We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Camp Alta
Nearby Hotels
Camp Ripan(Kiruna)
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Kebne(Kiruna)
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$187
US$183
ScandicHotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Samegarden(Kiruna)(Great Value!)
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotell E-10(Kiruna)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Icehotel(Jukkasjarvi)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Lannavaara Lodge(Lannavaara)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (209)
Filter reviews
209 results
Traveller rating
188
17
1
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
188
17
1
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscross country skiingice fishingfrozen lakesnowmobile tourbed cabindog sledgeice hoteltrap doornorthern lightscommunal saunalunch touractivities offeredbeautiful lakefood shoppingbig tentfun activitiesspecial experience
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
121 - 126 of 209 reviews
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We traveled in November and were very lucky. We were 4 and we got a huge cabin, it’s a 2 storey wooden building, with a big kitchen (with complete equipment n dining set), dining room, and living room plus big bathroom & toilet. The rooms are quite small but decent. We stayed on the first floor, I think the room at 2nd storey can fit another 6 people. The cabin itself is about 1km from the camp but is a good place to catch the northern light. YES! We got our chance to see aurora Borealis dancing on our first night in Kiruna. We are lucky people, blessed by the amazing stars that decorated the sky and beautiful aurora that dancing around. It’s so magical!

About the camp itself, we got a little tour around the camp before we proceed to our cabin. It’s quite big place, located at the edge of a frozen lake surrounded by the trees and it looks awesome with snow blanket. There are few sauna places, sauna in winter sounds awesome, but I didn’t get a chance to try it :(. Feeling warm during winter is always good and when the sauna is too hot for you, you can stand outside or lay down on the snow in -10C with your bikini or shorts or even naked ;) All activities in the camp (e.g. sauna, ice fishing, camp fire) is self service, but all of the staff will teach you how to do it.

There is no restaurant around, so we cook for dinner and breakfast plus our supper (please blame the cold weather =P) and we got our groceries at the downtown before we went to the camp. That’s the first time where I learn everything that cooked with bacon fat is delicious.

Miriam and her staff are very helpful and friendly. Our trips coordinated well, everything done only by email and Leif knocked our door just to inform us to catch the northern light.

What we rent for Adds on:
1. Snow boots: SEK 100/pax for our 1 night stay – you can also rent other snow apparels., its very helpful, since we don’t really equipped for snow.
2. Linens & blanket : SEK 70/pax
Ensure you have enough cash, all payments are in cash :)

To get a place to stay in camp alta, we must go with the package, and we choose dog sledge. Awesome experience! This experience is one of the highlights of the trip. Simple lunch is provided, never forget the coffee, and we had it at the tippy. Mia is an experienced guide and she’s really good with the dogs, she knows them by their barks. Great experience and I put it as one of the things you must do in the Lapland.

Definitely will come back in the future :)
PS: Before leaving the cabin, please ensure you clean the cabin.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lee03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We went to this camp site in February in the hope of seeing the Northern lights!!

The most stunning tranquil place!!! You will need to get food supplies from Kiruna before you are picked up or make your own way to the camp site! The cabins are so cosy and very warm despite the - temperatures outdoors! Right beside the frozen lake! It really is a magical dream world!

They provide a variety of activities. We went sledging with husky dogs!!! The most amazing thing I have ever done in all my life! absolutely breath taking!!

We also went out on the snow mobiles and visited the ice hotel which is a couple miles away from the camp sight. Another phenomenal experience!!

We will return again next year!!! It's out of this world!!

Room Tip: It's so much better then the Ice Hotel!!!!!
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank geraldeneamyhunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

It sure was in the middle of nowhere. They took us from the center of the city into the middle of the forest, away from everything. But that was what we were looking for.! A recommended alternative to the expensive city tours of northern lights.

Pros - Wooden cabins along the edge of a frozen lake surrounded by trees. Warm and comfortable cabins including kitchen. Snow everywhere. Miriam, the staff at the cabin was very helpful in organizing the trip. One phone call was all it needed to finish the formalities. We stayed for 3 nights and were fortunate to see the lights right outside our cabins. We took the dog sledge night tour. Apart from that, there are many options - ice fishing, spa, camp fire, snow mobiles, skiing etc.

Cons - Better stock up on food as they charge you to travel to the city (There is no other option apart from the camp vehicles). Plus, the bathroom were not in the cabins.

Highly recommended if you want to disconnect from all city hustle bustle and connect with nature.

Room Tip: Bring enough food along.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank K Venkata B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

First of all let me start by saying that Miriam is an absolute gem. If you are looking at booking your first trip to the Arctic Circle, than you can do an awful lot worse than starting here. She will ensure you getting all the info you require and help with arrangements etc. We stayed last year and when we arrived again this year she remembered us all straight away, which I thought was very impressive given that we only stayed for 3 nights (maximum) the previous February and she must have hundreds of people passing through.

The camp sits right on the edge of the (frozen) lake and has wonderful open vistas for viewing
the northern lights, when they show. There are 2 saunas on site a number of varying sized cabins which are maybe a little bit tired and dated, but clean and tidy and functional.

There are lots of activities to keep you busy; whether it's ice fishing, skiing, making fires on the lake while you ar waiting for the lights or such like.

You will need to book some trips while you are there. Their own skidoo tour is a bit basic and boring and the party can be far too big, which makes it quite tedious as it becomes difficult to control. Need to get the balance right between taking money and people enjoying themselves.

Like I said, I would certainly recommend this to anyone looking at their first visit to Lapland, but if you want to stay for more than three days you will need to look at booking somewhere else as well.

Room Tip: The cabins are all priced by size.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Werubean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

I organized a corporate offsite trip for 45 people at Campa Alta, from a Stockholm based Swedish company.
Miriam, one of the staff at the camp couldn't have been more helpful coordinating the booking and the payments.
The staff in general where very friendly, the trips were worth doing and the prices were fair.
The camp area is great, in the middle of the forest by a lake and the floating sauna is just a wonderful experience.
We were lucky enough to see the Auroras twice.
I will definitely go back to this place if I go back to Kiruna.
Every body had a great time and we spend a lot of time together doing fun stuff apart from the awesome activities.
I would recomend the Dog Sledging and the snowmobiles for sure. And I think is worth going into the Ice hotel too.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoseMucientes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews