We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shame”
Review of The Sun Inn

The Sun Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Cottesmore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$16
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Shame”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Looks great from outside and prompted us to go for dinner. In fairness we visited on "curry night" but wanted to dine from the a la carte, this wasn't a problem. We ordered nachos and then homemade burger and cod & chips. The nachos were plentiful but lacked guacamole and salsa which would be a usual accompaniment; and the fish and chips were good, the burger however was poor, I would doubt it was homemade it was so dense that it was impossible to bit through and had an unpleasant skin.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    37
    20
    15
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A wonderful find”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We were lookinmg on the internet for somewhere dog friendly, to partake of lunch after walking the dog round Rutland water and the Sun looked ideal.
How wrong we were in our assumpton,for it was not only ideal, but very much exceeded all of our expectations
A very friendly traditional country pub that was a pleasure to find in this day and age of plastic Pubs and restaurants poorly run by take it or leave it Landlords and Managers, offering a menu straight from the freezer or packet, no such nonsense visible here, a genuine warm welcome and offering friendly and attentive service to the customer and what a wonderful menu of local quality produce, so much choice and somewhat refreshingly different from the usual run of the mill
The welcome was very ready on entering and indeed it is dog friendly in all the bar areas for well behaved dogs and ourJack Russell was greeted with as equal a welcome as ourselves
I am not going to drone on how wonderful this pub is, suffice it to say that others have also already said it on Trip Advisor and in our opinion,very justifiably so, as our lunch was excellent and others eating around us seemed very well pleased with the fare on offer, well cooked appetising and very well presented.
There is of course the usual range of national beers and lagers, but forgetting that gassy rubbish, they have a splendid range of Everard's draught beers and very well kept I might add.
I believe that they have a curry night on a Tuesday and a 3 course menu for £9.95 on a Wednesday and a Sunday Lunch at £8.95 andwe will definitelyl be returning to enjoy..
Our Jack Russell,"Sam". was also offered a slice of ham, for which he was truly grateful, a very kind gesture on the part of the Landlord, but I got the distinct impression that Sam had rather it had been steak,.
So one to enjoy and it will definitely get three hearty woofs should you take the dog with you.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank amrad1743
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Empingham, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great value and atmosphere”
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

Visited with a friend (and his dog!) and had a great welcome from helpful staff. Food was excellent and really good value. Atmosphere was great - lots of friendly chatter. Will definitely be back soon.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nigel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ripley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very friendly”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Went for meal at start of our holiday which was excellent quality and good value for money. The staff were extremely friendly and nothing seemed too much trouble. We enjoyed it so much that we are going again tonight before we leave for home tomorrow.
Would definitely recommend this Inn to anyone passing or staying in the area.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank itnotebo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
1 review
“Friendly welcoming staff with the benefit of amazing food”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

I can't recommend this pub highly enough. It is a quaint traditional country pub that serves the most amazing food. There are dishes for everyone and all at a very reasonable price. The staff are extremely friendly, welcoming and can't do enough for you. I have visited a number of times and have always left with a smile on my face, definitely worth a visit!

Helpful?
Thank 474Emmie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Sun Inn also viewed

Greetham, Rutland
 

Been to The Sun Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing