We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely amazing!!”
Review of Footprints

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Footprints
Darwin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Absolutely amazing!!”
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

We stated with my family during the Easter break, what an amazing hidden treasure. The beach shack was very clean, comfortable, everything you needed and loved the BBQ on our deck. We walked to the beach each day, our kids had ball especially on the nice grass area outside our unit. We are at the cafe, what another great find - food delish and very reasonable. Most of all the service in this place is brilliant. All the staff are so friendly and very helpful. We loved it and will definitely be back - thanks Footprints

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank woohooDarwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    78
    45
    12
    14
See reviews for
125
24
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Last weekend we were really looking forward to our third family reunion at Footprints. The beach shacks we stay in are clean and comfortable. The pool is lovely and relaxing. The food at the cafe was delicious and the service excellent.

However, the resort looks as if it requires quite a bit of maintenance to stay in top condition. Our dining table in our chalet was wonky, one of the dining chairs was dangerously snapped and very sharp, our DVD player didn't work and the washing machine was completely broken. I wouldn't normally complain about things like the washing machine, but as my son was terribly ill while we were there, we really did need it. Without it we couldn't clean properly. Unfortunately we had to leave a huge pile of dirty bedding on our front verandah as we couldn't wash it the entire time we were there, and no one was able to fix it for us.

Another big problem this year was the lovely lush green grass that the kids normally love to play on outside the shacks was absolutely covered in kangaroo poo and consequently I couldn't let my toddler play on it. I realise that there are kangaroos that visit the resort - and that is part of the charm of the resort - but someone should be cleaning up after the kangaroos every morning so that the resort is clean.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Stayed in a 2 bedroom 2 bathroom beach shack over the weekend - was very clean, comfortable, spacious for 4 people, family friendly and great value for money. Footprints is quite remote, nothing much nearby but perfect place to relax and unwind (beach is very close). Pool was big, clean and quite a few pool beds. Service was great - I called up few days in advance to see if they could organise something special for my partners birthday and they organised it wonderfully and so promptly! Bedrooms were good size, clean and bathroom was big. Our a/c in one of the rooms was not working and within ten minutes of notifying reception, someone came and fixed it! The cafe food was great - the staff met our request for vegetarian food with a very pleasant attitude. Kitchen facilities were good, although there is no oven. It is true that kangaroos do come outside your shack's porch! A big thank you to Lynn and Nikki for making our stay so comfortable!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simba123_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We have just spent 3 nights in a Beach Shack.Very clean and well organised room.Beds were very comfortable and all linen was spotless...Pool was great for our 4 year old and the Heated pool was great for our 4 month old(Although there were heaps of Wasps)...Just perfect...Cafe food was nice and $5.00 Cocktails on a Friday were refreshing...Quiet location and very chilled atmosphere.Our BBQ was not working and within 15 minutes we were greeted with a Brand New one...We are definately going to visit again very soon...Only 1 hours drive from where we live...

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob P, Manager at Footprints, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Hi DanP, It was lovely to read your comments and thank you for taking the time to review us. It's great to hear that you found it 'Absolutely relaxing' & that your kids enjoyed themselves. We certainly do hope that you will be able to return very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

I was looking for a nice quiet place to stay and I certainly found it. The privacy each beach shack has is fantastic. We stayed for two nights and it definitely helped to recharge the batteries. The unit was nice and clean, although the damage that the 'hard' water is doing is very obvious by the terrible shower head and the leaking basin tap, which meant you couldn't put anything on one side of the basin. We took the shower head off and brought it to reception the next day and it was instantly replaced. Staff were very friendly and accommodating.
The pool was lovely and clean and the restaurant was suberb. We went there for dinner on the first night and would highly recommend it.
The bbq on our deck was fantastic. In our two night stay we used it three times! Nothing like bacon and eggs for breakfast!
Sitting out on the deck at night was lovely. Our unit was nicely sheltered from the wind and the kangaroos came right up to the edge of the deck for a pat.
The only real disappointment would be that I thought the main bedroom and bathroom was on the ground floor (I hate stairs), so hopefully they might put up some floor plans on their website so that you can choose what type of unit you want. Also there was no mattress protector on the queen bed which I don't think is very hygienic.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob P, Manager at Footprints, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Hi SandraD, It was lovely to read your comments and thank you for taking the time to review us. It's great to hear that you found it a 'Nice quiet getaway'. During the low seasons it truly is tranquil and lets our Guests feel well rested and revived. We certainly do hope that you will be able to return very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for several weeks and the units where serviced weekly....... so they say
They done them when they felt like it, sometimes fortnightly after several phone calls.
They where polite and helpfull on the phone but would not do the request asked.
The biggest gripe was a severe mouse problem in the unit.
To the point watching TV at night they would come out from under the lounge and run across the floor.
The unit stunk of mice, repeated phone calls and throwing $80 of food out with no help for a simple request for some baits.
Every time they would appologise and say they would get straight on to it.
What a sucker I was.
Bought my own baits and thus the reason for this feedback.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank oldmcshorty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Preston Beach hotels

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We have stayed here a few times now and always had a lovely time, but our last stay was a bit disappointing. The bbq was dirty and when we complained they said they would send someone straight over to clean it which never eventuated! They also said they had new bbq's but hadn't taken them out of the boxes yet?? Also when we got there the kids beds weren't made up, whenever we have stayed before all the beds were made not just one. The other thing was the dishwasher didn't work, the maintenance person came over and said it was broken and they have new ones but they haven't been installed yet! The pool does get very crowded and would be good if they do put in another one and perhaps a playground as well. So overall it is a nice family friendly place to stay, they just need to get those bbq's out of their boxes, make up the beds and put the the new dishwashers in and it would be great.

Room Tip: Stairs can be a problem for young children especially in the townhouses and not all rooms have steps...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davo1303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob P, Manager at Footprints, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Davo1303, Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We are very disappointed to read about your negative experience during your stay and have addressed within all levels of departments immediately. All Guests comments are vital, however big or small, in making sure we learn from and continue to exceed all of our Guests expectations. I would welcome the opportunity to discuss any further issues with you personally.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Preston Beach
24.1 mi away
Quest Mandurah
Quest Mandurah
#3 of 7 in Mandurah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
24.7 mi away
The Sebel Mandurah
The Sebel Mandurah
#2 of 7 in Mandurah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
24.1 mi away
Mandurah Caravan and Tourist Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.0 mi away
Murray River Lodge Bed & Breakfast
22.5 mi away
Mandurah Quay Resort
Mandurah Quay Resort
#5 of 16 in Mandurah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Footprints? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Footprints

Property: Footprints
Address: 56 Mitchell Rd, Preston Beach, Western Australia 6215, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Preston Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Preston Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Footprints 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Footprints at Preston Beach marks the return of the simple yet stylish beach accommodation. Our Resort consists of architecturally designed beach shacks and townhouses that are all fully furnished and self contained. Located 45 minutes drive south of Mandurah and only 90 minutes south of Perth. Footprints Preston Beach Resort is only a short stroll to the white sands and clear blue waters of Preston Beach. For the Nature lovers, just to the east of Footprints Preston Beach Resort is Lake Preston and Yalgorup National Park. With two marked walk trails you'll have plenty of opportunities to come face-to-face with the park's abundant flora and fauna. The abundance of Western Grey Kangaroos will delight nature lovers. All this and more is what makes Footprints by far one of the best places to stay in Preston Beach. Our friendly resident kangaroos provide a spectacular backdrop to your accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Footprints reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing