We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Business stay; old and worn down, only central Scandic in the city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Scandic Sundsvall City
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Sundsvall
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
137 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Business stay; old and worn down, only central Scandic in the city”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2012

A very old and worn down hotel with awful rooms, but excellent location. This is the old IBIS hotel that Scandic took over mainly because they are closing down the big hotel they had in the city.

Location 10/10:
Since this is a very small city in northern part of the country, if the location is in the city, its good. This is right in the middle! Within minutes walking distance from the central station and to the city center with stores and restaurants. Easy access if you come driving and approximately 25 min from the airport.

Lobby/Check-in 5/10:
A very average and nothing special about this check in counter. Nice service and fruit and a daily newspaper for top floor guests. Managed to receive a late checkout, which was good. Looked very average and nothing special at all.
There was a small area where you could by snacks, newspapers or magazines and coffee, or other toilet accessories, like tooth paste.

Room 1/10:
This is one of the worst rooms I have ever had. It basically was the size, internally decorated and feeling of a Swedish prison cell. It was small, old and I felt a bit dirty just being in the room. The only modern thing was the TV.
Bathroom is very old and it does not feel so nice.
This room is towards the street, and there is a small restaurant/pub that is open late just beside the hotel, and if gets noisy, it sounds a lot to the room.

Restaurants 5/10:
The breakfast buffet is good, with a good of choices of hot and colds. Wide selection of bread, but just standard here as well.

Other:
Cannot comment on the conference part. There is a small, but newly equipped fitness center with sauna. Free wi-fi, but not so fast. Gym is well equipped for conditioning, but not weight lifting, and its open 24..
The staff is very friendly, which is the best part.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aksel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    118
    74
    16
    9
See reviews for
60
86
7
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Linkoping, Sweden
Level Contributor
127 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2012

We stayed at the Scandic Sundsvall for a weekend, knowing that it has only recently been taken over by Scandic and is being renovated. The location is good, very close to the centre of Sundsvall and a ten-minute walk from the railway station.

The reception area seemed pleasant enough and the staff were welcoming but the (not yet renovated) room was quite tired, although perfectly clean. The decor somehow made the room feel smaller and dingier than it really was.

The selection at breakfast wasn't great and I was particularly disappointed with the lukewarm "hot" items. There were two staff behind the breakfast buffet who seemed to be mostly interested in chatting with each other rather than ensuring that the buffet was kept replenished.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that has been renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OrangeWindies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sundsvall hotels

Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
233 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2012

Embarrassing is the only word I can think of when remembering this so called hotel, which I would refer to as “hostel” at the most. Me and my college changed hotels, since the rooms we got at the Scandic City Hotel were awful, old and smelly. Could it get any worse than that we asked ourselves and oh yes, it did. Since all hotels in Sundsvall were occupied, or at least that’s what they told us at the Scandic reception, we had to stay here, at the other Scandic option. However we managed to get two rooms by ourselves at the Elite hotel Knaust the very next day.

When the receptionist pointed us to the direction of the elevator up to or rooms I actually thought she mistook us for delivery staff, since it looks like a freight elevator.

The floor in the bathroom was so disgusting that I didn’t shower in the morning, I just washed up with my shoes still on, too scared to touch anything. There was an insect glued stuck to the toilet seat (see photo). The bed is simple, yet with clean sheets (or so I imagine), but the rest of the furniture was quite wobbly and dusty. Breakfast staff was friendly and the food ok.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sokriw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puth, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012

After arriving with the last plane at Sundsvall airport we were welcomed aptly at the average Scandic Hotel. Roomwas spacious but simple, bed below par, Bathroom good breakfast very good. Service good.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RinkeAltink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
the world
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

The hotel is located in city center, its pretty cheap and overall very good.
its clean and comfortable and polite staff.
The breakfast is ok, but far from the best i had in hotel.
Their car parking was full when we arrived so we used a free parking 2-3min walking from the hotel.
We had booked superior rooms and they only have 1 on every floor, and they did not look the same or had the same size, however i thought they were a bit small for a "superior room".
In superior room they included bathrobe, some fruit and candy. and 2 bottle of sparkling water.
also some the/coffe and a hairdryer.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JurgenVonSchneider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Water, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

Clean and comfortable room with helpful counter service at reception. Convenient for the city centre with quite a few reasonable eating opportunities. Parking was a struggle as there are very limited places and the on street parking is limited. It is a couple of km from the E4 so be aware of that if driving.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paslfscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sundsvall hotels
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Sundsvall
Quality Hotel Sundsvall
#3 of 11 in Sundsvall
4.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Grand
0.2 mi away
Elite Hotel Knaust
Elite Hotel Knaust
#2 of 11 in Sundsvall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
First Hotel Strand
First Hotel Strand
#6 of 11 in Sundsvall
3.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
2.1 mi away
Scandic Sundsvall Nord
Scandic Sundsvall Nord
#5 of 11 in Sundsvall
3.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel Baltic
Best Western Hotel Baltic
#8 of 11 in Sundsvall
3.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Sundsvall City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Sundsvall City

Property: Scandic Sundsvall City
Address: 31 Traedgaardsgatan, Sundsvall 852 32, Sweden (Formerly Ibis Sundsvall-City)
Region: Sweden > Midnight Sun Coast > Vasternorrland County > Sundsvall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Sundsvall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Scandic Sundsvall City 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to hotel Scandic Sundsvall! Hotel Scandic Sundsvall City is located in central Sundsvall, 1 km from the city's train station and only a 25 minute drive from Midlanda airport.You'll find hotel Scandic Sundsvall City in the heart of Sundsvall, with the city's popular shopping area just around the corner. Discover the shops and cosy cafes, or take a short stroll to the popular Casino Cosmopol to experience Sundsvall's nightlife. Don't miss a visit to the popular park and outdoor museum, Norra berget, with fun activities and a beautiful view over Sundsvall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Sundsvall City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing