We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Grand,and good value”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Elite Hotel Knaust

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Elite Hotel Knaust
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Sundsvall
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
117 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Grand,and good value”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

The elegant entrance and staircase have been repeatedly described-I shall add my bit by noting that the grey stone of the upper stairs(ground floor has marble) contains some nice fossils.
On the practical side,I had a very good sized room at a very ordinary price.It had all the usual fittings and was well maintained.The courtyard view was neither pleasant nor unpleasant,and avoided any potential street noise from Saturday night revellers.Although there was no A/C, the opening. window area was good,and I was able to obtain a battered fan from reception.It is a pity that this is not a standard provision-a fan takes up less space than the usual mound of superfluous duvets which have to be removed to make the bed tolerable.Another point ,of trivial cost but affecting comfort,concerns the curtains.Although of opaque material,they will not draw close against the wall at the sides,which is a major annoyance in a town with continuous daylight/twilight in July.
The bathroom was good for those who find the lack of a bathtub acceptable.At least the wetroom type shower had a curved glass door to reduce the generalised flooding which usually is a problem .The basin was a much more useful device,with two proper tap heads rather than a gimcrack mixer,and a real working plug.There was even a shelf beneath.The marble floor would have been cool and refreshing without the extravagant heating system,which is easy to turn off once its prescence has been realised.
The breakfast room has some interesting decoration,including what I presume to be portraits of the Knausts in the painted glass ceiling panels.There is an excellent range of hot and cold food.At last,in an Elite group hotel,I find the repulsive fruit juice machine is supplemented by real oranges and a squeezer!
This is an impressive hotel,except perhaps in the height of summer.Sundsvall is well worth a visit,and compares very well with cities at a similar latitude on the other side of the world.

Room Tip: Specify a BATH if you want one.Note that the cheap rooms are small.Bring a roll of aluminium foil an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireAviator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    253
    170
    32
    9
    5
See reviews for
63
174
26
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

I have stayed here several times since it opened in 2002 and enjoyed it every time. The ambience in the public areas is fantastic as the hotel is located in a beautiful old building on a pedestrian street in the city center. The impressive stairs leading up from the foyer is renowned even for people who hasn't stayed here.

Some of the hotel rooms have become a little tired during the years, but there are also newly renovated rooms.

The breakfast served is of very high quality and opulent, and served in the hotel's most beautiful room, Spegelsalen (the Mirror Room).

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelagent12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
97 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I stayed here for 5 days and 4 nights for my training in Timra (Permobil). Upon opening of the automatic door you will view the elegant and artistically beautiful staircase .I was welcomed by a friendly staff name Martina. Surprisingly the room that was given to me was a in a corner location which is spacious and cozy. My room just underneath the bishop arms and can view small shops around the hotel. Breakfast (buffet) foods that was served is delicious as well as the dinner (ala-carte). The hotel is very near to all the shops and famous landmarks within Sundsvall. Nevertheless the experience here was great overall!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarlaTortal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
248 reviews
214 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

The hotel has a really nice entrance, with great stairs going up. It reminds of an old era, when traveling was a more exclusive thing. The hotel is anyway modern, with nice and comfortable rooms. I was a bit disappointed by the double bed, that in reality was done by two single beds putted together. So, once moving, we had the risk of falling in the middle more than once. The room lacked as well a regulator for the heat, and it was quite cold during the night. The bathroom was nice. The breakfast in the morning was good, but not as variate as in other hotels in Scandinavia. Finally the position is excellent, right in the middle of the city.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alessandr078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Friends and family recommended this hotel as we visited for first time, They couldn't be any more right, we absolutely enjoyed it. Great spacious room, superb staff and great central location. Superior room with great views. No espresso but Barista coffee shop next door made up for it.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank CarmenMuresan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skillingaryd, Sweden
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013 via mobile

Definitely the best hotel in Sundsvall. Great breakfast buffet. Spacious rooms and very good service. The only minor point is the parking, there is no nearby parking. The Bishops Arms bar is reachable from inside the hotel, they have good food.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Erwin_Lever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level Contributor
95 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Stayed again after a few years - and it is just as beautiful. Breakfast is good (now with cook your own waffles), beds are very comfortable, shower-room heated floor, perfectly clean everywhere. Its also in an excellent location and has free WiFi. Walking down the main staircase is a must as it is so amazing.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirkm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sundsvall hotels
0.1 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Grand
0.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Sundsvall
Quality Hotel Sundsvall
#3 of 11 in Sundsvall
376 reviews
0.1 mi away
First Hotel Strand
First Hotel Strand
#6 of 11 in Sundsvall
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotell Sodra Berget
Hotell Sodra Berget
#7 of 11 in Sundsvall
193 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Baltic
Best Western Hotel Baltic
#8 of 11 in Sundsvall
83 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scandic Sundsvall City
Scandic Sundsvall City
#4 of 11 in Sundsvall
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elite Hotel Knaust? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elite Hotel Knaust

Property: Elite Hotel Knaust
Address: 13 Storgatan, Sundsvall 852 30, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Midnight Sun Coast > Vasternorrland County > Sundsvall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Sundsvall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Elite Hotel Knaust 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Elite Hotel Knaust reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elite Hotel Sundsvall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing