We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value with a smile!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Scandic Lulea North
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Lulea
Certificate of Excellence
St Andrews, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good value with a smile!”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

I've been staying at this hotel for the past 2 and a half weeks with work. Being a bit of a neat obsessive I was pleasantly impressed with the cleanliness of the accommodation and for a no frills style hotel the quality of furniture and decor was very good.
Breakfast had an array of excellent and healthy choices from scrambled eggs to fruit, yoghurt to organic cereals. The famous buffet nights also were nice although some nights were better than others in particular the tex mex nights. However the restaurant menu was equally good and good value for money.

The outstanding positive from this hotel is the quality of staff. They could not do enough for us; we were a large party to look after but they took this in their stride and ensured everything ran smoothly. From arranging a routine laundry facility to booking hockey tickets, no request was too difficult. The bar staff were also very good at themed cocktails for us and again everything was served up with such friendly demeanour we felt like exchanging and staying in Sweden. Also a mention for the cleaners as they also were very polite and left our rooms spotless each day.

I would definitely stay there again and given the proximity to the local hockey ground I would imagine it is a good base. Walking into town took 25 mins although there are also bikes you can use and taxis are not too expensive.

A great experience and an excellent manager!

Room Tip: I was in room 516 which was a disabled one, not out of choice but this was a bonus for the amount of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CoventryChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    80
    56
    10
    4
See reviews for
62
42
12
74
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013

Like other Scandic hotels we have stayed in this room was shabby. The breakfast buffet was large but finished at 9.30 which we thought was early given that we were staying in the hotel on holiday rather than for business. We couldn't sleep the first night due to other guests (2 sports teams) coming in late and running, slamming doors etc. I wouldn't be coming back here as there are better options closer to the town centre that have more better rooms.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mollie_reyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niclas J, General Manager at Scandic Lulea North, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
Thank you for writing, we were aware of the noisy guests and had a little talk with them the followig morning. Sorry for the inconvinience that it caused you. Depending on how many guests we have in the hotel there are som quiet rooms that might be free next time you visit us.
Best regards
Niclas Jonsson
General Manager Scandic Luleå
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yockleton, Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Good hotel near to the main routes, with plenty of heated parking spots, nice and toasty in a morning. Easy to get back on the road. Diner and Breakfast are good as usual Scandic Menu, short but good. Enjoyed stay. Carpets are good for generating static, bedroom area access doors from lift area are excellent earthing devices! Staff are great here.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niclas J, General Manager at Scandic Lulea North, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
Hello,
Thank you for taking time to wright about us and thanks for the nice words. I´m happy that you enjoy staying with us!
Regards
Niclas Jonsson
Generla Manager Scandic Luleå
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2013

I have been here before, so I knew what to expect. The location is convenient for arrival by car and for daily business. However it really is in an industrial surrounding with gas stations, car dealers etc around. If you are a "night owl" this is not for You; taxi to the watering holes costs around 130 SEK.
The rooms are clean but quite small. Internet bandwidth average. A very small fitness room with two thread mills and one bike and one training stand. A small sauna with a mini sized pool next door to the fitness room; a joke!
All in all, everything works and is adequate but nothing to celebrate ! Food included!
Very friendly personnel both in the reception and in the restaurant.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kotikontu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiruna
Level Contributor
58 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013

We made use of the hotel during two visits to Luleå in January. Both times we enjoyed the stay. Scandic hotels are usually mostly practical and the one in Luleå is no exception. It has the basic features you are after for an overnight stay. The staff was friendly, as they often are at Scandic hotels and we had a two course dinner at the second stop-over. The restaurant staff served us well and the food was of good quality. The hotel is very well located if you come by car since it is easily located and there are plenty of parking available. Internet is free, which is a bonus. A feature, if you are into hamburgers: McDonald's is located just some 50 meters away from the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HAND1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2012

This was unlike Scandic Umeå Syd a kid friendly hotel, although not announced as such. Location was good although not spectacular. Service was good. Toys to play with in the pool which also had fairly warm water and was decently modern. Nice breakfast. Hotel is not a beauty but funcional and friendly. Bordering on 4.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NilsEmmelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2012

Stayed a night at Scandic Lulea and were given a standard room. The room was not a pleasant one to stay in. When we went to our room it was freezing in it, despite it was October and the temp outside was about + 9 C. The radiator was turned off. After turning it on, and a waiting of 2 hours the room was ok to be in. The paint in the ceiling was peeling off. In the bathroom there was a lot of black stains in the seam between the tiles. Only positive was the breakfast that was eatable,with typical Scandic variety, not tasty or plenty to choose from, but ok. We won't be choosing this hotel next time we stay in Luleå. I have never ever before counted the time until I am able to check out from a hotel!!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maritaFinland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lulea hotels
1.4 mi away
Clarion Hotel Sense
Clarion Hotel Sense
#1 of 10 in Lulea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
1.4 mi away
Quality Hotel Lulea
Quality Hotel Lulea
#2 of 10 in Lulea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
1.4 mi away
Elite Stadshotell Lulea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotell Savoy
1.7 mi away
Comfort Hotel Arctic
Comfort Hotel Arctic
#4 of 10 in Lulea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
1.6 mi away
Park Hotell
Park Hotell
#8 of 10 in Lulea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Lulea North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Lulea North

Property: Scandic Lulea North
Address: 3 Banvaegen, Lulea 973 46, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Norrbotten County > Lulea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Lulea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Lulea North 3.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Six-story Motor Hotel situated beside a protected lake on Highway E4. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Scandic Hotels, Priceline, Ebookers, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Scandic Lulea North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing