We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Scandic CH
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$157
Clarion Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$153
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$138
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$140
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Central Hotellet(Soderhamn)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (333)
Filter reviews
333 results
Traveller rating
78
141
94
16
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
78
141
94
16
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsreception areanice hotelfriendly staffhamlarge selectionhotel is locatedtrain stationcityhairdressergarageparking
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 333 reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2013

In the middle of Gavle and within walking distance to several restaurants, this hotel is alright to stay at. Friendly staff, good breakfast and value for money. Rooms are okey, even if the bathroom is a bit on the small side.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annika S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

Keep out of Scandic Hotel, Gävle Sweden. A Stalin type hotel. No minibar, no roomservice and not allowed to bring a bottle from the bar to the room. Not in 70+ countries and 30 years I have experienced anything like this. Me no gusta... :-(

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bolennart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2013

It is the second Scandic hotel in two days. Yesterday I was at the Sergel Plaza in Stockholm and the price was of about 150 Euro per 1 night invluding breakfast and internet. Tonight in Gavle, same sales conditions but even more expensive, around 170,00 Euro.
I can see that everywhere the standard is similar to Ibis, but at double price. Probably this is the price level in Sweden. It is matter of fact that this hotel is not worth the money you pay for!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nummelus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Stayed here for a few nights. A very nice hotel indeed. Very friendly personnel, as they were smiling everytime I saw them. Peacefull rooms. Although they were not very big, they were just fine for a short stay. The beds were very comfortable. Breakfast included was offering a very large selection. Dinner was confusing as I got only a very limited menu. Not many choices, so I was "forced" to order something what was closest to my interest. The food was good though.
The garage was nice for the car, but still quite expensive for hotel guests. There are limited parking places around the hotel, but then again I was kind of "forced" to take a garage place as I was not aware were to park elsewere. Lobby is nice, well decorated. Distance to the city center is only a few minutes walk.
I hope they will invest next time in the bathrooms as they are kind of old fashioned. Also the television set could be bigger. It was hard to watch football from a miniscreen.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VikingOlaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Hotel located 3 min from central station in Gävle and some 5 min to city center. Traditional business hotel but with a touch of commonplace. The room I got had a dull enterior, irritating nioce from the a/c and a terrible smell of mold from the bathroom. Breakfast was OK.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gelkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews