We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed”
Review of Scandic Plaza Umea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Scandic Plaza Umea
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Umea
GreenLeadersSilver level
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 12 September 2012

We presceduled our stays for our trip to Sweden and Finland with 6 nights of reservations at Scandic hotels in Sweden. We stayed one night at the UmeaScandic Plaza and made sure before leaving for two days in Finland that a room was reservedd and confirmed by credit card for the night of our return (with late arrival noted because the ferry from VasaFinland would not arrive inUmea until 11:30 p.m. that night). We arrived about midnight and were told that the hotel was overbooked and there was no room held for us. They recommended a hotel near the airport. We had to find our way in a strange town after dark to this hotel. The desk staff af the Scandic Plaza took our cell number and said the hotel manager would contact us the next day. We are still waiting.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Yoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    158
    85
    27
    6
See reviews for
47
96
18
163
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
eskilstuna
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Second Scandic hotel of our motoring vacation in Northern Sweden. This hotel is located in the centre of Umeå and easily reached from the main E4 highway. Very pleasant room, though without the views available on the uppermost floors (and at a very good price for Sweden). On our arrival the receptionist seemed not so interested in helping us. Overnight parking is available in a public indoor car-park across the street (for SEK110).

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RaymondEskilstuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
145 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

the Sandic Plaza is a modern hotel centrally located close to the river and next to a shopping area in the centre of the city. The rooms are clean and reasonably spacious for the region and restaurant had a great breakfast bar. Internet was decent and everybody was pretty helpful. Seems to be the place to stay in this area. There is no pool and the Gym is okay.

Room Tip: make sure you get to the breakfast buffet in good time as they clean it away very quickly ... feels...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiruna
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

Last four times we visited Umeå, Scandic Plaza has been our Stay.
Nice staff, always smiling. The best of it all is the view and comfortable beds. Affordable price in the middle of Umeå.

Room Tip: Choose a room With view south.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KirunaEric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

I have stayed here a couple of times and keep coming back since it is the best offering in Umeå. It is your typical Scandic experience which means that the rooms are clean and designed in a no frills style. The restaurant on the bottom floor offers a good breakfast and the dinner service is okay, but nothing special really. The location is very central, then again Umeå isn't a big city...

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FarewellFire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Good breakfast bar, easily accessible from the airport, nice rooms, fast Internet, right across tons of restaurant and shopping. The gym was nice and 24x7 certainly makes it feel good.

The food variety is pretty limited though for dinner and there is no room service so you've to pick up yourself. This could be a factor if you are staying with family.

The shower was little weird as the door could be adjusted but the water splashed out. Would probably stay here again during next trip.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArunGupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vilhelmina, Sweden
Level Contributor
217 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2011

This is quite a normal, not that exciting hotel in the Scandic chain. Centrally located, average restaurant, good breakfast with a lot of options and served until 1 pm on w-ends.
The rooms have lovely views if you have a room towards the "Umeälven" but they are quite boring with no extras. The cleaning could really have been better as it looked like that the only action been taken was changing of towels and linen?... and the towels could have been larger and thicker. Long wait to check in/out but nice staff in the reception but they could have been a bit happier at breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ensaimada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Umea hotels
0.1 mi away
Stora Hotellet Umea
Stora Hotellet Umea
#1 of 14 in Umea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Hotel Winn
Comfort Hotel Winn
#3 of 14 in Umea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
0.3 mi away
Elite Hotel Mimer
Elite Hotel Mimer
#4 of 14 in Umea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Uman
0.2 mi away
ProfilHotels Hotel Aveny
0.3 mi away
First Hotel Dragonen
First Hotel Dragonen
#8 of 14 in Umea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Plaza Umea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Plaza Umea

Property: Scandic Plaza Umea
Address: 40 Storgatan | PO Box 3133, Umea 903 26, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Vasterbotten County > Umea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Umea
#4 Business Hotel in Umea
#4 Romantic Hotel in Umea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Plaza Umea 3.5*
Number of rooms: 196
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Scandic Hotels, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Plaza Umea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Plaza Umea Umeå

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing