We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice friendly hotel - but a bit pricy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Botnia
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Umea
Reviewed 22 November 2013

A good hotel for this area, with excellent staff attention and service.
Rooms were good, buffet dinner was OK, and included in the room rate, so I would say very acceptable and pretty tasty, as was the breakfast.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (49)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2013

We stayed one night and we were pleased with the hotel, the room and the service. The food was really good, both breakfast and dinner. The enviroment isn't that great but we really loved the huge lawn where you could play games and the terrace was just perfect if you wanted to look at water and boats. The hotel also offered bikes for rental so you could easily bike into the city. I would like to recommend this hotel for everyone who would like to stay outside the city centre.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mimmie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Hotel has Miljömärkt certificate so it is environment friendly. Gevalia and tasty bread for breakfast made out day!
Too bad beds could not be joined together :( Another problem was with the toilet - it was too close to the towel hangers, so it may be difficult for taller people to sit comfortable.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mlukow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

The place apparently tries to cut own expenses: a fellow in the reception, who checked me in, could barely speak Swedish and next morning the check-out was done by a kitchen girl :-) Both of them were helpful and friendly though.

The breakfast was a huge disappointment: very basic, without hot dishes (only cooked eggs) and I could almost see through orange juice. I initially intended to make a “sandwich to go”, but gave up…

The rooms are clean and tidy, beds are comfortable, but the bath is simple. Unwillingly I took a “contrast shower”, because the water temperature was jumping up and down. I guess it was an extra service. The curtains in the room could be thicker; it is too much light during summer nights. I couldn’t sleep well.

In summary: the place is OK to stay at, but do not expect much. I find it terribly overpriced compared to the value. If you have a chance – go for Scandic Umeå Syd.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KAMA3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2009

Very close to the airport which is why I stayed the night. Rooms perfectly OK and nice position next to the river but not really near anything else, if you want to be near the centre of Umea the Scandic is a better bet.

Buffet dinner was limited for choice but was OK, however it closed at 20.00, breakfast also fine, however the meals are in what seems to double up as reception and a TV room hence why it has a motel feel about it.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crushertim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Hans C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 26 September 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
Thank manuelc2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Umea hotels
1.3 mi away
Scandic Umea South
Scandic Umea South
#8 of 15 in Umea
296 reviews
1.7 mi away
U&Me Hotel
U&Me Hotel
#7 of 15 in Umea
31 reviews
1.6 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Uman
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Comfort Hotel Winn
Comfort Hotel Winn
#3 of 15 in Umea
890 reviews
2 mi away
First Hotel Dragonen
First Hotel Dragonen
#9 of 15 in Umea
81 reviews
1.7 mi away
Stora Hotellet, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Botnia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Botnia

Address: Obbolavagen 125, Umea 904 22, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Vasterbotten County > Umea
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Umea
Price Range: £73 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Hotel Botnia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Hotel Botnia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing