We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family-owned hotel, good location for starting trips and very good service”
Review of Amber Hotell

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Amber Hotell
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Lulea
Reviewed 17 February 2014

This hotel is located closely to the main station of Luleå (you just have to cross the street around the corner), but there is no disturbing noise as one might expect due to that location. The personnel is very helpful and friendly. For example, we left one day very early and returned another day very late, both outside the official reception hours. They had the full breakfast ready in the morning (although they announced a simplified breakfast to us) and placed the luggage we left in the hotel in our room for comfortable late return (key in an envelope at the reception, door code to get into the building). Throughout our stay, we had a cosy room at one of the corners of the building. The room had a fireplace installed (it is out of service). The room was clean and was equipped with a closet, a table and two armchairs. The hotel offers free WiFi. The breakfast was good, just to mention the homemade fig marmalade, the cloudberry marmalade, boiled eggs, different kinds of bread, juices, yoghurt and nut flakes. However, the escalator was out of service and the bathrooms need some upgrade (might be an issue if you are in favor of fancy bathrooms). In summary, it is a family-owned hotel with excellent and helpful service and a good starting point for trips with the train.

Room Tip: Try to get one of the corner rooms, e.g., x06
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank he-H767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (46)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 23 December 2013

As our schedule was deferred by the delayed train, we walked-in to this hotel which is the nearest to the train station, just around 3 mins walk. We arrived at around 9pm and rang the bell, luckily someone answered and got down to open the door. An old gentlemen came. We asked about bus schedule to Haparanda and he didn't seem to be familiar. Good that there's free wifi in room so that we could check ourselves.
We were very satisfied with the hotel. Room rate very reasonable and cheaper on weekend including nice buffet breakfast.
The room was spacious and clean. Spacious and warm bathroom with a heater. Shower lotion was provided. But shower water might get out of the way, you need to tidy up a bit after showering or the whole toilet floor might be wet.
The table and chair were stylish and looked like antiques.
The hotel is also very near to the bus station. Just around 5 mins walk.
As we paid the night before, checkout process was super simple, just put down the key card and all done.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FionaChan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We stayed one night during a Scandinavia tour, on a Sunday. When we arrived, just after 7pm, the staff had gone home (this was expected; an entry code was supplied with the booking). No problem - the code got us in, and there was the key waiting for us in an envelope on the desk. Really good room, comfortable with a good bathroom.

The usual high standard of breakfast, together with produce from the garden, and pleasant surroundings. Cheerful staff too. When we got to our next location we realised we still had the room key....very relaxed reaction from the hotel when we let them know. Lots of good local restaurants. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L1049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Good points:
Cheap and reasonably convenient to the bus station
Free wireless internet
A good Scandanavian breakfast
Not so good:
A tiny and basic room with an old desk and a small two drawer unit which I had to move the small fridge to get at; but then I guess it’s a cheap hotel.
No shampoo or conditioner

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank geckau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2013

The Amber hotel was so warm and welcoming. Convenient to the station, yet quiet at night. Excellent breakfast, and very helpful staff. We could leave our luggage after checking out so that we could visit Gammelstad before we caught the train. If they made sure they cleared the ice by the door they'd have got a full five points

Stayed: March 2013
Thank grahamb_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2012

A very nice and quiet family hotel, warm and friendly in the Arctic long night.
The people in the hotel are always ready to help. My luggage was left by SAS in Stockholm, although on the luggage tag it was Lulea the final destination - pay attention to this, they will not transfer automatically your luggage. A gentleman from the hotel (the owner??) has drove himself to Lulea airport, from his own initiative, to pick-up my luggage.

A special mention to Catarina, a very hard working young lady, keeping everything in the best shape in the hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caltech_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2012

this small family hotel is opposite to railway station (very convenient). i stayed during winter. it was well heated, cosy and all were in good mood while outside temp. was well below zero. its not easy to be so as its so dark and cold outside!. free internet service was fast, bathrooms clean, breakfast appropriate. staff is very kind. running trail - nearby, around the lake (5km), also very convenient.

Room Tip: second floor - better wi-fi
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Udi123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lulea hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Hotel Arctic
Comfort Hotel Arctic
#4 of 10 in Lulea
308 reviews
0.3 mi away
Clarion Hotel Sense
Clarion Hotel Sense
#1 of 10 in Lulea
669 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Hotel Lulea
Quality Hotel Lulea
#2 of 10 in Lulea
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotell Savoy
0.5 mi away
Elite Stadshotell Lulea
0.1 mi away
Park Hotell
Park Hotell
#8 of 10 in Lulea
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amber Hotell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amber Hotell

Address: Stationsgatan 67, Lulea 97234, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Norrbotten County > Lulea
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Lulea
Price Range: £79 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Amber Hotell 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Amber Hotell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing