We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well Cooked Food”
Review of La Casa Nostra

La Casa Nostra
Ranked #3 of 9 Restaurants in Umdloti
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Kids, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A little piece of Italy in Umdloti beach.
Cheadle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Well Cooked Food”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Excellent Italian food - ate there twice, lovely Veal and Spaghetti in a Mushroom and Cream sauce. My wife enjoyed an Aubergine vegetarian dish.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank LawrenceKershaw1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    33
    8
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nelspruit, South Africa
Level Contributor
115 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good seafood”
Reviewed 13 March 2014

La Casa Nostra is from the same stable as Bel Punto, which is just around the corner and the sea view obviously leaves the prices on menu of the latter, more expensive. Casa Nostra has an extensive menu and the prawns I had there were the best I have had in a long time. Perfectly cooked and without any additives that spoil the original seafood flavour. The interior is a bit crummy, but service was good and overall experience was good.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gerrit M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helier, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Superb food, great service”
Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

We ate here twice in a week just before christmas - the first time we were a group of 8 and the second time as a couple.

The staff were friendly and informative. We had the crispy calamari to start - we have been to Italy twice in two years and can honestly say that the calamari at Casa Nostra is probably the best we've tasted!! We also had the king prawns and the langoustines which were delicious. Pizza is also good.

The restaurant is not posh but has a really nice family atmosphere. If you want an authentic Italian meal but don't want to pay Venice prices then this is a great shout.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Yovitha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
71 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Delicious Food, extensive menu, something for everyone”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Excellent Menu, catering for all tastes. A bit pricey but then the qualify of food is exceptional. Attentive management and staff. A few of our favourties are gnocchi picante, scampi prawns with pasta (delicious), melanzane (the best in town), baby chicken. Check the specials board. Good sized portions and one is never disappointed. Definitely worth visiting.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GrSa_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
76 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Food was tasty”
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

We booked for an early dinner at 6pm, placed our order at 6:30 and only received our food at 7:40pm after we enquired as to where our food was. The service was extremely poor, the waitress had no clue as to what the specials were and had to ask another waiter what they were. Furthermore, we thought the fish we ordered (special) was ridiculously overpriced! The food was tasty enough but certainly not enough to entice another visit!!
On a last note, it is not wheelchair friendly - I had to help a rather distressed woman to the restroom after her husband could not get her chair up on the step, past the umbrella stands which were in the way! Worst of all, no one from the restaurant bothered to assist them!!!!

Helpful?
Thank NiciM2475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Casa Nostra also viewed

Umdloti, KwaZulu-Natal
Umdloti, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Umdloti, KwaZulu-Natal
Umdloti, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to La Casa Nostra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing