We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice, but kind of small”
Review of Grand Hotel Lund

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Lund
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Lund
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Business stay...
Positives: Location - block and a half from train station, near lots of stuff downtown; Good restaurant (the place to be after work), Staff and service in general were very good except table service in the bar area can be slow in the afternoon. Front Desk staff is very good.
Negatives: Older hotel, smallish room, small desk area, no closet in my room, smallish bathroom (but, extra shelf below the mirror to keep my stuff out). Flat panel TV.
Because of the structure, it's hard to drown outside noise down (adjoining rooms/outside). The value is ok, but pricing is on the high side. Overall a solid above average, but not enough to earn my 4th star.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bk_t1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (399)
There are newer reviews for Grand Hotel Lund
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 399 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2012

Once in a while we stay at the Grand Hotel in Lund. This is hotel known from famous regional persons, litterature and student life in University town Lund. It is quite expensive and full of oldfashioned furniture and carpets, as well as paintings and chandeliers. It went through a renovation some 10 years ago and was updated. Parts have been renovated again, and parts (restaurant) will continue to be renovated. And it needs some "polish". But there are few hotels with this very special ambiance. Here you are part of history and culture! And then it is fairly easy to avoid focusing on the flaws of this old beauty. They have lots of functions, conferences etc. Restaurant has new people, and ambitions are high! Rightly so! Recently awarded best wine experience in Sweden 2012. It will be interesting to follow the future development. Rooms facing the front are big, and 155, a "ladies guest room", had a chandelier, two armchairs, knitting basket, coffee&tea tray and some magazines and a big, practical wardrobe. Small bathrooms, but well equipped considering.

Room Tip: Facing the front, good view of park, bright and airy. High up.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanochBarbro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

A nice hotel in the very centre of Lund with nice rooms.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Buchhis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

Hotel on the more expensive side with pricing which should allow the visitor to expect top notch quality all the way through. This hotel does not offer a consistently good standard. We had to look at 4 rooms before we found one that suited us, all in the same class/price, double room more exclusive standard. Some rooms felt as if they needed more renovation, others were 1/3 the size, lacking seating arrangements for two guests. Some rooms had huge bathrooms, others not even half the size, some bathtubs some not. The higher up in the hotel you get, the less they have spent on renovating the corridors. The breakfast buffé was quite a disappointment, not the standard goodies one could expect from a hotel claiming this standard, and a lack of imagination in layout. The elevators are the smallest I've seen in a hotel, ever. In one of the two availalble elevator 2 people can fit comfortably, and in the other 3 people, without luggage!The room we eventually got was however really excellent, and was told after looking at three other rooms before that, that THIS room was one of the favorite rooms of their regulars. We undestood why. Skip the restaurant in the hotel entirely and head for one of the excellent restaurants on Klostergatan just around the corner. There are at least two really good ones there we used.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank getitright19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2012

Stayed two nights for business, this a hotel that has a lot of ambiance but has lost the attention to detail that marks a good to very good hotel.

The level of maintenance is so so. Location is great and i suspect that they don´t have to make the extra effort to get customers. Overprised restaurant, just walk 50 meters to dine better for less.
Breakfast buffé ok but compared to most hotels in sweden just avearage.

Room a bit noisy and small.

Will go somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hendrik64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2011

I was in Lund for a short business trip. The hotel is conveniently located a few hundred meters from the central train station, so very easy to get to from Copenhagen Airport. Direct train service from downstairs in the airport, short 30-minute train ride to Lund.

Hotel is only about 2 blocks from the train station, so arriving mid-day to Copenhagen, saved 130 USD cab fare by taking the $20 train.

The hotel is an older hotel. Overall, nice but not great as the rooms are a bit dated and small. I was actually "upgraded" which made it a bit nicer, but then found out I was facing the train tracks so heard trains going by most of the night.

I don't know if there are a lot of options for hotels in Lund, the biggest advantage to this hotel was the location near the train station and the central shopping/restaurant district.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the trains.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve9328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2011

Great ambiance in this old style hotel. The standard rooms are quite small.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carl40Switzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lund hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotell Nordic Lund
Hotell Nordic Lund
#2 of 17 in Lund
164 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Lundia
Hotel Lundia
#10 of 17 in Lund
260 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotell Oskar
Hotell Oskar
#6 of 17 in Lund
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Planetstaden
0.1 mi away
Hotel Concordia
Hotel Concordia
#8 of 17 in Lund
286 reviews
1.4 mi away
Elite Hotel Ideon
Elite Hotel Ideon
#3 of 17 in Lund
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Lund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Lund

Address: 1 Bantorget, Lund 222 29, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Skane County > Lund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Lund
Price Range: £133 - £213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Hotel Lund 4.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 100-year-old luxury hotel in Lund, Sweden. Our cuisine is legendary, we have modern conference and banquest facilities adn our staff is friendly and service-oriented For a guest, a hotel stay is all about experience. It goes way beyond just a comfortable bed to sleep in. Even back in 1899, when we first threw open our doors that's what we were thinking. We wanted to give our guests a memorable experience. The décor, the cuisine, the service, the wines, and the atmosphere: everything about the Grand Hotel lives up to its name. The historic Grand Hotel Lund has turned into one of the best hotels in Sweden. Sincerely yours! Grand Hotel Lund ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Lund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing