We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large room,nice bathroom.”
Review of First Hotel Statt

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
First Hotel Statt
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Ornskoldsvik
Mo i Rana, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Large room,nice bathroom.”
Reviewed 28 July 2012

In the end of July -12 we stayed in First hotell Statt.Staff was friendly.The room was really big.We enjoyed our stay,and also the food.Breakfast was as expected OK.
The hotel seems to be very old,and some is renovated.and parts need more renovating,such as the window in our room wich seemed to nearly fell apart.
Location of the hotel is very good in the- city centre .
We have stayed in similar or better hotels in Sweden at a lower price.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nora222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    68
    80
    46
    25
See reviews for
58
63
14
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Let's get the gripe out of the way first. When you arrive inside the arctic circle close to 22:30, you need a drink. No bar that I could find. Restuarants and outside bars were closing (it's a small town).

Anyway, the welcome was warm, the room was very pleasant and the atmosphere suited to classical, turretted building that it is. There is a large car par (we didn't need that). We didn't dine there because on the second night we went to Public - a bar that serves Murphy's and Swedish food specialities.

But the breakfast was up there with the best of them. Excellent bacon by British standars; the mini sausages not too meaty (not bad for foreign). There was fresh fruit salad; cold meats, herring; you name it. Full marks there.

I'll be staying there again though there are other hotels in Ornskoldsvik. So why only 3/5?

It's just the bar thing I described above plus my room (and I suspect all rooms) only had a shower and no bath. I hate showers.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suspishio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

Me and my girlfriends booked a hotel room cause we were going to see a show in Örnsklodsvik. SInce there was no rooms left we got offered to stay in one of the suites in the hotel. At the time this sounded like a good idea cause the three of us was sharing one room.

When we opened the door to the room we got really surprised! Unfortunately in a bad way! The interior of the room was so bad I mean you could exppect soemthing pretty nice for 200Euros/per night. The sofa was so dirty that the staff offered to cover it with some sheets in order for us to even be able to sit in it!! Stains on the table in the bedroom that easily was rubbed of with some toiletpaper soaked with water. Clearly there room was not cleaned at all..god knows for how long. Big yellow stains behind the beds..hmm dont even wanna think what that could have been. And the list goes on and on...

I felt really bad for the staff of the hotel cause its not their fault and the gave an explanation that they were waiting for hotel to be renovated. A tip of advice to the owner would be to lower the room rates drasticly!

I can not recommend this hotel at all cause its way too pricey and not worth even half of the cost that we paid.

Mrs K

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnaK3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ornskoldsvik hotels

Velden am Woerthersee, Austria
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2010

Went to Örnsköldsvik for a wedding. The choice of hotels in town is not great, and Hotel Statt seems to be the top end. It is an ageing place. My room was well sized. The furniture must have been plush forty (or fifty?) years ago, but today it’s all a bit shabby. Curtains didn’t cover even the whole window what is a bit awkward when you stay at a time of the year when it actually doesn’t get dark by night. Personnel is efficient enough but not very friendly. Requests which are not entirely usual are dealt with slowly and unhappily. The breakfast is served buffet style. The choice is huge and quality of staples is very high. On a sunny day you can eat on the terrace overlooking the waterfront. The hotel is centrally located within easy walking distance of shops, bars, restaurants, and the bus terminal.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alpenbewohner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2010

This is a hotel normally for business people ( 120 € for a single room) But the standard is rather poor. In general the service you expect for this kind of hotel is not very good, and the smile from the hotel personnel is almost absent. Last time I stayed for 4 nights, and the cleaning was like zero. If you want to connect to internet with wifi - it`s free (good) - if you dont have a PC of your own, you can buy connection time and use a hotel PC for 6 € for 20 minutes!! Total rip-off.
If you can, avoid this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank majorthombe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ornskoldsvik hotels
0.1 mi away
Elite Plaza Hotel
Elite Plaza Hotel
#1 of 5 in Ornskoldsvik
348 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotell Focus
Hotell Focus
#4 of 5 in Ornskoldsvik
34 reviews
1.1 mi away
Scandic Ornskoldsvik
Scandic Ornskoldsvik
#3 of 5 in Ornskoldsvik
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Strand City Hotel
Strand City Hotel
#2 of 4 in Ornskoldsvik
15 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Hotell
Park Hotell
#3 of 4 in Ornskoldsvik
12 reviews
1.9 mi away
Gottfridsgarden
Gottfridsgarden
#5 of 5 in Ornskoldsvik
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to First Hotel Statt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Hotel Statt

Property: First Hotel Statt
Address: 2 Lasarettsgatan, Ornskoldsvik 891 33, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Midnight Sun Coast > Angermanland > Ornskoldsvik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Ornskoldsvik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — First Hotel Statt 3.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First Hotel Statt is a landmark hotel from 1913 located in central Ornskoldsvik with one of Sweden's most exclusive marinas as its closest neighbor. The grand hotel brasserie offers full a la carte dining. Amenities include a conference room seating 20 people and a leisure area with sauna. Larger conferences are catered for in association with nearby venues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your First Hotel Statt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing