We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good breakfast, not romantic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
ProfilHotels Hotel Aveny
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Umea
Certificate of Excellence
Vaasa, Finland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good breakfast, not romantic”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

We booked a romantic weekend at this hotel as it was marketed on their homepage. The room was clean and we got a bottle of champagne and robes for an extra cost of 30 euros. But the room was anything but romantic, and the view we had from our junior suite window was over a parking lot. For the price the charge I had hoped for something far greater.

BUT! The breakfast was amazing!!

Room Tip: Unnecessary to pay for junior suite. A standard room is just as good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Missallstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    109
    51
    3
    5
See reviews for
35
94
11
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mariehamn, Finland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

Very nice and clean hotel. The best hotel breakfast I have had for many years, good bread, fresh fruit, lots of different juices and tasty and local food.
Room design is a bit different with the washbowl in the entry hall of the room.
Good and soft beds, nothing to complain about.
And the price was decent, much lower than the other hotels in Umeå with similar standard.
Good location just by the bus station. And, yes, dumbbells for your personal training in the room...

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bertell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

In the middle of June, Aveny Hotel is a good start for a Nordic experience. Little but well designed (IKEA like), clean rooms with very comfortable beds made me feel good and helped me get along with the midnight sun. Breakfast was excellent, both delicious and healthy. The Hotel bar is rather expensive and closes very early but they make very good cocktails. If you are into sports then the free weight, the CD and the Gym will surely please you. As for me, I'd rather go hiking.
The hotel is located in the center of the city, close to all "touristic attractions". I think the bets way to visit the neighborhoods is by renting a bicycle. The personnel was very helpful by letting me safely "park" my rented bicycle in luggage room.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mima1327566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haugesund, Norway
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

The rooms were clean, but a bit funny lay out. The toilet and shower was in a room, but the sink and heat cables were outside this room, which happens to be the entrance to the room.. It made the sleeping area very warm during the evening and night, even though we had turned the temperature to a minimum where the beds were. Breakfast wasn't anything to write home about though.

It had two sets of hand weights in the room, and a training DVD, a nice touch. (We did not try it). However, we did use the gym, which was huge, and very very good! Free for guests at the hotel, and in the same building. Also the location was right in the middle of the city center, so walking distance to most shops. .

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyCeci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skelleftea, Sweden
Level Contributor
216 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2013

A good hotel in a good location. They have put an effort into designing the rooms, sometimes it gets just too much. The sink to wash the hands is outside the bathroom. It may look nice but it is not very practical. They also put free weights and an excercise DVD in the room

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bornen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valletta, Malta
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2013

Just returned from a trip to cold Umeå. A weather of around -10 degrees by day is terribly cold for someone coming from the southern part of the Mediterranean.

The Aveny Hotel is located in the centre of tiny Umeå, in the main road between the Central Station and the City Hall. The room is rather small, very little space between bed and opposite wall, but served its purpose well, particularly since I had a double bed room on my own. The water basin is outside the bathroom, and is actually the first thing which you face as you enter the room. I find this rather strange, might be a concept but do not really get it… bathroom is therefore made up of toilet and shower. Shower has two options hand held and ceiling stuck huge water shower. Did not try the latter myself as did not really want to wash my hair, yet I believe a hotel shower through this water shower would have been a really nice feeling after a day in the cold.

Breakfast was good. Lobby has a bar which closes rather early in a Saturday night, but hotel has a nearby pub which turns useful. r of trip was paid by the organisers of the meeting (Umea 2014, European Capital of Culture). I paid the last night and paid around € 150 which I find a bit expensive. However I feel it fits well in the overall price levels in Sweden.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nokkla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mo i Rana
Level Contributor
121 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2012

Room a little small but ok, the sink was in the room and the shower and toilet in the bathroom. Some like it and some don`t. Breakfast was good. The gym was very good.
I wouldnt say this is the best in northern Sweden but it was ok and we probably will go there again. Friendly staff.

Room Tip: We got a room just across the elevator door and it was kind of noisy but I didn`t bother to complain...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank August50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Umea hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Hotel Winn
Comfort Hotel Winn
#3 of 14 in Umea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stora Hotellet Umea
Stora Hotellet Umea
#1 of 14 in Umea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
0.2 mi away
Elite Hotel Mimer
Elite Hotel Mimer
#4 of 14 in Umea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Uman
0.3 mi away
Scandic Plaza Umea
Scandic Plaza Umea
#6 of 14 in Umea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
0.2 mi away
First Hotel Dragonen
First Hotel Dragonen
#8 of 14 in Umea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ProfilHotels Hotel Aveny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ProfilHotels Hotel Aveny

Property: ProfilHotels Hotel Aveny
Address: 14 Raadhusesplanaden, Umea 903 28, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Vasterbotten County > Umea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Umea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — ProfilHotels Hotel Aveny 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Avenue Hotel is a design hotel located in central Umeå. The hotel is designed for those with high demands on quality and service and seeking an accommodation with exciting and different surroundings. All rooms are equipped with Carpe Diem beds, rain shower and mini bar. Hotel suites include jacuzzi and sauna.Guests have free Wi-Fi and free access to Formtoppen, one of the city's best gym located in the same building.The hotel's own restaurant, Angelini, serves à la carte dishes inspired by the Italian and American cuisine. If you prefer a snack or just a drink, you have the pleasant lounge bar. For those who prefer rustic pub food, beer or whiskey, you are welcome to join us at our own pub, The Pipes of Scotland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your ProfilHotels Hotel Aveny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aveny Hotel Umeå

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing