We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cafe-style seating and service, excellent food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Klostergatans Fisk - CLOSED

Klostergatans Fisk
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, European, Swedish, Scandinavian, Soups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
212 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Cafe-style seating and service, excellent food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

Ran in for a quick, late lunch while in Lund. The small restaurant (40 covers?) is laid out like a cafe, very informal, with a chiller/counter at the back for ordering. The place is buzzy, with a continuous flow of people in and out, plus the food being brought through from the kitchen at the back.

For lunch there's a simple menu of the day chalked on a board (4-ish options), then breads, salads and staples at the serving area.

Massive bowls of salad, cut bread etc are available and once you've ordered you help yourself to the salad and bread.

Service was very friendly and efficient - one waitress was like a smiling whirlwind and covered the whole restaurant herself.

Food was excellent - unfussy, fresh and tasty. I had tender, fresh, perfectly-cooked cod loins (wherever their loins are!), while my colleagues had a hearty soup.

Prices were very reasonable (eating out is so much cheaper than in London!).

Worth planning to be either early (beat the rush) or late (nearly 2pm in our case) to get a seat.

Marked this place as a favourite and I hope to return.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ianjindal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    41
    5
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lund, Sweden
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very bad experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

Very salty food, very lousy desert. The starter is just fine, but spent 1000Kr on this is not a great fun.

Helpful?
1 Thank Amiamizhang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lund, Sweden
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent fish, but very pricey”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

I have been back frequently since moving to Lund 3 years ago. Without a doubt the best fish restaurant in town. Fish is very often overcooked in Western cooking, but this restaurant manages to get it right almost every time. There are both classic and more innovative fish-vegetable combinations. The set menu is very good, as is the set wine menu - a different glass of wine with every dish, but it's not cheap. The set menu is about 400SEK and the wine menu a similar price.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KenAndersen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lund
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“horrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2013

50th birthday lunch, 12th march 2013. Great oysters, but the rest, especially the service, was worthless. We were two people who didnt enjoy this lunch yesterday. As mentioned the service was unpleasant when available, the strongest impression was that the waitress was waiting to have her own lunch and hence would have prefered us not to be there, we even got stressed into paying before we had finished eating which involved rather close contact with the aforementioned waitress and her armpit as she stretched across me to give change, too lazy to even walk round the table in an empty restaurant. Nobody even asked if we had enjoyed the meal. A total of nearly 600kr (75 euro) for a quick lunch without alcohol does not leave with a great desire to return.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank mark m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmö
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

Excellent lunch with excellent service. It's a very small restaurant but with high quality lunches which is very hard to find in Sweden these days.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank S-Tobias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Klostergatans Fisk also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing