We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing buffets for breakfast and dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Scandic Plaza Umea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Scandic Plaza Umea
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Umea
GreenLeadersSilver level
Siena, Toscana, Italy
Level Contributor
150 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Amazing buffets for breakfast and dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

The rooms are rather basic but perfectly comfortable. The endless buffets for breakfast and dinner are truly scrumptious with an overwhelming array of delicacies! On the top floor there is a beautiful relaxation room with a separate sauna for men and women.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara J, Chef at Scandic Plaza Umea, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Hi,
Thnak you for these warming words.
I'm glad you enjoyed our delightful breakfast and dinner concept.
I hope that you enjoyed Umeå as well!

Kind Regards
Sara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    152
    81
    27
    6
See reviews for
47
92
18
157
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sweden
Level Contributor
154 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

Ok, but not more. The location is good, the breakfast average. For the price you can get better. There is no minibar, but you can order in the reception. The sauna is ok but the view is amazing. The overall impression is ok, but not more.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liselott A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara J, Chef at Scandic Plaza Umea, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Hi,
Thanks for your feedback and for taking time to write.
I'm glad you like the view from the hotel top floor.
If you have any more feedback regarding the breakfast i would be morer than happy to talk to you or get your thoughts via email. We are constantly working with keeping our product up to date, the latest action with the breakfast is that it's now KRAV certified. We only want what is best for our guests and therefore - if there is anything in detail that you would like me to think about - please let me know!
sara.johansson@scandichotels.com

Kind Regards
Sara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turku
Level Contributor
77 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Hotel is in the heart of Umeå and within a short taxi ride (10-15 min) from Umeå airport. Hotel room was a bit disappointing, no mini-bar (as per current Scandic concept) and the bathroom was slightly outdated but clean. Breakfast was very good but overall the price (>200 euros) was way too much (weren't many alternatives because of on-going exhibition).

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jussi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara J, Chef at Scandic Plaza Umea, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Hi,
Thank you for taking the time to write. I'm glad you liked the hotel, the hotel rooms are newly refurbished and so are the bathrooms. However we have chosen to keep the original basin from 1992 made out of marble as it's a part of the history of our house.
A couple of years ago we took out the minibars at some of our hotels, thus minibar is no longer a concept of Scandic - however, you can always by almost anything you'd like in ous SHOP which is open 24 hrs.
I hope to see you in Umeå again and ofcourse I hope that we can welcome you back to Plaza in that case.

Kind Regards,
Sara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vihti, Finland
Level Contributor
114 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

But was it worth over € 200? I don´t think do. But there was something going on in Umeå and no rooms available, so you pay the top dollar.

The trouble was the parquett floor and the upstairs neighbour who woke up at 5.20 to do some rearranging of the furniture before she left at 6.oo.

Breakfast was very good and special thanks for ther soft boiled eggs!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jari L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara J, Chef at Scandic Plaza Umea, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Hi,
Thank you for your feedback. Umeå is a popular city these days and as there are no rooms left the prices go up. However I'm sorry that you got to wake up so early due to the noise.
I hope that we'll se you soon again and that you will get some more sleep at that time.

Kind Regards
Sara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
175 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

I had a three night stay in Umeå and stayed at the Scandic. The hotel is clean and well run and a good place to stay.

Pros: Good location, courteous and efficient staff, breakfast included, wireless internet on multiple devices works well, iron in room

Cons: duvet too small, pillow not all that comfortable, no coffee/tea in rooms, shower temperature is okay but not hot.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara J, Chef at Scandic Plaza Umea, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Hi,
Thank you for your feedback, I'm of course happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.
The most important thing to me is that you as a guest with us feel welcome and nicely treated by us.
We have rooms with coffea and tea so please ask for this types of rooms if you book us again.
I hope we'll se you soon!

Kind Regards,
Sara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

A really good hotel, clean and fresh, with nice rooms, mid in the city center, with good internet. A scandic standard breakfast; You always know what You get ;) quite nice gym and other facilities. The rooms are large, clean, but a little bit too warm.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Refdarek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara J, Chef at Scandic Plaza Umea, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Google Translation
Hej,
Vill börja med att tacka för din feedback.
Jag är glad att du hade en bra vistelse och att vi lyckades tillmötesgå dina förväntningar - det är det vi jobbar för!
Jag hoppas att vi får se dig tillbaka hos oss snart igen - kan även informera om att vi inom en snar framtid kommer påbörja utbytet av våra reglage för rumstemperaturen så kanske du kan få det lite svalare på rummet redan då!
Välkommen tillbaka!
Sara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Carlos, CA
Level Contributor
79 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

Stayed here while on a business trip to the university. Had a room on the 11th floor which afforded very nice views of the river and city. Room was small by American standards, but reasonably generous by (my understanding of) European standards. Fairly plain accoutrements but perfectly acceptable. Bed very comfortable and shower excellent. Staff was very helpful to a visitor first time to Sweden and made suggestions about local shops and restaurants. Hotel has a sales areas for traveler essentials. Breakfast buffet was excellent and superior to many I have experienced on business travels. Hotel is well located in town, and only perhaps ten minutes to the airport. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Upper floors have nice views. Extremely quiet as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glenn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara J, Manager at Scandic Plaza Umea, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
I'm writing to thank you for the feedback of the Scandic Plaza.
Of course I am greatful that you took the time to write it all down but most of all for the fact that you enjoyed your stay with us.
I'm happy that we met your requirements and that we could be of service with information and tips regarding the city center.
Hope to see you soon again in Umeå!
Kind Regards
Sara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Umea hotels
0.1 mi away
Stora Hotellet Umea
Stora Hotellet Umea
#1 of 14 in Umea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Hotel Winn
Comfort Hotel Winn
#3 of 14 in Umea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
0.3 mi away
Elite Hotel Mimer
Elite Hotel Mimer
#4 of 14 in Umea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Uman
0.3 mi away
ProfilHotels Hotel Aveny
0.3 mi away
First Hotel Dragonen
First Hotel Dragonen
#8 of 14 in Umea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Plaza Umea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Plaza Umea

Property: Scandic Plaza Umea
Address: 40 Storgatan | PO Box 3133, Umea 903 26, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Vasterbotten County > Umea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Umea
#4 Business Hotel in Umea
#4 Romantic Hotel in Umea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Plaza Umea 3.5*
Number of rooms: 196
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Plaza Umea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Plaza Umea Umeå

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing