We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm, friendly welcome, superb service, lovely building”
Review of Grand Hotel Lund

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Lund
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Lund
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Warm, friendly welcome, superb service, lovely building”
Reviewed 31 July 2012

From my point of view, given that the room is clean, well-appointed (i.e., free WiFi), and reasonable in size, by far the most important characteristic of any hotel is the quality of the service received. From this perspective, it would be difficult to beat the Grand Hotel Lund. Prior to our arrival I emailed the hotel with several questions and had answers from the concierge/desk staff within an hour or two as well as offers of assistance should we need it. From the moment we checked in until the moment we left, all of the staff (desk, restaurant, bar, maid service) bent over backwards to make our stay enjoyable...and did I mention the included breakfast...as good as I have had anywhere in Europe and a great deal better than many. Indeed, the hotel restaurant is excellent and really not much more expensive than others in Lund, despite having the true "grand hotel" ambience and, have I said it, great service!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iverwozzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    138
    47
    16
    11
See reviews for
63
93
33
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Stayed there on one of my business trips to Sweden last May.Grand old building from the late 1800's with some renovations done to its interior.Top quality Swedish treatment uppon arrival!Courtious and proffesional.
My single room was small but comfortable and the bed,a pleasure to sleep on.
The restaurant was expensive,as restaurants go in Sweden and the service friendly but slow.
Do your self a favour and always book your stay with a travel site such as hotels.com.,since it can save you a lot of money by doing this.I phoned the hotel to book a room first and they asked me for almost double of what I ended up paying through a travel sight.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PonticPride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
138 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

The hotel is situated closed to the central station of Lund, so are you coming by train, you can easily reach the hotel by foot. But by car, it’s more difficult and you have to park the car at a parking place at least 10 minute’s walk from the hotel as there are no alternatives closer than that.

I know that some people love these kind of old hotels meanwhile I personally prefer something more modern. I paid some extra to get a “Classic room” and had expected a nice, cozy room for me and my wife. But by my opinion, the room and the hotel gave some negative impressions:
1) I went into the lift. “Maximum 5 persons or 400 kg”. When my wife came in to the lift, the lift didn’t close the doors. The lift was overloaded! Two persons, two bags more than 400 kg?
2) The room smelt awfully from the the bathroom’s effluent so the first we had to do was to open the windows and also the room door to achieve some air current
3) The room itself was small and not cozy at all!
4) The shampoo was one small tube and not sufficient for a lady and absolutely not sufficient for two persons. The soap in the shower was surely very exclusive but not so effective to clean a body
5) The soap in the wash-hand basin was round and after it had been wet, it began to slide down to the bottom in the basin again, again and AGAIN!

The restaurant is very good with some delicious dishes with very kind staff. Unfortunately, they had too much work so it took a long time to get the bill so finally we had to tell the staff that “now we leave to room nr xxx” as we hadn’t time to wait more. It wasn’t enough to remind the staff three times that we want the bill! The breakfast was not so varied but everything we could find there, were excellent from local producers.

The regular price for this hotel is absolutely too high, so please look for offers.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Someishere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wotton-under-Edge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

Spent 2 nights here in June on business.
The location is good, very central and just a short walk to the train station.
I came by car, but found the hotel didn't offer any car parking facilities, but I could buy a pass for the local car park in the center and charge it to my room although it seemed very expensive. Check in was good and the receptionist was very helpful and friendly.
My room was small, but OK. Clean and tidy, but no tea or coffee making facilities.
The room got very hot, but there was a lot of air-con noise coming from outside, so I had to keep the window shut at night. I had a room at the rear of the hotel which looks out over the rather ugly air conditioning units and rooftops.
The food was good, but limited and expensive, although the waitressing staff were very friendly. There are plenty of restaurants nearby offering more choice at a better price.
Breakfast was good, buffet style with lots of choice.
All in all, an OK tidy hotel with friendly staff, but limited evening food choice and hot rooms.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the front of the hotel if you don't want to listen to air conditioning units al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr_P23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2012

Booked a single room at an attractive low rate - and that is what I got, probably the smallest room I ever stayed in. Room very hot, even with open window. Sound isolation from late night traffic in the hallway almost non-existent.
Avoid this room-type when possible - it's a shame that they even offer it in this level of hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanJBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 May 2012

I got room 115 and it was a Lady DeLux room. Not really what I expected since I am male. However, apart from some female things included in the room everything was normal. The air could have been better. But then again it was 28 C warm outside so I guess that is not that strange.

The breakfast was excellent. A very good selection of different home made bread to chose from and Nespresso machine with capsules. The only thing missing at the breakfast buffee was sliced fruit (like melon etc). They only served whole apples.

I give it 4,5 out of 5 in total.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Klaus K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012

First of all the hotel was very easy to find and reach from the train station, we took the train from copenhagen airport to lund, got down at the station at Lund, came out of the station and had to walk about 4 mins from the station to the hotel which was very near, the room was spacious, clean, quiet and had a view over the garden and street outside. Breakfast was also very good and although we stayed for only one night whatever little interaction we had with the staff was very pleasant and everyone speaks excellent english. would love to stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kitrikr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lund hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotell Nordic Lund
Hotell Nordic Lund
#2 of 17 in Lund
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Lundia
Hotel Lundia
#7 of 17 in Lund
4.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Concordia
Hotel Concordia
#9 of 17 in Lund
4.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotell Oskar
Hotell Oskar
#5 of 17 in Lund
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
1.1 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Planetstaden
1.4 mi away
Elite Hotel Ideon
Elite Hotel Ideon
#3 of 17 in Lund
4.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Lund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Lund

Property: Grand Hotel Lund
Address: 1 Bantorget, Lund 222 29, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Skane County > Lund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Lund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Hotel Lund 4.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 100-year-old luxury hotel in Lund, Sweden. Our cuisine is legendary, we have modern conference and banquest facilities adn our staff is friendly and service-oriented For a guest, a hotel stay is all about experience. It goes way beyond just a comfortable bed to sleep in. Even back in 1899, when we first threw open our doors that's what we were thinking. We wanted to give our guests a memorable experience. The décor, the cuisine, the service, the wines, and the atmosphere: everything about the Grand Hotel lives up to its name. The historic Grand Hotel Lund has turned into one of the best hotels in Sweden. Sincerely yours! Grand Hotel Lund ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Lund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing