We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel at the right moment”
Review of Hotell Oskar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotell Oskar
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Lund
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 August 2013

The BF and I were looking for a place at the last minute when we were in Lund. We called for info on what we saw on the Internet as being only a single room for one occupant. The owner tried to convince us on the phone that the room would've been too small but we managed to convince him that we were both small men, which we are not. We finally broke him and he let us take the room. It was Fantastic!! It was in fact a smaller room with a single bed but with two big windows, was decorated nicely and was perfect for us. It also came with a breakfast buffet at a hotel just a few feet from our front door ( there's also an espresso maker in the entry for caffeine emergencies). The breakfast was great. I wholeheartedly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MicheleEric2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotell Oskar L, Owner at Hotell Oskar, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2013

Hi Eric and Michele! Thanks for taking your time and writing the review about Hotell Oskar. It is very valuable for us as a small business as I'm sure you understand. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and welcome back - next time we'll have a proper sized bed for you... :-)
Cheers,
Klas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (311)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 311 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2013

You won't be disappointed by your stay at Hotell Oskar. Beautiful period building with newly renovated rooms (with quality floor and furnishings) that are kept clean and in good condition. The location is excellent - just around the corner from the station, where you can use a JoJo card to travel anywhere in Skåne by rail/ bus, and near to the sites in Lund.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sana N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotell Oskar L, Owner at Hotell Oskar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2013

Thank you so much for taking your time and writing such a nice review about us! :-)
Cheers
Milla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

This centrally located, small self-service hotel makes you feel right at home from the moment you press your entrance code. Excellent no-nonsense Scandinavian style rooms with private bath, a speedy Internet-connection and free access (N-)espresso machine and tea boiler with accompanying bisquits in the hall. Breakfast at the neighbouring Grand Hotel sumptuous, delicious and for the most part organic.
A tip: If arriving by car call in advance to learn about parking (fee 120 skr per 24 hours in July 2013) in neighbouring P-cellar - and since Lund is very much a city of students you might want to bring earplugs if you do not want to join them having a good time in near-by restaurants, bars and coffee shops (the rooms in the hotel's backyard - which is in fact a garden - seem to be the most attractive if appreciating opening your windows into preferably quiet nights....).

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tinen55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotell Oskar L, Owner at Hotell Oskar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2013

Thanks a lot for this wonderful review. We will from now on offer ear-plugs for light sleepers in the rooms facing the pedestrian street outsid

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Lovely Hotel. We would have to agree with all the positive things every other reviewer said. The only downsides for us were that we didn't find the beds too comfortable & that the wifi was very slow & didn't work at all on the last morning of our stay. We would definitely stay there again though.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mozcab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotell Oskar L, Owner at Hotell Oskar, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2013

Great that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and welcome back! Also big thanks for sharing your impressions here at TripAdvisor. The temporary internet problem was quickly identified and corrected (in fact we changed supplier)... :-)
Milla & Klas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night on our way home from Germany. Since we didn't have internet access with us we missed the check in information. You need a code to get in since staff is only on site one hour a day. Luckily another guest heard us and opened. Tip: send info early. Otherwise no problem, lovely place, quiet surroundings, center of city, excellent beds and coffee/tea plus internet in the lobby.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ugurd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotell Oskar L, Owner at Hotell Oskar, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2013

Thanks for your nice review and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us!

Regarding the check-in information our process is that we send one confirmation mail at booking and then a second mail with more detailed information about arrival including code two days before arrival. Now in the summer-time we have noticed that we get a lot of last-minute bookings and sometimes (like in your case) the guest does not have access to e-mail immediately before arrival. We have done two things to improve the situation:

1) We have mounted a sign with our 24/7 phone number (where we can always be reached) just beside the entrance door

2) We have activated an automatic SMS function in our booking system so that a text message with the code for the door as well as short arrival instructions is sent on the day before arrival

We hope that these two measures will be enough to eliminate problems. We are, of course, assuming that the guest has a mobile phone if they make a last minute reservation... :-)

We will try this setup and evaluate if we get rid of all problems or if we need to have a fixed check in time with staffed reception from e.g. 16-19 every day.

Cheers,
Klas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

we booked the hotel with a view to have our 18 month old in a cot with us and were advised instead of the queen room to go for standard to get more room for the cot. If booking with infants try to get the courtyard rooms as room 101 was hot and stuffy and noisy from people coming in and out of the front door next to the room. The bathroom was tiny and not well ventilated. Rooms very well presented though.

Room Tip: courtyard rooms better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fred82nilsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotell Oskar L, Owner at Hotell Oskar, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2013

Hi,

We agree - the rooms at Hotell Oskar are not great for families with small kids. Our B&B CheckInn has larger rooms and a nice garden for the kids to play in.

We are anyway happy that you liked the rooms!

Cheers,

Milla & Klas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

This was an experience I cannot forget! I trusted trip adviser and it paid off well. We had a room overlooking a garden. Cutest place ever! Right in the middle of city but still so quiet. Everything is clean and modern. The rooms are small but you are not missing anything. We met the receptionist next day and he was also warm like the hotel. No fuss and no nosy questions. Just perfect! Maybe not for those who need attention.
Breakfast at Grand was really grand!! Everything was served well and the ambiance was great. I would recommend this place to anyone who needs a home away from home. We would definitely return again!

Room Tip: Room with a garden was perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ARoy_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotell Oskar L, Owner at Hotell Oskar, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2013

Thanks a lot for this nice review. Especially our son Max, who was working that day, was very happy to get so positive feed-back from you! He is only 17 and is starting to learn the hotel business during week-ends and vacations... :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lund hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotell Nordic Lund
0.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Lund
Grand Hotel Lund
#5 of 17 in Lund
428 reviews
1.3 mi away
Elite Hotel Ideon
Elite Hotel Ideon
#3 of 17 in Lund
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Planetstaden
0.7 mi away
The More Hotel Lund
The More Hotel Lund
#8 of 17 in Lund
110 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Lundia
Hotel Lundia
#10 of 17 in Lund
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotell Oskar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotell Oskar

Address: 3 Bytaregatan, Lund 222 21, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Skane County > Lund
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Lund
Price Range: £89 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotell Oskar 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotell Oskar is located on a pedestrian street right in the centre of Lund. We offer exclusive accomodation at competitive rates. From the hotel you reach the central railway station within a minute in one direction and the University building within a minute in the other direction. The old town-house was built in 1866 and has recently been turned into a very nice hotel. Hotell Oskar is a beautiful example where modern demands for comfort and high-quality design has been combined with a careful renovation preserving historical values. Our guests enjoy the amazing breakfast buffet at our good neighbours Grand Hotel - just a few steps away. We have the most satisfied guests among all hotels in Lund, please take a moment and read through some of the reviews! Welcome! Milla & Klas Wimmerstedt ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotell Oskar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing