We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hike!”
Review of Kungsleden

Kungsleden
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A 450-kilometer-long hiking trail through northern Sweden.
Zwolle, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great hike!”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Great trail, nice people. Lots of intresting facts from the people how are working at the huts. At the huts you pay a fee, but thats not much. You can camp every where.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank 26Eduard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    6
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“One of the most beautiful hikes on earth”
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Walked from Abisko to Nikaluokta, an amazing place! Not too tough and not busy at all. Because you are so up north, the snow starts at 800 meter already giving you the feeling you are much higher. One tip: be prepared for mosquitos!!

Helpful?
6 Thank Martijn V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
77 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“World Class Hiking”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The Kungsleden is a world class hike in North Sweden above the arctic circle. We hiked from Abisko to Nikkaluotka which totalled 120km and took 7 days with hikes between 14 and 24 km each day with full packs. We went in the last week of June/ first week of July which is early summer season... there were almost no mosquitoes and very few hikers, but there were large snow fields to traverse (particularly above Tjaktja) and the rivers were running high so we had wet feet quite a few times. Later in the season there are more people and the terrain is easier to cross. You can also ski the trail in winter. We took full gear including tent, fuel and food, but it is possible to use the mountain huts more and travel lighter. It is alpine/mountain terrain so you need real hiking boots and waterproof and warm gear with you plus emergency food as the weather can change in an instant. The huts provide beds if needed (although we preferred our tent) and most huts have a store with food and fuel (to greater or lesser extents). If you camp, for a fee STF provides a cooking hut where they have gas stoves and some have drying rooms. The exception being Tkaktja hut in the pass that has no facilities. Abiskojaure, Alesjaure and Salka huts have pretty good provisions and saunas as well so are fantastic. The walking is excellent and the scenery amazing, with vistas of 20km and more to see, lakes, mountains and valleys. The STF has maintained the trail so there are boardwalks across marshy and rocky areas, bridges across the larger rivers and trail markers in the form of cairns and red crosses.

To plan a trip check out the STF (svenskaturistforeningen) website. You can travel north to south, by taking the train to Abikso Turiststaion from Kiruna. From Nikkaluokta take the 92 bus back to Kiruna (twice a day, once on Sundays). You can also travel south to north.

If you like hiking and camping this is a must... as there are few places in the world that you can go above the arctic circle safely. When we were there the ages on the trail ranged from young teens with parents, couples of all ages and a couple of grandparents. If you are less fit or have older or younger ones in tow, instead you can stay at Abisko Touriststation or Kebnekaise Mountain stations and do day walks. The former is reachable by car or train and the latter after a 19km hike (or by helicopter).

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
32 Thank SkiingCyclingDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Abisko to vakatovarre”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

This week I walked the kungsleden from Abisko to Vakkatovarre. I walked solo but met many great people along the way. I stayed in the huts which are simple but very well looked after and it means that you don't have to carry the weight of a tent and cooker. You can also buy all your food along the way but this may be difficult of you are on a budget.

It was much hotter than I expected (>30 degrees!) and along most of it there is no shade so be prepared with hat and sunscreen. I think it can also get cold and wet so take a mix of clothes.

The path can sometimes be very rocky and some areas are a bit wet and boggy - it is worth mKing sure you have good waterproof hiking boots and take some flip flops for the camps and maybe an extra pair of old trainers for crossing rivers.

Overall a wonderful experience - heading over the pass is magical.

Helpful?
12 Thank TravelUnicorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A really nice and easy trip”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We did the part from Kvikkjokk until Nikkaluokta, and the landscapes were amazing. We've seen some people, which I find reassuring, but not too much, allowing us to enjoy the perfect silence of thoses places. Everyone in the chalets is very helpfull, and we meet some pretty nice guys. Slepping on tent is much more easier and cheaper, but in case of a really bad weather, it's interesting to have the possibility to stay inside. Every three days, you can find a shop, and therefore there is no need for taking too much food at once.
All those commodities make the Kungsleden the perfect place for beginners like myself. Do not hesitate

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
9 Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kungsleden also viewed

Vasterbotten County, Sweden
Saxnas, Vasterbotten County
 
Umea, Vasterbotten County
Umea, Vasterbotten County
 

Been to Kungsleden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing