We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great pool area, good location and good price for tent”
Review of Camp Ripan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Camp Ripan
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Kiruna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We camped here at Camp Ripan at the end of a backpacking trip and were pleasantly surprised. The camp is multi purpose with chalets, places for motor homes and grassy spots where you can put up a tent. There is a good service building with clean showers and a sauna. There is also a kitchen for you to prepare and cook food. We were near some RVs but it was not noisy. The camp is a 1.7km hike (25 mins or so) from the bus station...so pretty convenient if you have been back packing and are on your first or last night before or after hitting the trails. What really made it was the fabulous pool... 28C and large... and the great water slide built into the hill suitable for both big and small kids as well as adults. Excellent location close to center of town and restaurants and definitely worth using if you need a place in town before starting a bigger hike or heading to the airport.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank SkiingCyclingDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (411)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

172 - 178 of 411 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2014

Great campsite with excellent facilities . The staff were very helpful and friendly. There was no restrictions on where you had to pitch your tent. The toilet/ shower block was kept very clean and tidy . There was ample showers and toilets. There was use of the heated outdoor swimming pool . Breakfast was tasty and there was plenty choice. The reception area was spacious and you could sit and watch TV, use the free wi-fi on your device or charge it using the many electric sockets. There was free bag storage which was ideal for us as we went backpacking for a couple of days.

Room Tip: Keep away from the trees and bushes! There's less insects!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D0dge72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

First trip so far north in December. We were collected at the airport and dropped to our chalet door. If anything the chalet was too warm at times. not luxurious but then we didn't pay for luxury. It had everything we needed, plus a kitchenette area and a good size table to sit around. Breakfast was brilliant. and buffet style so you could stock up well for the cold. Staff were very helpful, spoke fluent english and were only happy to inform us about their town and country

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RevdLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I stayed two nights between sunday - tuesday. I arrived with the last flight so the reception was closed but they had left a key for me so that was fair enough. The cabin was really, really Cold and no one to call until the next morning. So i suggest you don´t arrive as late as I did.
The breakfast was ok, nothing special but ok.
Of course the main attraction is the midnight sun but beware there are no good black down curtains so bring your own sleep mask.
the spa is closed sunday - tuesday so I didn't try it. It was quite expensive even for guests though (approx 30 euros).

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Camp Ripan was always going to struggle given we d spent the previous 2 nights at the outstanding Hotel Rival in Stockholm, so, it was with trepidation that I opened the door of the 1950s Butlins style chalet flanked by log burdened trailer and a snowdrift, but hey we're in the Arctic circle so as long as the heating works everythings rosy...
..and thankfully it did, the room, functional..and after getting over the initial plainess and sparseness it was actually ok - warm, comfortable and a great shower.

Breakfast was pretty good and I believe the restuarnt was one of the better in Kiruna. Location wise abit of a hike into centre Kiruna, but a nice one all the same. Other stuff - nice spa (pay extra) and main desk staff were OK(ish) but not particulaly helpful.

Overall it served a purpose, I guess one of the better options given the lack of choice in the area but given what they charge they need to try harder.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelingduda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

The photos looked great, but I was a bit disappointed with our chalet. It was a bit worn and not very functional. There was no working space in the kitchenette, and you couldn't put anything on the hot plates as they came on automatically! The lighting above the main table was awful by Swedish standards. There was practically no wardrobe space and we ended up laying out our clothes on the bed in the spare room.
Breakfast was good, but they started clearing it away on the dot of 10 a.m. which may sound OK, but when you've been up until 3 a.m. waiting for the Northern Lights to appear, it's a bit of an early start.
We didn't eat at the restaurant as it looked very pretentious and expensive. Cow's cheek for £20 wasn't our style. We enjoyed the walk into town each evening to eat.
We loved the spa. It was brand new and very well done. Shame you have to pay extra for it, bearing in mind the hotel itself wasn't cheap.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HMS34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Nothing is cheap in Sweden, and Camp Ripan isn't the exception, but if you get into your head that you are paying way more than a hotel is worth, then Camp Ripan is a good option in Kiruna. It's slightly out of town. If you take the five minute cab ride from the bus station it will set you back £14, but the accommodation is clean, adequate and in a setting which looks like a Christmas card in the winter.

The hotel's common areas are modern and ideal for those stopping over for a couple of days in the area. It's an ideal base for winter activities, and the bar and restaurant are both lovely, with a mix of locals celebrating special occasions and tourists in full winter gear. The catering staff are very helpful, and coped with special dietary requirements very well. The food was excellent.

The reception staff are less helpful and knowledgable, but I'd highly recommend this as a base.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are at least a five minute walk in the snow from reception, which is tricky with l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank globalgirl30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kiruna
9.3 mi away
Icehotel
Icehotel
#1 of 1 in Jukkasjarvi
1,478 reviews
0.5 mi away
Scandic Ferrum
Scandic Ferrum
#4 of 8 in Kiruna
468 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kebne
Hotel Kebne
#3 of 8 in Kiruna
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotell Vinterpalatset
0.5 mi away
Hotel Samegarden
Hotel Samegarden
#5 of 8 in Kiruna
39 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bishops Arms
Hotel Bishops Arms
#1 of 3 in Kiruna
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camp Ripan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camp Ripan

Address: 5 Campingvaegen, Kiruna 981 35, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Norrbotten County > Kiruna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Kiruna
Price Range: £134 - £228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Camp Ripan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camp Ripan is a comfortable and stimulating place, beautifully situated with the heart of Kiruna on one side, and the wilderness of Lapland on the other. This offers a wonderful contrast and the experience of having the nature right outside your cabin door is unique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Camp Ripan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camp Ripan Kiruna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing