We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Radiant Atmosphere, Quaint Escape”
Review of Mellby Or Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mellby Or Inn
Ranked #4 of 31 Oland B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 November 2011

Mellby Or Inn is a cozy, relaxing escape from the bustling city. The oceanside village is graced with a gorgeous sunlight during the Summer, and bundled up charm in the winter. Mellby Or Inn is an exquisite capsule of Swedish culture (with their bar night featuring local music, and traditional design) that feels like a fairy tale. If you cross the street from the Inn through the rose/fruit garden towards the beach, the walk through hay fields is speckled with delicate flowers. While the Inn is not in the center of town, it is worth the escape to behold the unbelievable stars, and sweet traditional Swedish lifestyle.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank coralfisch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (19)
There are newer reviews for Mellby Or Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 19 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2010

Invited to a wedding in Stockholm we decided to spend a week touring in the South East corner of Sweden. We stayed for 2 nights at the Mellby Or Inn- which turned out to be an excellent decision-why?
1. The rooms are new- but converted from old farm buildings providing plenty of character with excellent sitting out areas (we stayed in room 1 which had nice views).
2. The rooms in our building (3) shared a lounge and modern/new kitchen. We did not use the lounge (weather was fantastic and we spent all time out) but I can imagine that at other times this would be an excellent facility for a family or group.
3. Breakfast was provided in the fridge each morning in a serve yourself style which suited us just fine.
4. Chris and Agneta were very helpful- recommending/booking restaurants and supplying local information.
5. Bicycles were available at no extra charge and made for a wonderful day.
Mellby Or inn reflects the personality of this young couple- they have lots of plans for how to develop it further and it will only get better. It really is a place with a personality and GREAT value.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnwalker1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2009

The newly opened Mellby Or Inn is run by an American-Swedish family and is situated in the remote south-eastern part of Öland where accommodation of this standard is scarce. The recently refurbished rooms in the buildings of an old, for the region typical, farm are tastefully decorated with a distinctly rustic country-feel to them. The rooms have TVs and en-suite, tiled bathrooms decorated with beautiful mosaics and a shared and well-equipped kitchen if one wishes to cook own meals. Breakfast is provided at a small surcharge. The owners are very helpful and service-minded, having experience from the American tourism industry. It is difficult to find modern and well-built accommodation in this part of the island and I would rate this guest house as the best. It is situated next to the spectacular Alvaret steppe and with the southern tip of Öland just 15 minutes away by car. Perfect for people interested in birds, plants, history and nature or just seeking peace and tranquillity.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pomarinus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Las mejores habitaciones son las que se encuentran en la planta alta, disponen de bacon y ademas est...
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mariam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Ronnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank sandraz_1020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claes F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oland hotels
18.0 mi away
Hotel Skansen
Hotel Skansen
#1 of 1 in Farjestaden
447 reviews
27.2 mi away
Ekerum Resort Oland
Ekerum Resort Oland
#2 of 7 in Borgholm
69 reviews
34.0 mi away
Gamla Televerket Rum
Gamla Televerket Rum
#1 of 9 in Borgholm
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
34.3 mi away
Gamla Bryggeriets B&B
Gamla Bryggeriets B&B
#2 of 4 in Kopingsvik
23 reviews
14.9 mi away
Eksgarden
Eksgarden
#1 of 3 in Farjestaden
44 reviews
6.3 mi away
Galleri Bla Porten
Galleri Bla Porten
#2 of 7 in Morbylanga
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mellby Or Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mellby Or Inn

Address: 132 Mellby | Degerhamn, Oland 386 64, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Oland
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Oland
Price Range: £82 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mellby Or Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Mellby Or Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing