We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hotel in Örnsköldvik” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Elite Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Elite Plaza Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Ornskoldsvik
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best hotel in Örnsköldvik”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

On my business trips up north I always make sure to stay in this magnificent hotel.
Located in the harbour with walking distance to town and with good parking it is the only place you want to stay in while here. I have tried the other hotels before Elite was finished and there simply is no comparison. Modern look to the reception, rooms and even the gym and sauna gives this hotel a top notch review.
If there is anything to complain about it would be the mediocre breakfast buffet. This is common to most hotels these days and not specifically aimed at Elite Hotel. The lack of imagination and lack of good quality breads, cheeses and coffee are easy to change, though. All in all a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    113
    25
    7
    3
See reviews for
58
100
11
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Frederikssund, Denmark
Level Contributor
169 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

This hotel is like Sweden: Cold, distant, but everything works like a clock.

The rooms are small, the bathroom even smaller, but there's a nice bed and the view is scenic. The gym is on the 14th. floor, and from the sauna there's a fantastic view to the bay.

Good, continental breakfast and a restaurant around ok (for a hotel rest.).

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Morten A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netanya, Israel
Level Contributor
178 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

Very good location and very friendly staff.
A restaurant (Harris) is in a walking distance. The rooms are modern and convenient; you have in the room everything that you need for your stay. Breakfast was very good.

Room Tip: Both sides are good - sea view and city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank boazweiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

Great long time stay. Very friendly both in the reception as well as in the connected restaurant 'The Bishops Arms'. The rooms are well equiped. Great view from the top floors - including from the sauna in the 14th floor.

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank es-travler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viborg, Danmark
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

Stayed here one night for business purpose. Nice central locate. Very nice, clean and new rooms. Good service from staff. My wifi did not work in the first room and without any problem they located me in another room. Will come back here again. Would give It 5 stars if it weren't for the quite high room rate...

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jobura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
Level Contributor
113 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

OK, this review is a bit tricky. Because, I have nothing bad to say about the hotel per se, as for rooms, cleanliness etc. I mean, this is a newly built hotel, located really pretty by the guest harbour, and it had fresh, clean rooms with comfortable beds. We stayed at the 4th floor and weren't bothered by noisy drunk locals, and were pretty satisfied - room-wise....

But - here's what bugs me: I have never been as ignored from bartenders as I was at The Bishops Arms (the hotel's pub/restaurant), and I have never suspected it to be because of my origins - until now! I don't carry Swedish features, but I am brought up in Örnsköldsvik, although I haven't lived there for many, many years now. On Friday evening, me and my boyfriend decided to have a beer before going to bed. It was around 10.30 pm, and the bar wasn't crowded, and what happened next was like from a movie cliche:

You know, one walks into a bar, there are hardly any guest there - I think there were about two more guests standing around, waiting to get served (yes, the patio was crowded, but the bar area was almost empty). Then, the new arrived guest waits, and waits, and waits. The three (!) bartenders glancing at the new guest, but keep on ignoring. The other guest get their drinks, walks away, but the first one still waits. New guests arrive, get served before the first guest... And so on.

Then, finally, I said to my boyfriend, "let's split up and see what happens" - and, what do you know, five seconds later the bartenders came over and he could make an order!

Next morning, at breakfast, I saw one of the bartenders were working as a breakfast host. And, when I asked him if they had any lactose free milk, he didn't look at me, didn't utter a word, just pointed at a spot where the milk carton was and walked away.

So, if I had only the hotel rooms to review, I would say "Great! Stay at this hotel with clean rooms and average breakfast.", but since Bishops Arms is part of the hotel (and evidently they share service staff), I can only shake my head and say that I'm truly and utterly disappointed - and sad - that I have the notion of being subjected to racism in my old home town.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miss_Fnord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Umeå
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

Strengths; In the city and harbour, Clean and fresh rooms, it.s a new hotel opened in April 2013. Hardwood floor in the room. Friendly front desk staff.
Drawbacks;
1) Book a room with sea view high up since the young local car owners have car sound competitions all night long in front of the hotel.
2) A to small dark claustrophobic lobby for a 200+ room hotel
3) A breakfast buffé that are a disaster zone. When me and my family come down to the breakfast 9.45 (open to 10.30 on Sunday) the whole breakfast buffé was almost empty, no bread, no butter, no juice, no ham, no cereals, no youghurt, no bacon, etc in practise everything was empty. I could just get a cup of coffe and a slice of cheese. And we was only approx 20 persons in the breakfast room.

We had to go to a nearby cafe and buy some sandwiches. The 15 sqm breakfast buffé area( incl. a door and passage to the kitchen) is also to small for a 200+ room hotel. The breakfast buffé was a disaster hunger disappointment meltdown zone. A lot of guest was leaving hungry.
There was no staff at sight at all at the breakfast,so the hotel must start with recruiting the proper amount of staff to that size of hotel. The breakfast room tables was filled with used plates, forkes/knifes, napkins, leftovers, etc. The lack of staff it´s a major drawback..

Room Tip: Book a room with sea view high up since the young local car owners have car sound competitions all n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelman1000Ume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ornskoldsvik hotels
0.1 mi away
First Hotel Statt
First Hotel Statt
#4 of 5 in Ornskoldsvik
3.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotell Focus
Hotell Focus
#5 of 5 in Ornskoldsvik
3.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
1.2 mi away
Scandic Ornskoldsvik
Scandic Ornskoldsvik
#3 of 5 in Ornskoldsvik
3.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
Ulvo Hotell
Ulvo Hotell
#1 of 1 in Ulvohamn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ornskoldsviks Gasthamn
Ornskoldsviks Gasthamn
#1 of 5 in Ornskoldsvik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
0.2 mi away
Strand City Hotel
Strand City Hotel
#2 of 3 in Ornskoldsvik
3.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elite Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elite Plaza Hotel

Property: Elite Plaza Hotel
Address: 9 Hotellgatan, Ornskoldsvik 891 33, Sweden
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > Midnight Sun Coast > Angermanland > Ornskoldsvik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Ornskoldsvik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Elite Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Elite Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing