We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of Grand Hotel Lund

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Lund
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Lund
Certificate of Excellence
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Stayed 2 nights at the Grand Hotel in Lund. I got my room upgraded. Lovely room, very good breakfast. Small gym and sauna in the basement. Nice coffee facilities (Nespresso) in the hallway. Sink in the bathroom was too small (toilet size).

Room Tip: Rooms at the backside are quieter. Trains at the front side, buses at the left side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank famdeboer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    148
    51
    17
    11
See reviews for
71
99
34
135
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2013

I booked the Grandiosa package (Grandiosa paketet - coffee, 3 course dinner and breakfast) at Grand Hotel in Lund for a one-night weekend stay Saturday-Sunday.

I received a phone call two days before departure and a man told me that we would have to take our 3-course dinner at their sister hotel (100 meters from the Grand) becuase the restaurant was fully booked(What?!?).

I was of course not happy about this but I accepted nevertheless since this was our anniversary, there was little time to plan another stay.

However, when we arrived at the hotel the reception could not find my reservation - Again what?!? What kind of hotel are you running? I did not expect Easyjet service here - you OVERBOOK your rooms !?

Next thing, they asked if I had not received a phone call regarding the relocation?!? I told them that I was only informed about the change of restaturant and NOT the room and they explained that it was for our own sake because the whole building was filled with people who were attending a banquet or something.

After careful deliberation and upon reviewing the new room at the other hotel (Hotel Lundia) we accepted the relocation, but needless to say I was NOT happy! But the prospect of having to witness an apefest with the same people who spoiled my weekend break was not very enticing.

Actually, I can now safely say that we will NOT be going back to Lund (neither the city nor the hotel) anymore, although it is very conveniently located (we live in Copenhagen - only 35 minutes away) for at quick get-away and shopping.

And I must warn future guests that this hotel does OVERBOOK - so beware and demand compensation.

Room Tip: We did not sleep here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TJ M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2012

Stayed last weekend. Friendly arrival, lovely room, small for UK standards especially as booked luxury room. But excellent location, great bar/restaurant with very good atmosphere. Very good breakfast but a bit overwhelmed on Sunday when everyone arrived at the same time which clearly was more then could be easily handled. Overall would stay here again, beautiful building, good staff and good service.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MuG-10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
middle england
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2012

A big contrast to the majority of hotels in which I have stayed in Scandinavia, this hotel oozes its long history. Conveniently located near both the centre of town and the railway station it is a grat base from which to venture. Reception was welcoming and the wifi free and reliable.
My room was very small but comfortable, but although the side of the hotel is located next to a pedestrian precinct this does not preclude multiple trundling rubbish collection trucks starting before 6.00 in the morning.
As you would expect it was spotless and breakfast was an absolute delight; a wonderful selection of high quality food and great coffee. I particularly enjoyed the herring and various Swedish breads

Room Tip: I have it on good advice that the higher you go the less the noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mottyandfluff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heiloo, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2012

I was invited to stay a night at this beautiful and authentic hotel.

We also enjoyed lunch there and a conference.
The building and the room look great - perhaps not 100% refined or sophisticated, but comfortable;
the service is good, and so is the hospitality, the food we enjoyed can be graded good and the roomservice (I ordered my breakfast to my room) - was more than I could eat and look great - the lady who brought this in was most friendly. When I came back for a short teleconference - the kitchen was closed at 11 am - but we could get our coffee from a nespresso machine and water for free (!) and enjoyed to sit there for over 1 hour - no problem at all. Would recommend them to update their site on fitness facilities.
and certainly would come back again if I had a chance!

Room Tip: Unsure, but I always ask for a quiet room - and in this hotel all rooms are fortunately non-smoking
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Z D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012

The hotel certainly lives up to its name, but it's rather expensive for what you get, I'd also stayed in another Lund hotel that cost about a third the price of the Grand but provided better value (larger rooms, more facilities in the room, etc). So while there's nothing inherently wrong with the Grand, you can get better value for less money if you're prepared to look.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tuturiwhata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

WE took two double rooms for one night while on a road trip around sweden and Denmark, The hotel looks very grand and the staff were very helpful. The rooms were spacious but did not have air conditioning so even though we had the windows open the rooms were very warm. There was no tea or coffee in the rooms, but this maybe a trait of Scandinavian hotels, also no hair drier in the rooms. Breakfast was excellent. We enjoyed our one night stay but it was very expensive, so we would consider other hotels in Lund if we were to visit the city again.

Room Tip: Ask for quieter rooms with air-conditioning or at least a fan when booking if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Val D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lund hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Lundia
Hotel Lundia
#10 of 17 in Lund
254 reviews
1.1 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Planetstaden
0.4 mi away
Hotell Nordic Lund
Hotell Nordic Lund
#2 of 17 in Lund
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotell Oskar
Hotell Oskar
#5 of 17 in Lund
303 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Concordia
Hotel Concordia
#7 of 17 in Lund
285 reviews
1.4 mi away
Elite Hotel Ideon
Elite Hotel Ideon
#3 of 17 in Lund
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Lund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Lund

Property: Grand Hotel Lund
Address: 1 Bantorget, Lund 222 29, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Skane County > Lund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Lund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Hotel Lund 4.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 100-year-old luxury hotel in Lund, Sweden. Our cuisine is legendary, we have modern conference and banquest facilities adn our staff is friendly and service-oriented For a guest, a hotel stay is all about experience. It goes way beyond just a comfortable bed to sleep in. Even back in 1899, when we first threw open our doors that's what we were thinking. We wanted to give our guests a memorable experience. The décor, the cuisine, the service, the wines, and the atmosphere: everything about the Grand Hotel lives up to its name. The historic Grand Hotel Lund has turned into one of the best hotels in Sweden. Sincerely yours! Grand Hotel Lund ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Lund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing