We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (964)
Filter reviews
964 results
Traveller rating
432
343
144
33
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
432
343
144
33
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnice viewfree coffeelocation is idealroom was cleanthe wi finice hotelgreat breakfastnice staysame buildingfloorcitysleepswedenpossibility
Filter
Updating list...
111 - 116 of 964 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Very good breakfast buffet, comfortable and wide beds. Modern rooms, the wallpaper of one wall resembling graffiti perhaps not to everyone´s liking though. A huge window, the panel to lower the curtain to darken the room for the night is on the wall. Free coffee and tea in the lounge.It was very hot in Umeå during our first stay so we appreciated the efficient air conditioning in the room. When we came back after three days we got another room which was stuffy since the air conditioning didn´t work properly. Fortunately I saw a repairman at the reception and he fixed the problem. A parking house near by and not expensive. All in all the hotel is good value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Anneli1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

There were so many things that went wrong during our one night stay that I can't rate it higher than this, even though the hotel is new, fresh and clean.

First, we arrived before check-in to store our bags in the luggage room. And at that point, the guy at the reception said that we could get early access to a room with view over the square, since the room we were suppose to have (with a view over the river) wasn't ready. We decided to wait, because we would rather have the river view. When we returned, the girl at the reception said that she had messed up our reservation so she needed our booking reference again. We gave that to her, and she found our reservation. But, of course, there was no river view from our room...

Second, our stay was during a very hot period in Umeå (temperature over 30°C), so we were very disappointed to find that the air condition in the room didn't work properly. And, the windows didn't open since the room was on the 12th floor - there weren't even small airing windows to let some oxygen in! The room, very fancy and very clean, had huge windows, which meant that it soon became very stuffy and very hot. We talked to the girl at the reception, and she said that it would take about 90 minutes for the room to cool, but when we returned later that night, the temperature was the same as when we left and we were too tired to go back to the reception and ask for another room. However, when we talked to other guy next morning, he immediately gave us discount on the price. Very nice move!

As stated above, the room was fancy and clean, but there were somethings missing. Like a full sized mirror (only mirror was the bathroom mirror). And, although there were thick drapes that completely shut out the light from the windows in the room, the bathroom door was a big, purple window translucent enough let the light from the bathroom windows shine through (yes, summer nights in Umeå never gets dark) and make the whole room glow in a purple haze. I.e. the efficient drapes were cancelled due to the purple glass door.

There was no fridge in the room and also no glasses. The bathroom provided two plastic cups, but that was it when it came to drinking options.

The wi-fi was down during our stay. Didn't work. They said a repairman was on his way.

On top of it all, we had a late check-out (a wonderful feature that the hotel offers!), but when we returned after a short outing, we discovered that we had been checked out several hours before our planned check out. That was quickly solved, but it meant that we had to go back down to the reception (once more) and ask them to check us in (once more) in order to get access to our room.

Breakfast was OK when it comes to alternatives, variation and freshness. In fact, they had real eggs in their scrambled eggs and not the ready-to-mix-powder-awfulness that a lot of hotels in Sweden use. But (and this is not the hotel's fault) the hotel guests made breakfast a mayhem. Cutting in line, slobbing up butter and cream cheeses, sneezing and coughing over the hams and jams... I acutally felt sorry for the staff who tried to maintain some order in the breakfast room.

Good points? Definitely the staff. They were young, but very helpful (apart from losing our reservation and give a room that we weren't suppose to have) and very friendly. The hotel is new, fresh and clean (yes, I've already written that, but I want to emphasize that there were some good parts too). There was free coffee in the reception area, and there were no problems to take some glasses from the restaurant to our room. The bathroom was huge and I loved the shower. And - the location was perfect. Right in the middle of everything and close to the beautiful river.

Would we stay here again? Unfortunately no. Too many bits and things that didn't work, too many mishaps during a short one night stay for us to want to return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miss_Fnord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

A nice hotel right in the centre of Umeå. Very good breakfast and new facilities. Downside was size of beds and misinformation about what kind of beds to be expected (the picture on the websidte showed to queensized beds). We got a 160 cm bed and one extra smaller bed.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com
Thank 54Jessica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Very nice staff and room! We got a free upgrade of the room, since we had asked for a room with a nice view of the city :). Most comfortable beds and linens we've ever slept in! Clean hotel. Good breakfast and very good location. We highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com
Thank EricaG829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Very good value for money. The hotel is located i in the the city center, a short walk to restaurants and bars. The breakfast is very nice with a great variety of options. I would definitively stay there again if I would travel to Umeå.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com
Thank Patricia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews