropriate service.
Our daughters did the late afternoon kennel visit at Camp Ripan and loved it. (We used the Husky Voice company for own dogsled outing (pick up from hotel) and that was absolutely super.) The new Camp Ripan spa is fun once. Check out the kick sleds from the activity office - enormous fun. Generally an excellent choice for a trip of this kind.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Texastrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

We stayed here during our short visit, and Camp Ripan were perfect hosts.
Very friendly staff, clean accomodation, warm and a great stay. would recommend.
They also do airport transfers which is great.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FarrahDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kiruna hotels
0.5 mi away
Scandic Ferrum
Scandic Ferrum
#4 of 8 in Kiruna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kebne
Hotel Kebne
#3 of 8 in Kiruna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotell Vinterpalatset
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Samegarden
Hotel Samegarden
#5 of 8 in Kiruna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotell E-10
Hotell E-10
#6 of 8 in Kiruna
3.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bishops Arms
Hotel Bishops Arms
#2 of 3 in Kiruna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camp Ripan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camp Ripan

Property: Camp Ripan
Address: 5 Campingvaegen, Kiruna 981 35, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Norrbotten County > Kiruna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Kiruna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Camp Ripan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camp Ripan is a comfortable and stimulating place, beautifully situated with the heart of Kiruna on one side, and the wilderness of Lapland on the other. This offers a wonderful contrast and the experience of having the nature right outside your cabin door is unique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Camp Ripan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camp Ripan Kiruna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing