We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small cosy hotel”
Review of Hotel Borgholm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Borgholm
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Borgholm
Reviewed 7 December 2013

I've spent several nights in this small and intimate hotel. The stays have been both for work and pleasure. The service is impeccable and the rooms are very well kept. There is also a nice courtyard where you can enjoy the sun of Öland. However the real treat of this hotel is the fantastic restaurant where you can enjoy a filling breakfast, tasty lunches and impressive dinners.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mikki60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (55)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2013

This is probably the best accomodation you can get in Borgholm. BUT - what you should know is that in summertime, being located in the middle of this small town, is that most of the rooms are located towards the streets Trädgårdsgatan or Storgatan. That means some rather heavy late hour noise from the pubs around. Also, Trädgårdsgatan faces west and the setting sun. With no AC in the rooms it can get pretty hot. Our room had a fan on the desk, which always is a bad sign... We did had difficulty to sleep in the heat and the fan provided, as expected, minimal comfort.
The rooms are nothing special if you consider the basic price of +165 EUR. A small room with a small double bed is nothing to write home about - especially when you consider the added room temperature...
Four official stars is, in this context, just too much. Our feeling was: overpriced.

The common spaces of the hotel are simple but nice. A small garden is a treat in the summertime where you can have your breakfast or your coffe after the dinner.

Breakfast is surprisingly simple when you consider that you are staying in a hotel with one of the foremost restaurants of Sweden (Karin Fransson's lavish cuisine). It's even simpler than if you're staying at a chain-hotel like Scandic or Radisson. Disappointing. The coffee is a disaster in strength (was it coffee or tea???).
Hotel Borgholm just HAVE to sharpen up their breakfast!!

The restaurant is a whole other matter - one of the absolute best restaurants in Sweden. Please Michelin, give them a star! See my separate review.

If only the hotel part could come up to par with the restaurant, this establishment would be a killer!
For now, it's not.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vierdank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Probably the best hotel in town, in the middle of Borgholm, with a beatiful back garden where you can bring your breakfast. It has a very good restaurant (probably the best in town as well, as the others are not that good).

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trygdordningen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2011

Great Hotel located in the heart the small "capital" of the island Öland. Stylish interior, scandinavian design style I would say. The restaurant offers an excellent menue, based on mostly regional ingredients prepared very close to the Michelin-Star-Level! Good wineselection, affordable prices. Husband is serving the dishes as the Maitre, wife is Chef de Cuisine.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stmm10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2009

the hotel though recently (2005) renovated is of moderate standard. we had a new room with good space. and clean. the decoration is a matter of taste. mini bar but no contents. TV but very tiny and a long way from the bed with limitted programming.. though we had a front room, there was hardly any disturbance from outside.

what makes the hotel a real treasure is its kitchen! absolutely outstanding in sweden! if you like a "gourmet" stay this is a sure thing.

good breakfast which you can even enjoy in the garden among the many herbs !!

the hotel could be a bit more sofisticated, serving tea /coffee in the afternoon etc.
if you visit borgholm for a few days this hotela arrangements comes recommended. .

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ojeem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2009

Stayed here one night.
Was recomended by friends.
Found it clean and comfortable.
very nice breakfast. Hotel staff very helpful.
Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HDell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2006

This was a very pleasant hotel, very conveniently located off the main pedestrian shopping street. My room overlooked the busy street, but it was not too noisy. I wasn't expecting too much for US$180, but the room was clean and I was very satisfied with it. Breakfast is included and it was adequate, although not exceptional. The nicest part was their little outdoor patio. Having breakfast out there was ever so relaxing. If I was visiting in the Oland area, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank A Stone's Throw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Borgholm
17.5 mi away
Hotel Skansen
Hotel Skansen
#1 of 1 in Farjestaden
462 reviews
6.0 mi away
Halltorps Gastgiveri
Halltorps Gastgiveri
#1 of 7 in Borgholm
106 reviews
0.4 mi away
Strand Hotell Borgholm
Strand Hotell Borgholm
#5 of 7 in Borgholm
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Villa Sol
Villa Sol
#6 of 7 in Borgholm
13 reviews
7.2 mi away
Ekerum Resort Oland
Ekerum Resort Oland
#2 of 7 in Borgholm
70 reviews
0.6 mi away
Guntorps Herrgard
Guntorps Herrgard
#4 of 7 in Borgholm
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Borgholm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Borgholm

Address: 15 Traedgaardsgatan, Borgholm, Oland 387 31, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Oland > Borgholm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Borgholm
Price Range: £119 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Borgholm 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Borgholm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Borgholm Sweden - Oland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing