We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we wanted”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fairlight Beach House
Ranked #1 of 8 Umdloti B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We were looking for a place with a quiet beach, yet close to Durban, and found it. The location is perfect, with restaurants and grocery shop within walking distance. Our room was beautifully decorated, with a balcony facing the ocean. Breakfast was lovely, but most of all we enjoyed Bruce's friendly conversation and "just feel at home" attitude.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dean826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (314)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

197 - 203 of 314 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2014

The Fairlight is in a perfect location, close to the airport but in a quiet 'village'.
Top quality restaurants are within a few minutes walk.
The staff and management could not be more helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

nice stay on our way from St. Lucia to Durban airport in quiet and small Umdloti, fantastic view to the Indian Ocean where we had a good fresh swim within walking distance - excellent restaurants nearby - nice owner

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Ernst B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

A beautiful, beautiful place in an amazing location with spectacular views!

Our room was very quiet (apart from the waves of course) and private … exactly what you want a honeymoon suite to be!

Wine was a lovely surprise, too! We enjoyed the pool with lots of sunshine - a great addition to the amazing beach.

We also loved the closeness to restaurants & the airport (10min drive), which guarantees a stress-free weekend without much driving.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank RichKM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Would prefer on our next visit n larger room and more private. We had a very enjoyable stay and will definately make use of the guest house again. Very close to the airport and all major centres but still on a very quite beech.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Marieta S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

The Reservation administration, transport arrangements, room, bed, linen, people, view, breakfast, area located & facilities were FANTASTIC! We loved every second at the Fairlight Beach House. Thank you

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Hettie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Breakfast to include chicken or lamb options for hindu race. Only one towel each is not sufficient taking into account shower twice and the beach use of the beach. Otherwise great location and rooms are clean

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Ravi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Umdloti
4.6 mi away
Teremok Marine
Teremok Marine
#1 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
372 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,917 reviews
4.0 mi away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
0.0 mi away
Umdloti Letting & Sales
Umdloti Letting & Sales
#1 of 2 in Umdloti
38 reviews
0.1 mi away
Umdloti Milkwood
Umdloti Milkwood
#4 of 7 in Umdloti
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairlight Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairlight Beach House

Address: 1 Margaret Bacon Avenue | Cnr. South Beach Road, Umdloti 4319, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umdloti
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Umdloti
Price Range: £77 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairlight Beach House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairlight offers every comfort in 7 individually decorated rooms and luxury apartment. This luxury four-star rated guest house caters for the individual to couples and families. Begin your day with Fairlight's famously indulgent full house or lighter continental breakfast. Each room in this distinctive guest house is serviced daily by Fairlight's friendly team. Furnished at the highest quality, a stay at Fairlight translates into guests enjoying warm hospitality with every home comfort. Fairlight's selection of double, self-catering and family accommodation come standard with a bathroom en-suite, DSTV, hospitality trays, ample cupboard space, bar refrigeration, hairdryers, ceiling fans and air-con. Complimentary Wi-Fi and secure parking are also provided. Enjoy the beach or relax around the lush poolside. Just 10 mins from King Shaka Int. Airport and close to golf courses, tourism/ leisure and business centres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Fairlight Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing