We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotell Pilen
Nearby Hotels
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$97
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$117
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$95
Comfort Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$155
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$138
ClarionCollection
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$120
getaroom.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ok Hotell(Umea)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (52)
Filter reviews
52 results
Traveller rating
11
21
14
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
11
21
14
5
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 52 reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2011

Umea is a very nice town and there are several hotels in the area. The Hotell Pilen is situated in a fairly quiet area, away from the main town square by about a 10-15 minute walk. The hotel was quite clean, the staff were very nice and helpful, showers were good (especially for Scandinavia). WiFi was pretty fast and very dependable - a big plus and the cost per day was reasonable. The downsides to the hotel were not a big deal, but worth listing. Walls were pretty thin and the bed that I had was decent but not great, so sleep quality was marginal. The only iron/board was attached to the wall in a dim hallway in another building - inconvenient, but acceptable. Breakfast was OK, but lacked variety - the same exact thing every day. Overall, the experience was good and the daily walk was welcome before and after work/meetings in the town square area.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ColradoWeatherguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2010

Very nice rooms, clean and complete, the hotel has been refurbished since I last stayed in 2002, which is just as well because it wasn't up to much back then!

Breakfast was also fine, typical reasonably well assorted buffet.

Please note, not all rooms have en-suite facilities which I found a bit suprising for a hotel in this price category. Also not that much on site parking

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank polymoog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2010

Very nice hotel with charmingly decorated rooms and only a short walking distance from the center of Umeå.
Arrived during the weekend when the hotel was unmanned which meant that we had to check in ourselfs. But since this is handled very smoothly (instructions are given at booking and more detailed information is then available in the room), we still felt welcomed.
The breakfast selection was a bit limited, but in my opinion it contained all you need. Everything was very fresh and tasty.
I would definitely recommend this hotel for a shorter stay.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2010

Very nice and comfy hotel with loads of personality. The room was nicely decorated and had a very cosy feel to it. Felt a bit like home really. The staff must have a very good eye for details since they have accomplished to create such a lovely atmosphere.
The breakfast selection is not the widest I have seen but it's compensated by the freshness of everything. Newly baked bread can never go wrong. The breakfast area was also very nice. Tranquil and as the room very nicely decorated.
Overall, a very nice little hotel and exceptional value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j_a70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2008

I have been staying at hotel Pilen for several times the latest year since I travel a lot in my job. It always fells like I am coming home when I arrive at Hotell Pilen. Some of the rooms are quite small but all of the rooms a have stayed in is very nice decorated. It doesn’t feel like staying in a hotel room, it almost feels like staying in someone’s guestroom. Besides nice rooms I really enjoy to stay at hotel Pilen because of the friendly people hosting the hotel. In one occasion the manager droved me too the airport so that I didn’t have to walk in the rain to the airport bus!

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank chipet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews