We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem”
Review of Hotell Oskar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotell Oskar
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Lund
Certificate of Excellence
Brookings, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A Gem”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We were not sure what to expect with no front desk. They email you a code that will get you into the front door. Once inside there's an envelope with your room and door key. Our room was European small, but modern clean. The owners also own a bed& breakfast and a hostile. There is a phone number provided and someone will respond minutes. The Wi-Fi is good and there is a iMac available for guest use. There is a green patio in the back available to guests. The location is fantastic; it is within blocks of the train station and taxis, within two blocks of the cathedral and museums, and a couple of blocks from the main square. The breakfast, which is included, is a couple of doors down and was excellent with good selection. All of this with an inexpensive rate. A real gem in Lund, Sweden

Room Tip: There are two garden rooms at ground level with no room above them. Had we known, this is where we w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rupe20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotell Oskar L, Owner at Hotell Oskar, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Hi Rich,

We are really happy that you were so satisfied with your stay at Hotell Oskar. We also hope that you had good continuation of your cruise and that you have arrived home safe by now!

Cheers & welcome back!
Milla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    102
    14
    3
    3
See reviews for
47
98
34
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Clean, warm room with private bathroom, with a sumptuous breakfast next door at grand hotel. Well located near Lund train station where you can make day trips to the rest of skåne. Stylishly furnished .

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alfred S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotell Oskar L, Owner at Hotell Oskar, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Hi Alfred,

Thanks a lot for your positive review and most welcome back to us next time you're in Lund. We now run the breakfast ourselves a bit closer than Grand Hotel and with the clear ambition to providing an even better breakfast than before...

Cheers,

Klas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 June 2014

This little hotel, with a family atmosphere is very well located, close to shops, restaurants, train station, busses and taxis!
They are really organized, super efficient and helpful!
It was a great choice for us!

Room Tip: This little hotel, with a family atmosphere is very well located, close to shops, restaurants, train...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Isasanti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dike iA
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Really really close to train station. Fair prices. Excellent customer service. Efficient check in and check out. Clean rooms. Comfortable beds. Safe area. Great breakfast at the Grand one block away. Resonable prices. Only negative was no elevator but am assuming the staff would carry your bags if you needed help. Absolutely stay here again

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 55Karitt55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Lovely hotel, very friendly and pleasant stay. visiting our son in Lund and enjoyed our stay. rooms comfortable. communication and updates from Milla and Klas make sure you know what to do and take stress out of traveling.

Room Tip: garden room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BSMIKE2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotell Oskar L, Owner at Hotell Oskar, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Hi,

We are so happy when our guests, like you, keep returning to us... This is the best proof of quality we can get.

Cheers,

Klas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We were very impressed by this almost 'self service' hotel found by our Grandson. It had everything one would need for a comfortable stay and free tea and coffee, a small garden to sit in and breakfast vouchers for the Grand Hotel where we enjoyed a superb breakfast buffet. It is situated in a good position for visiting all the main attractions in Lund. The friendly email we received giving us details of access to the hotel were reassuring. We would have liked to have had the instructions regarding what to do in the event of a fire in English, even a shortened version would suffice. There are eight rooms in total, three of which are upstairs. We hope to return some time in the future and will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotell Oskar L, Owner at Hotell Oskar, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Hi Jennifer,

Thank you so much for this fantastic review!

It was also a very good tip that we should have the fire instructions in English in addition to Swedish - especially as more than 50% of our guests are not Swedish. It's now on the to-do list (we already have both languages in our other accomodations CheckInn B&B and Winstrup Hostel).

Most welcome back next time you are in Lund,

Klas W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
411 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

The Hotell Oskar is a small hotel in Lund with good beds in a perfect location. It's within walking distance from everything in the centre and these things combined add up to a great value. The hotel is more or less self service. You recieve a entrance code as a text message prior to your arrival and this lets you in and your room key is waiting for you inside. No hassle and no waiting. Perfect.
Check out time is earlier than usual, at 11 but there was no problem in getting this extended. The same applied at my arrival. I was early by many hours, yet the kind staff allowed me to check in and use my room. That sort of flexibility is always appreciated.
I had little a problem with poor draining in the bathroom, and I suppose this is when you miss having staff "on location" to report small annoyances to.
Also, I had a room towards the street and even though passing vehicles are few, I felt fortunate I wasn't here on a weekday night/morning.
Breakfast is served at the Grand Hotel just 40 metres down the street, and that was a morning feast for itself!
I slept well, breakfasted well and I shall be back!

Room Tip: There are rooms across the garden to the rear and these seem quieter and give you the tranquillity o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tord E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lund hotels
0.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Lund
Grand Hotel Lund
#6 of 17 in Lund
391 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotell Nordic Lund
Hotell Nordic Lund
#2 of 17 in Lund
162 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Lundia
Hotel Lundia
#10 of 17 in Lund
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Planetstaden
0.2 mi away
Hotel Concordia
Hotel Concordia
#8 of 17 in Lund
285 reviews
1.3 mi away
Elite Hotel Ideon
Elite Hotel Ideon
#3 of 17 in Lund
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotell Oskar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotell Oskar

Property: Hotell Oskar
Address: 3 Bytaregatan, Lund 222 21, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Skane County > Lund
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Lund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotell Oskar 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotell Oskar is located on a pedestrian street right in the centre of Lund. We offer exclusive accomodation at competitive rates. From the hotel you reach the central railway station within a minute in one direction and the University building within a minute in the other direction. The old town-house was built in 1866 and has recently been turned into a very nice hotel. Hotell Oskar is a beautiful example where modern demands for comfort and high-quality design has been combined with a careful renovation preserving historical values. Our guests enjoy the amazing breakfast buffet at our good neighbours Grand Hotel - just a few steps away. We have the most satisfied guests among all hotels in Lund, please take a moment and read through some of the reviews! Welcome! Milla & Klas Wimmerstedt ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotell Oskar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing