We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in central location”
Review of Hotel City Gavle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel City Gavle
Ranked #6 of 15 Gavle B&B and Inns
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
413 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Good hotel in central location”
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

Had a great stay here and can recommend the hotel to anyone needing a clean hotel with god parking and central location.

Another good point is that the hotel is convenient located next to a down shopping center. So if you missing something you don't need to take the car to 'find it'.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Travelalot724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    24
    29
    9
    5
See reviews for
8
20
8
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

The hotel is located at the border of the pedestrian area (15 min walking from the train station), it's a nice and clean hotel, comfortable, with WiFi available in the rooms, good and abundant breakfast. You can walk in 5 min to the historic city center. The personnel is gentle and kind. Rooms are OK although no glass (just curtains) for the shower.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oibafomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tbilisi, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 November 2012

Good location, walking distance to city center, friendly staff at reception, clean and simple rooms. Free WIFI at room. It would be better to have shower cubicles. Breakfast was really good. What's more Pet's and smoking is strictly forbidden.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anuki06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
86 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Have stayed in at least three other hotels in Gavle during earlier visits, this time I tried the Best Western (!) Hotel City.

I arrived by train from Stockholm (during a 1 hour and 23 minute’s very comfortable journey) to the Central Station in Gavle. Then by feet to the hotel situated 800 meters (0,5 mile) away, located in the quite opposite side of the long, partly pedestrian, street which cross the city centre (approx 10 minutes walk).
The exterior of the hotel is modern in a dull way.

Due to business meetings during the afternoon in Gavle, I arrived shortly before Noon to the hotel where I wanted to leave my bag. Was hoping to get my room – however, the resolute reply from the clerk at the reception desk was that the check in time was from 15:00 hrs!
Anyway, there was no problem to leave my bag in a locked cloakroom (a receipt was even given to me).

After returning to the hotel in the early evening, the check-in procedure went smoothly and efficiently. I was given a room with a single bed at the 5th floor (out of 6 floors). The width of the bed was 90 cm (2,95 feet). The madras was quite good, but the light in the lamp above/next to the bed was a bit too weak, and the type of pillow wouldn’t be my first choice.

I had specifically asked for a quite room… However, the room given to me was situated next to the outside corner of the building (above the entrance from the street to the lobby), situated towards two rather heavily busy main streets. (Why wasn’t I given a room towards the quite backside?)
As I prefer to sleep with the window opened during the night, the never-stopping “ticking” sounds from the traffic lights right outside was a bit annoying…as was the traffic starting early in the morning (the noises from the traffic waked me up far before the time of my awaking time at my cellular phone).

The room itself was nothing to get excited about, however – it was quite functional. Yet, there were some parts I didn’t like at all: The “hard wooded” laminate (plastic) floor which bring about a cold feeling; the flat screen TV set which was firmly fixed at the wall opposite the bed – impossible to turn to the one or another direction; the chair belonging to the writing desk which was to low; the window which could not be locked properly and the cold wind streaming into the room along the upper side of it….
A piece of a nice colorful carpet/rug, put on the middle of the floor, would definitely improve the rather cold feeling in the room (especially if it should match the color of the plaid at the bed).
A chair was even placed in the one dark, naked corner of the room, however, no table at all next to it (to put away your paperwork/newspaper/book/glass…whatever) – and no reading lamp.
The bathroom was very basic. No cabin to the shower, even not any build-up edge around it, which gave the result that the water flowed over parts of the bathroom floor. Furthermore, there was no extra shelf to put your personal belongings.

Finally; I was looking forward to the breakfast…having in mind the surprisingly good ones I had the last weeks at other Best Western hotels in Sweden. However, I was so disappointed!
The breakfast room itself is situated in the basement of the building, in a dark room without windows. I got the feeling that it was a school canteen or a former gym.
The range of cold and warm items served was very limited and was presented in a boring way. The sight of the small piece of a dry, boring, machine produced paté made me almost lose my appetite. Though, the only thing positive, was the fine selection of vegetables. (I am not a vegetarian, though!) The freshly baked bread was good.

Another thing during the breakfast that teased me very, very much, was the fact that the hotel only had totally three (3) newspapers to share among all the breakfast guests! That is completely ridiculous / laughable / irritating!!! Anyway, taking into consideration the very bad light in the breakfast room, there would be some severe problems in trying to read them!

I was coming to this hotel very open-minded, however – I left very disappointed.
The only aspect making me gives the hotel two stars and not only one, is the fact that the rate I (i.e. my employer) paid, was rather modest.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Homevalley55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Gavle hotels

Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Good location in the city center. Shops and restaurants within walking distance. Room was quite small, but newly refurbished, clean and pleasant. Very quiet (rear facing room). Free wifi. Scandinavian buffet breakfast with a good selection and quality. Free overnight on-street parking available around the hotel plus paid parking in car park across the road.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 5starbackpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

This hotel has had a recent refurb - it was very clean, nice but simple rooms and very friendly staff at reception and the bar. Perfect for a business or social visit. My room was rear facing and very quiet for a good sleep. I found It is very easy to stroll round the city from here. The breakfast was really good - a very modern style room in the basement but it was totally fine. Surprisingly the bar closes quite early but that was not a problem. If I am in this area I will pick this again. Multi storey car park next door.

Room Tip: My rear facing room over looked flats and this was very quiet and I could sleep easily.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 186332Phil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

I was in Gävle on a customer visit and found this hotel perfect for my needs. It is within easy walking distance of the main station, check-in was a breeze even though we arrived late at night, the rooms were spacious and clean. Free wireless Internet access was available and quite fast. Breakfast was perhaps not the best I've had, but plentiful and free.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank W2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gavle hotels
0.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel Winn
Clarion Hotel Winn
#1 of 5 in Gavle
570 reviews
0.4 mi away
Elite Grand Hotel Gavle
0.4 mi away
Scandic CH
Scandic CH
#3 of 5 in Gavle
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Scandic Gavle Vast
Scandic Gavle Vast
#4 of 5 in Gavle
298 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jarnvagshotellet
Jarnvagshotellet
#1 of 15 in Gavle
31 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotell Alderholmen
Hotell Alderholmen
#2 of 15 in Gavle
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel City Gavle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel City Gavle

Property: Hotel City Gavle
Address: 8 Nygatan, Gavle 803 20, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Midnight Sun Coast > Gavleborg County > Gavle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Gavle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel City Gavle 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel City Gavle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing