We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not great value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Scandic Sundsvall City
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Sundsvall
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights on business
Staff are good and helpfull but this is a converted Ibis and it shows no wardrobes in romes just 3 coathangers.
It is impossible to take a shower without flooding the bathroom this must be a safety issue if you were to slip on bathroom floor.
Buffet breakfast was good
Overall not value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RAFERDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (313)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

34 - 40 of 313 reviews

Reviewed 28 December 2013

Typical Scandic: clean, modern, newly renovated, same breakfast as in all Scandic restaurants. The bed was too soft for my taste. Centrally located. Nice service. It had everything that is needed for a one night stay on a business trip.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Girl020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

The interior is what you can expect from this the Scandic chain; comfortable beds, newly renovated, clean and sufficient for one night's stay. But the rooms are a bit on the small. If you're going to be in Sundsvall for longer - choose Clarion Grand or Knaust.
The hotel's location is very good - close to restaurants and pedestrian shopping area. If you come by car, you'll have to park in the nearby streets. It's free of charge during weekends, but parking space can sometimes be hard to find within reasonble distance.
Breakfast is ordinary Scandic; buffé with pretty much all you need, but no "extras".

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelagent12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

This is a perfectly fine hotel if your only need is to have somewhere to sleep. It's clean, it's very central and it's newly rennovated. However, the rooms are very small, there's hardly anywhere to put your suitcase, and almost no hooks to hang your clothes - or towels for that matter.

We made the mistake of having dinner at the hotel's restaurant. Undercooked and very, very, VERY chewy fillet of beef (which makes me certain it was a cheaper cut they served me), raw potatoes and the food was very bland, lacking of seasoning. The service at the restaurant was a bit, hm, how to explain it - bothered by its guests... The breakfast though was OK, not huge and not small, but OK.

The gym was very small. Two treadmills, one crosstrainer, some weights and a couple of machines. But it was new and clean and fresh.

To sum up: what this hotel can offer the most is the clean room, the rest is below average.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Miss_Fnord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Nice hotel, but our room was a bit too small even if we just stayed one night. Breakfast was good and the staff very helpful. Shopping and restaurants are just around the corner, so it's convenient to stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a full-size room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AdTrosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

This is a rather new hotel so everything is fresh and clean. The room that we had were quite small and it was barely room to iron the shirt. The breakfast was also a little bit of a disappointment, even for being Scandic and I expect a bit more from a hotel breakfast. It has a small gym and a nice sauna. Nevertheless, I deem it being a rather good hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andreas_13010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Great location, and also quiet!
Clean, and the room smelled nice.
Breakfast was ok, not outstanding. Friendly and helpful staff.
The only problem was parking space! I got lucky and found a free space right outside.

I will go back.

Room Tip: If You go by Car, ask for a free parking space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KirunaEric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sundsvall hotels
2.1 mi away
Scandic Sundsvall Nord
Scandic Sundsvall Nord
#5 of 11 in Sundsvall
294 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Grand
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Sundsvall
Quality Hotel Sundsvall
#3 of 11 in Sundsvall
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Elite Hotel Knaust
Elite Hotel Knaust
#2 of 11 in Sundsvall
557 reviews
0.3 mi away
First Hotel Strand
First Hotel Strand
#8 of 11 in Sundsvall
529 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel Baltic
Best Western Hotel Baltic
#6 of 11 in Sundsvall
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Sundsvall City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Sundsvall City

Address: 31 Traedgaardsgatan, Sundsvall 852 32, Sweden (Formerly Ibis Sundsvall-City)
Region: Sweden > Midnight Sun Coast > Vasternorrland County > Sundsvall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Sundsvall
Price Range: £81 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Scandic Sundsvall City 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to hotel Scandic Sundsvall! Hotel Scandic Sundsvall City is located in central Sundsvall, 1 km from the city's train station and only a 25 minute drive from Midlanda airport.You'll find hotel Scandic Sundsvall City in the heart of Sundsvall, with the city's popular shopping area just around the corner. Discover the shops and cosy cafes, or take a short stroll to the popular Casino Cosmopol to experience Sundsvall's nightlife. Don't miss a visit to the popular park and outdoor museum, Norra berget, with fun activities and a beautiful view over Sundsvall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Scandic Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Sundsvall City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing