We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice enough budget hotel, but poor rooms” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Scandic Helsingborg North

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Scandic Helsingborg North
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Helsingborg
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
68 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Nice enough budget hotel, but poor rooms”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

The hotel itself is OK and the staff are friendly enough. But the rooms are very poor and have been in need of an upgrade for many decades.

Some Scandinavian hotels can be a little sparse and I get that but this was just old and dirty. A colleague stayed in one of the very few refurbished rooms so that is the secret!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank up2eleven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    125
    116
    43
    18
See reviews for
132
78
17
94
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Harderwijk, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
116 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

1190SEK for one night was a pretty steep price to begin with, but we had driven 600km that day and were desperate for a sleep.We avoided the city center of Helsingborg as we expected the hotels to be more expensive.

The girl at reception was very friendly and that's why we opted to checkin, keen to get some sleep.

The key told us the hotel was founded in 1963 and I'm guessing they haven't done much renovation or decoration since. Very outdated, toilet was not even bolted to bathroom floor which made for a 'wobbly wee'. It was also pretty noisy. We could hear the neighbours' television and 'toilet habits'.

I think the hotel is mainly used by business people that stay in the city during the week. Lots of people having breakfast very early and alone. Breakfast buffet was extensive though, so kudos for that!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karian_Dennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Helsingborg hotels

St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

Good hotel, if the price is lower, than 85e (we've spend 688SEK). Breakfast is excellent, sauna with a little pool is avail. But the location is outside the city. Iv You are by car - than no troubles, we was on trip from Paris to Stockholm. it means - excellent.

Room Tip: No comments
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TimurAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2011

Basic, functional and overpriced. You will do better.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MSwail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
411 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

The beds are OK but the rooms are beginning to show obvious signs of age. The paintwork is chiped and the bathrooms needs and overhaul.
The restaurant definitely also needs to improve it's food. It was either overfried, overcooked or overdone. The Club Sandwich I ordered, that seemed like the only lighter meal on the menu, was dripping in Curry majo and and fat drippings and was made up of so many slices of bread and only a tiny piece of chicken. It may be cheaper to make it that way, but seems far from the Scandic hotel Jamie Oliver healthy food profile advertised.
Despite promises of a daily newspaper, these were all gone.
The hotel should also move the smoker's corner from its' current location outside the restaurant. When the restaurant door is left open (by the smokers) the smoke free restaurant becomes quite the opposite.

Room Tip: Avoid having a late breakfast. Seems the breakfast room staff is understaffed. Trays everywhere with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tord E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siberian District, Russia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2011

We stayed one night in this hotel. Its quite far from a city centre even for a bicycle ride. The room was spacious, even a bathtub can accommodate a couple at once. The thing I didn't like most was the fact that at the breakfast we faced with no vacant seats in restaurant because of several groups of German tourists. Maybe it's just a bad luck, who knows. I want to underline that the cards that are used as a key to the room are made of wood. It's not too common, but for Scandinavia "green solutions" are developing day by day.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Begemoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2010

We just spent the Christmas week in Helsingborg, to visit some family. We were 2 adults and 2 young children. The hotel itself is a bit outdated but still very ok. They are anyway planning to renovate in 2011. The facilities were extremely complete, with a high standard fitness room, an indoor swimming pool and separate saunas. The breakfast buffet was simply impressive in quality and quantity. The food in the restaurant was also great, with a nice buffet, next to the card, every night. Last but not least, the rooms were very functional and clean. Most importantly, the staff was amazing: always friendly, available, helpful, quick ... just perfect ! And all that for 90 Euro per night, per room, breakfast included. And 20% off on the food, if Scandic member.
I am travelling quite often with my job, in 4 or 5 stars hotel, such as Hilton, Sheraton, etc. around Europe, and I can tell you this 3 star Scandic hotel does have anything to envy to the luxiourous chains, to the contrary. And for that price, on top ! As I said, simply incredible ...

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FabianLoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Helsingborg hotels
2.4 mi away
V Hotel Helsingborg, BW PREMIER Collection
2.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Metropol Hotel, Helsingborg
2.7 mi away
Elite Hotel Marina Plaza
Elite Hotel Marina Plaza
#4 of 21 in Helsingborg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Elite Hotel Mollberg
Elite Hotel Mollberg
#3 of 21 in Helsingborg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
2.8 mi away
Comfort Hotel Nouveau
Comfort Hotel Nouveau
#6 of 21 in Helsingborg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
2.9 mi away
Good Morning+ Helsingborg
Good Morning+ Helsingborg
#11 of 21 in Helsingborg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Helsingborg North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Helsingborg North

Property: Scandic Helsingborg North
Address: 41 Florettgatan, Helsingborg 254 67, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Skane County > Helsingborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Helsingborg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Scandic Helsingborg North 3*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Helsingborg is a delightful city situated next to the Oresund strait. Sofiero Palace, located in the surrounding area, is well worth a visit - its gardens were named the most beautiful park in Europe in 2010. Our hotel in Helsingborg, Scandic Helsingborg Nord, is located 5 kilometres outside the city centre and is the perfect base from which to explore Helsingborg, visit one of the popular beaches, or take the boat over to Helsingor in Denmark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Scandic Helsingborg North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Hotel Helsingborg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing