We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Duxiana
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Helsingborg
Certificate of Excellence
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice stay again”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Second time at this hotel and second time a very nice stay. Big room, very good beds, nice and helpful staff and almost in the middle of town. We are very happy with this stay.
Only complaint and it is a really small one, the indoor parking cost extra and most spots are a bit hard to get in and out of.

Room Tip: Both times we stayed in the annex across the street, if that is a clue to bigger rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Klas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teodor I, Receptionschef at Best Western Hotel Duxiana, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Hi!
I am delighted to hear your magnificent Review. Naturally I do not know when you stayed your first time, but I hope you had a great expercience the first time as well!
You are absolutely right, some of the hotel´s parking places are quite small due to the old building. It has been tricky to decide if we should have fewer bigger ones or a higher number of places with less room, but we went for the higher number to be able to offer it to more guests.
I hope you will return your next time in Helsingborg, to see how we have gotten even better. :)

My best regards
Teo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    72
    29
    8
    6
See reviews for
16
76
18
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

Great location near shopping and restaurants, very close to train and bus station and within walking distance of most attractions in Helsingborg. My single room was small but well laid out, with a very comfortable bed and a spacious bathroom. Perfectly clean, no wear and tear. Good Swedish breakfast.

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Anna369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teodor I, Manager at Best Western Hotel Duxiana, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Hi!

I am very happy to hear your Review.
Especially since this is what we have been trying to achieve.
Some of the rooms are smaller than others, but we constantly work very hard to keep a good standard, and are right now improving all the rooms which have been worn during the last years.

My best regards and I wish you most welcome back to see all the improvements.
Teo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

I've stayed here twice and would stay here again so that's clearly a positive. The highlights - breakfast is great, and they have an arrangement with an excellent local gym so you don't have the usual tiny, limited hotel gym experience.

The hotel is in two buildings and my first stay was in a room in the building over the way from reception and the main hotel. The room itself was pretty good (one caveat, see below) but the entrance to the building is a disgrace - bare wires sticking out of grimy walls and awful matting on the floor. Don't be put off, once you get in it's fine. But they really should sort out the entrance. I did have a problem with this room - a cold shower three mornings in a row. They did fix it eventually. Eventually.

My second stay I had a room in the main hotel building and I have to say the rooms are rather tired. Strong preference for the other building.

Finally, there's no restaurant or bar so you have to go out each evening. Not too much of a problem as you're close to lots of pubs and restaurants.

Room Tip: go for a room in the annexe building, not the main hotel building
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dxbriggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teodor I, Manager at Best Western Hotel Duxiana, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Hi!

I am very happy to hear you have stayed with us several times and took time to write this Review.
We have been aware of the walls condition and the wires, which is why we now have fixed it. The whole entrance has now been painted and we have added new speakers where the wires were (playing the theme of Fawlty Towers).

During the dates you stayed here we did indeed have problems with the warm water for a couple of nights, which naturally was a big issue and I am very sorry for the inconvienience. After the first night, when we became aware of the problem we contacted our contractors to fix the problem, which they did after 20 minutes. However, the following night the same problem occured and we needed to do bigger adjustments and new parts are now in place. Again, I am very sorry for this, but I can guarantee we did Everything in our Power to solve it.

We are in the middle of major renovations in both the main building and across the street. So far (since November) we have made major improvements and renovations in 21 of the 23 rooms in the main building, since they have been pretty worn.
Unfortunatly I do not know which room you stayed in, but possibly you had the bad luck to stay in one of the non renovated rooms.

The renovation is right now an on-going process and during the upcoming months many big improvements will be made through-out the hotel.

I hope you have received answers to your negative experience, and I wish you most welcome to come stay with us to see all the changes made in the hotel.

My best regards
Teo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Stayed a night with my wife who was on a business trip in the city in a double bed room twice. The hotel rooms are situated over 2 buildings situated either side of the street. Both times got a room on the outer building. The rooms are basic and functional and clean. The bathroom in the first room was more than twice the size of the bathroom the second time so they can vary a lot. The beds are as comfortable as advertised. The internet is good. The rooms are a bit cramped for space though. The hotel staff are very friendly and helpful (just ask if you need something) and there are amenities provided if asked like toothbrush, shaving set etc. The breakfast spread out is a typical cold Scandinavian one and very good if you are used to the Scandinavian cold breakfasts. Would recommend if you want a good night's sleep after a tired day. Its located 5 minute walk from the train/ferry station and in the city square.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the inner building
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bonii_vivek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teodor I, Receptionschef at Best Western Hotel Duxiana, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Hi!

I just want to thank you for your Review. I am very happy you enjoyed staying with us, and I also appreciate you complimenting the staff. We always try to stay personal and flexible, and helpful in every way we can.
You are absolutely correct regarding both the room and the bath room sizes, some are smaller than others. Since we are a city hotel located in older buildings, who over the years have expanded from 45 to almost 70 rooms, the layout of many rooms are different from each other.
This has both its charm and its draw backs, but you can always contact us with your room preferences.

You are most welcome back to come stay with us again!
My Best Regards
Teo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viechtach
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Had a just one night stay there and this was enough.
Made actually quite a long search before choosing the hotel as there are several ones on similiar price points in the city.
Unfortunately i picked the wrong one
ridicilous quality for 150 EUR per night. Room was more like a dog cage, same size. bed like in old times, equipment of the whole room really old and same standard as a private BB. breakfast, no choice at all.
that's all fine, but not for this money.
once and never / thanks

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bayern1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

Stopped in a 3 bed condo, bath was interesting but other than that it was functional and clean. Close to main railway station and ferry port, kebabs down the street were pretty good also.
Personally I found the pedestrian street busy throughout the night and pretty noisey! You will hear every footstep and every conversation if you leave windows open.
We paid for a parking space but had a few issues with others parking in it, no big deal just inconvenient and a little frustrating.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Ricky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
227 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Stayed 2 night in this hotel, conveniently located close to the central station and to the ferry arrival. Hotel is clean and room tidy, medium size. Minimal number of towels in the bathroom (2), can get more from reception. Breakfast swedish style, not the best in town, definitely more than what I need. Plus for this hotel are the courtesy of the staff and the gym voucher. As the hotel does not have a own fitness room, they offer free access to a downtown gym of good quality.

Room Tip: Ask to be located in the main building, they also have rooms in the building facing the hotel, not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wellsontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Helsingborg hotels
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Metropol Hotel, Helsingborg
0.4 mi away
V Hotel Helsingborg, BW PREMIER Collection
0.2 mi away
Elite Hotel Marina Plaza
Elite Hotel Marina Plaza
#4 of 20 in Helsingborg
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Elite Hotel Mollberg
Elite Hotel Mollberg
#3 of 20 in Helsingborg
453 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Hotel Nouveau
Comfort Hotel Nouveau
#6 of 20 in Helsingborg
496 reviews
0.8 mi away
Good Morning+ Helsingborg
Good Morning+ Helsingborg
#9 of 20 in Helsingborg
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Duxiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Duxiana

Property: Best Western Hotel Duxiana
Address: 40 Bruksgatan, Helsingborg 252 24, Sweden
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > Skane County > Helsingborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Helsingborg
#6 Luxury Hotel in Helsingborg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Hotel Duxiana 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When we came into possession of this hotel back in 2004 we asked ourselves; what is most important to you, our guest? We concluded that it must be the bed, since the foremost reason our guests come to us is because they need somewhere to sleep. Therefore we negotiated collaboration with the bed manufacturer DUX so that we could guarantee excellent comfort We want you to sleep well, so that you can enjoy your stay in Helsingborg whether it concerns business or pleasure. From the start our goal has been to create an inviting hotel with an amiable atmosphere and pleasant rooms. Nothing extravagant, just nice rooms with comfortable beds. Renovations have been made and we will keep renovating as well as work towards our goal - that you feel personally received and have a good night's sleep. Besides our collaboration with DUX we want to be a personal hotel. By this we mean we want you be received by our staff in a sincere way. The meeting with staff members should feel genuine and personal. We believe no one wants to be greeted by a receptionist who smiles without being happy or positive. The hotel is divided into two different buildings; Front desk, dining area, 25 hotel rooms in one of them, and 39 hotel rooms and conference areas in the other one. The buildings are right across the street from one another. If you need parking, we have a garage located underneath the hotel. The fee per night is 200 SEK. Please call or e-mail us to reserve one of these parking places. Johan & Henrik Owners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Hotel Duxiana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Helsingborg
Helsingborg Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing